We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay and relax!”
Review of Moonstone Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moonstone Villas
Ranked #1 of 118 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay and relax!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Great new hotel beside the beach. Great staff and the owner was really friendly! Gave us some great tips and did me a big favour! Only booked one night but stayed for 2! Really good food for dinner and breakfast! Pool is really nice. Good easy location to walk into town or cheap in a tuk tuk. Some nice places to eat/ chill at the beach too

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    67
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
102
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of October and after reading the reviews on lonely planet guide didn't really know what to expect. We were thrilled, the rooms were fantastic with fan and a/c, great ensuites and balconies. Lovely pool to relax by and one of the most friendly and accommodating owners you could hope to meet in Raelene. The location was great for us with a lovely beach for swimming two minutes walk away. The food was good but not amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was fantastic value to stay here and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at moonstone villas and enjoyed our stay. Our room was nice and spacious with ac, was kept clean, the only downside was the bathroom was a wet room. Each room has a private terrace which has comfy day sofas and table and chairs. The biggest let down of the rooms was that there was no fridge or kettle.
The food was very good and reasonably priced, with nice sea views from the restaurant. However there is a busy road between the hotel and the beach.
The pool is very small and had no space around it, and felt this Area was a bit of a letdown.
I would recommend a first floor room for better views and more privacy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAA988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Moonstone Villas is a superb place to stay! It is situated across the road from Tangalle beach, which is a 1 minute walk away. The rooms here are superb, big 4 poster beds, very clean, a good sized bathroom with a good shower. It also has a decent pool, which was well looked after. The wifi here was very good also, covering most of the area. The food served here was superb, some of the best we ate in Sri Lanka, and the menu was fairly diverse. Best of all was the owner who was really friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Moonstone Villas, and felt completely relaxed by the time we left. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Tangalle!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After spending 11 days travelling through Vietnam and 5 days travelling around Sri lanka Moonstone Villa's and Tangalle was the place to relax. In August the trade winds are blowing a nice cooling breeze there is a little bay across the road good for swimming this time of year there are 3 little restaurant down on the beach and moonstone's restaurant all are excellent what more do you want
We spent 9 days at moonstones in a villa third back from front on second floor. Rooms are very spacious huge bed with Veranda that runs the length of the villa and the Day bed was heaven for afternoon Nanna naps. There is a small pool there as well which is well maintained. Their Restaurant has great food they make fantastic curries, seafood, and the only place in town that make Pizza's.
Raelene and Anil and all their staff were very friendly and helpful. If you want to organize a tour of Sri Lanka Anil is your man we arranged a 4 day tour with him before we left the tour was excellent he can give you quote.
The only thing I would like in rooms is a small bar fridge just to have a cold water at hand. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Raelene and her staff where fantastic. So friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful. Great big clean rooms with a big deck and lovely daybeds. Always great to stay somewhere with a pool as well. The gardens are immaculate and it is a great location. I ate most my meals here as well as the food was superb. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in front room. It was very spacious, good ensuite, hot water and very clean.
The pool was also very clean. The staff are friendly and efficient and the owner will organise transport if required and is a wealth of information. Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate. Beach across the road with 2 seafood restaurants open for Dinner. Okay selection for lunch and dinner at Villa restaurant also. Short tuk tuk ride into town or Marina area. A quality place at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.2 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
2.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
671 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
673 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lanka Beach Bungalows
Lanka Beach Bungalows
#1 of 8 in Rekawa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Villas

Property: Moonstone Villas
Address: 336 Matara Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax your mind, body, and soul, this beautiful property under Canadian ownership is overlooking the Indian Ocean and offers all home comforts. This Boutique Villa concept offers spacious accommodation set in landscaped gardens with swimming pool. The restaurant offers a selection of European, fresh seafood, and Sri Lankan cuisine. The ocean offers beautiful beach walks, safe swimming and snorkeling is available. For the nature lover, the following safaris are available: elephant, turtle, birds and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Moonstone Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing