We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not for the vertiginous.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mulgirigala Raja Maha Vihara

Mulgirigala Raja Maha Vihara
Book In Advance
More Info
$405.00*
and up
Overnight Private Leopard Safari with Luxury Tented Camping
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mulgirigala Is call as small sigiriya . it is situated just 15 KM far from tangalle . one of king was control the big rock long time ago . now its call mulgirigala Rajamaha viharaya.
london
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“not for the vertiginous.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Temple on the Rock is a 30 min tuck tuck ride from Tangalle. It's awesome in the true sense of the world but very very steep and very very high. If you've been slopping around in flip flops, take your trainers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    170
    45
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Z
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most stunning cave temples, a must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Similar to dambulla, but we just liked it better, morecaves, more colorful and nice view from the top - entrance fee 200 rupies

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jomeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice tour with a tuk-tuk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We liked to pass the paddy-fields before climbing up mulkirigalla. And the temple was not overcrowded, so we had enough time to see all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ines B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“levely temples, very quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

lovely new pathway leading to the entrance, lovely paintings and reclining Buddhas, stunning setting on a huge rock. Very relaxed and hassle free, even on a sunday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Tea time best time to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Didn't expect such a beautiful place. We went at the end of the day just as they were closing. We were fortunate to meet a great guide who took us to parts of the monastery we would not have seen and managed to keep rooms open for us. It felt like a private view. Around the back at the top of the rock is the most spectacular view and we happened to be there just as the sun was setting - truly wonderful experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeS13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulgirigala Raja Maha Vihara also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Mulgirigala Raja Maha Vihara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing