We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything at your fingertips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #86 of 114 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Everything at your fingertips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Blue Horizon GH has all that you need. Its right on the beach and easy to find from the bus station in town. You can wear a path between the beach, restaurant and your balcony, its only a 25m round trip!!!
Food good, tea hot, beer cold...what else do you need?
We had a room with a huge balcony and chair swing, 3 people $10 US a night. We stayed for five nights and loved every moment.
The hardest part was trying to beat the local boys in cricket, they have some demon fast bowlers!!! (the game commences at 5.00pm each and every night)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lured in by a very friendly old man who seems to run the show, we immedeately booked a good value room. Located right at the beach, this guest house is great to relax and enjoy the Sri Lanka sands at Tangalla. The restaurant is beautyfully located and decorated and food is ok as well. The room is a bit basic but don't let this bother you as the view more than makes up for it! It's about 1km away from the bus station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRCMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here out of season but the view and location were fantastic. It's a short tuk-tuk ride into Tangalle but we stayed at the beach for the most part.
We stayed in a large room (with two double beds) at the top of the hotel, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and did I mention the view of the beach and sea were lovely! ;-)

We also ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and had some delicious lobster at a very good price for our dinner. We certainly had none of the bad experiences described by other reviewers.

We also tried to do the turtle watch at night on a stretch of the beach not too far away (9 km). Unfortunately August was not the best time so we didn't see anything but also didn't have to pay anything. I think it was the only time in Sri Lanka where something didn't work out so can't complain too much.

Anyway we enjoyed the Blue Horizon and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here just after new year. I wouldn't recommend either the accommodation or the food. The room (apparently we had the best) was stuffy and dark (because the windows were stain glass!) without any space inside because they had put two double beds in although it did have a great view!

The family who run the place are superficially friendly but seemed really just interested in what money they could make from us.

The food was appalling- no variety, no vegetables, very small portions, no flavour, rubbery cold fried fish . This is a shame because the location of the restaurant is lovely. One night they had a barbecue (which was disappointing) and pumped out music from a radio until 11pm- which is late somewhere like Tangalle- and showed no consideration for their paying guests, just again, a desire to make some money.

It's a shame, if they concentrated on their service and food rather than how they could make money they would actually have a good place.

I wouldn't recommend this place unless as a last resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tangalle hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We didnt stay here because there is no hot water or AC, but we came here to eat almost everyday as the food was lovely..i had the lobster! the old man who owns the hotel is lovely too and you feel like you are in Sri Lanka! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

we stayed here for nights, had ground floor room 1st night 1000 LNR, then moved to top floor the next 3 nights, it has an entrance to the room and also a balcony looking right out to the beach and sea, this room I would recommend it is 1500, best thing to do is first thing in the morning open the double doors and lie in bed and you can see the sea,
thw owners are friendly and very helpful,
the rooms are basic but clean, the wifi is fast,
food ok, cheap the fish very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bournemouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No fixed abode
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed just the one night and paid LNR 1 000.

The property is right on the sandy seafront and it’s ideal for walking out of your room and directly into the Indian Ocean within 10 seconds.

Our room was a walk in and we probably got the litter of the runt. It was small, dingy and not particularly clean. The double bed was OK, the pillows were not, but the ceiling fan did keep the room cool.
No TV, fridge, safe, hot water or wi-fi, but they do have an internet cafe on site at LNR 100/hour. It works fine.
Restaurant food is averagely priced but poor quality, cold and uninspiring, the beer is just over room temperature but if you send it back, it does return much colder.
Go for the beach and water, stay a night or two but don’t expect much more for your fiver per night.
As ever, more information, photos and candid comments on our Blog (see profile for the address or Google “ktelontour”) or drop us a line directly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.0 mi away
Shehani Beach Bungalow
Shehani Beach Bungalow
#17 of 20 in Tangalle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Fish Beach Home
Star Fish Beach Home
#15 of 122 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Guesthouse
Ibis Guesthouse
#20 of 114 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Sandy Cabanas
Sandy Cabanas
#42 of 114 in Tangalle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: Yeddhehimulla | Unawatuna, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly Blue Horizon Guest House)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly opening guest house with 2 rooms, both with private bathroom, fan and mosquito nets. One room has hot water and small kitchen. No A/C. The guest house is located only 100 m from the famous Unawatuna beach. Daily cleaning can be arranged. Airport pick up and drop off can be arranged with previous notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing