We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice beach stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Were recommended this guest house, and would have like to stay more than 1 night. Although not air conditioned, our room was comfortable and well priced. We enjoyed the beach, enjoyed the food, and appreciated the service we were offered.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 335 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

we were recommended to stay here by the guest house in Ella and planned on staying 4 nights but ended up staying one. We were looking for somewhere to relax for a few days and at first it seemed pretty good but as soon as we ate at the restaurant we realised this probably wasn't going to be somewhere we could spend that long. The location and set up is definitely the best for that stretch of beach and the room was great but when we were served one semi scrambled egg for breakfast we decided to get out of there (this was after the previous day's average lunch and dinner experiences). The actual guest house is fine, we just wanted something a little more and ended up heading to Mirissa which had a bit more going on.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin H, Owner at Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Sarah,

First, thank you for your positive comment about our guest house, we are happy you enjoy the room and the location on the beach. With your review, we can highlight that our guest house is very comfortable and relaxing.

About the breakfast, please allow me to clarify : we offer different types of breakfast, described in the menu (western breakfast, sri lankan breakfast, etc...). Some breakfasts are with 1 egg, others are with 2 eggs, it depens on what you choose.
However, if our clients want, we can change the food, to add more quantity or to add another ingredient if they prefer. We do it with pleasure because we want our clients enjoy everything in the guest house.
So we are sad to learn you were disappointed, because if you told us, we could have arranged your breakfast with more eggs to make you happy. To add 1, 2 or 3 eggs is not a problem.

In Frangipani, we do our best to make people happy, we want they totally enjoy their stay with us. It is our first aim and you can talk with the manager to arrange everything you would like. It is important for us, and many clients stay more days in our guest house than what they plan when they arrived. You can often read it in our reviews.

We hope you will come back to see us if you come back in Sri Lanka, and we would be happy to see you again. Have a nice day, Kind Regards to you from all of us here. Nalin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night on the way to Unawatuna Beach. End up extending our stay for 2 more nights. Nice small hotel, Clean , best thing about is was it is on the beach. Would highly recommend it. Will go back there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We arrived to Tangalle very tired, after one week of travelling around Sri Lanka. We found Frangipani place on the beach by coincidence. What a great surprise! We wanted to stay one night only, but ended up staying there for 3 days and at the end of our trip in Sri Lanka we went back to Frangipani Villas to stay there for one more last night - to say good bye!
Our first feelings of the place were very nice....and those feelings stayed with us until the end of our staying. Place in run by a family with a great spirit. Owner - Nalin - is very caring and friendly person. I did not feel well at some point and I got look aftered by the whole family and workers. I dont know what I would do without them. They took me to the hospital, organized everything. You dont see this kind of care any more, unfortunately. I am very grateful for everything that they did for me. The place has very nice rooms, house is right on the beach, has many chairs and hammocks all over the place, where you can enjoy the view. Fresh, excellent sea food is served on the terrace, just a few steps from your room. The stuff in the kitchen is so friendly and smilling all the time. Happy place to work I would say .) Such a lovely place for a family, couples, single travelers, friends. It doesnt matter how and with whom you will come there, you will be always welcome by Nalin (owner) and all his brilliant people around. Everyone will find their own peace in this place .) I hope, one day this place will be posted in Lonely Planet or any other travel guide book. All the best for this place! Veronika - Prague - Czech Republic

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

In the winter I visited Hotel Fragipani for 9 days. I can recommend this hotel to everybody.
- Good price.
-The hotel is located right on the beach.
-The rooms are luxuries and you can get hot and steaming water. Good hygiene!!
- On the beach there are lots of pleases to relax, Hammock and beds.
- While relaxing on the beach, you can see the local fisherman working (traditional style).
- Nice friendly staff, good service

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The location was one of my favourite in Sri Lanka since there are still few tourists (maybe not for long unfortunately...) which makes it really authentic. The rooms are great and really comfortable and the AC was not missed at all. If you really need wifi though don't expect it to work as for us it never worked when we were there.
The only reproach I have is for the food, especially seafood which is so expensive (the most expensive I had in Sri Lanka) even though there are fishermen next to the hotel who bring back fresh fish all day long... So the price is totally unjustified! Expect to pay almost 10 euros for a whole (rather small) fish which is much much much overpriced for Sri Lanka especially for a location where fish is available so easily. I don't think I'm the first to "complain" about that since there is a placard in the kitchen mentioning that they won't cook your fish if you bring it back from elsewhere... Anyway, you can go to the restaurant next door (I don't remember the name) where the prices are more reasonable. Other than that, great stay here and I would certainly come back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and found it very relaxing! Friendly staff, nice sitting areas outside and good size rooms with pretty little verandas outside. The beach was lovely, local people friendly (as they are throughout Sri Lanka) and the surf not too rough. Decent coffee and lovely relaxing hammocks to swing on!

The only reason we didn't give it 5 stars is that we were disappointed with the food. Tasty dishes generally, but the portions were very, very small. We ate here twice, and after that followed the mass exodus of other guests each lunch/dinner time to the friendly restaurant next door (Sunrise Beach Resort) where prices, portions and quality of the dishes was far better. Most guesthouses in Sri Lanka provide far more incredible, inexpensive food than you can eat (generally at least 4 or 5 dishes come with your basic curry), so we were disappointed with the pricey, small, one-dish meals the Frangipani provided, that left us hungry and having to order more.

Otherwise, Tangalle and the Frangipani is a lovely spot with a beautiful beach, and we enjoyed our stay here very much.

Room Tip: Don't miss 'Sameji' restaurant, on the way into town. Order the 'vegetable curry'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesTwinMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
1.1 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
332 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
709 reviews
2.0 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
4.0 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 2 in Rekawa
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas

Address: n.u. Jayawrdana road | Medaketiya beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: $32 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Beach Villa is located in a quiet and peaceful part of Tangalle, directly on the beach, with a magnificent view over the ocean. Stepping outside in the morning with the coconut palmtrees surrounding you, the soft white sand under your feet and the sound of the waves makes you feel like you are still dreaming. You can also enjoy our swimming pool. One of the charms of Frangipani Beach Villa is no mass tourism but a quiet and unspoiled place where you can discover the real Sri Lanka. This combined with the warm Sri Lankan hospitality and great service will make you feel at home. At Frangpani Beach Restaurant you can dine under the stars or in our natural style restaurant. Enjoy the exotic, fresh seafood and traditional Sri Lankan dishes. Frangipani Beach Villa is conveniently located as it is just a short walk from the centre of Tangalle. It is known as a beautiful fishing town in the deep south of Sri Lanka and provides a perfect starting point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing