We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Prem Restaurant

Prem Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 140 Restaurants in Tangalle
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great family run restaurant with newly opend internet cafe.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in Tangalle for two seperate months (December then Jan to Feb)and this was one of our main eating places. It is very rustic, local and serves Sri Lankan food which fits in perfectly with our tastes. Great local feel on the lunchtime on the busy markey days. Open morning til evening. We are a veggie couple which was no trouble for the really lovely mum and her daughters who run it. All food is prepared from scratch with fresh ingredients so tip is to give a little notice before you want to eat. We used to ring up an hour ahead.
A good tip in Sri Lankan is to say how spicy or not you want things. General feeling is that westerners are not keen on spicy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value food and friendly hosts”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I ate at Prem a couple of times over Christmas 2012. Walking across the busy bus station forecourt trying to find the restaurant for the first time, we were approached by the owner who had spied us from afar, guessed at what we were looking for, and come to show us inside. Unless you're big into buses, the views aren't great, although Market day makes for a more interesting scene out front. The place itself is basic, but with the original establishment having been wiped out by the Tsunami, the owner had done what he could by himself to rebuild using whatever materials he could get. A talkative chap who clearly enjoys contact with new folk and has some interesting stories to tell, he engaged us in conversation whilst his wife and daughters cooked up great-value, flavoursome Sri Lankan fare out back. So good in fact, that after our first meal, we asked whether they would be willing to give us a cookery lesson, which was duly arranged for the following night. We ate the results for dinner - not bad at all, produced with the help and guidance of the ladies. Top stuff! I'd certainly recommend a visit to Prem if you're in Tangalle and looking or authentic, good-value food served in a friendly environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Food- shame about father”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hidden away in far right corner of bus carpark, this family restaurant is at the front of their own home, the mother is the cook, she also has her own shop near the bus station so is a very busy lady. The food is all home made so it does take a long time to arrive & the dining area does lack atmosphere. This is not helped by the father playing old "dance music" & trying to sell you quite poor canvas paintings. As with much authentic eating places in Sri Lanka, they do not serve alchohol but are happy for customers to bring there own- this is something maybe they should inform people when they are booking. The family are excellent, "Prem" whom the restaurant is named after is a yoga guru who provided help financially to the family after the Tsunami , this family was in a refugee camp for 2 years after loosing there home. The family taught us yoga every morning & the mother even gave us a cookery lesson after we showed interest in some street food we had got at the market. The food was good but quite similar to other "restaurants" in Sri Lanka. It is worth a visit in Tangalle as restuarant options are low

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamelinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olstykke, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Special location”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

right in the corner of the bus station, mernu average, similar to most other local restaurants, serrving slow

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelgeNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Family food always good !”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the place which you can get real real sri lankan food made by owners wife . Its much better than five star restaurants in Tangalle , I enjoyed much foods at their place , hope to have them soon !!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkdage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prem Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Prem Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing