We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic view of the beach and sea”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #93 of 141 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here out of season but the view and location were fantastic. It's a short tuk-tuk ride into Tangalle but we stayed at the beach for the most part.
We stayed in a large room (with two double beds) at the top of the hotel, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and did I mention the view of the beach and sea were lovely! ;-)

We also ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and had some delicious lobster at a very good price for our dinner. We certainly had none of the bad experiences described by other reviewers.

We also tried to do the turtle watch at night on a stretch of the beach not too far away (9 km). Unfortunately August was not the best time so we didn't see anything but also didn't have to pay anything. I think it was the only time in Sri Lanka where something didn't work out so can't complain too much.

Anyway we enjoyed the Blue Horizon and would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here just after new year. I wouldn't recommend either the accommodation or the food. The room (apparently we had the best) was stuffy and dark (because the windows were stain glass!) without any space inside because they had put two double beds in although it did have a great view!

The family who run the place are superficially friendly but seemed really just interested in what money they could make from us.

The food was appalling- no variety, no vegetables, very small portions, no flavour, rubbery cold fried fish . This is a shame because the location of the restaurant is lovely. One night they had a barbecue (which was disappointing) and pumped out music from a radio until 11pm- which is late somewhere like Tangalle- and showed no consideration for their paying guests, just again, a desire to make some money.

It's a shame, if they concentrated on their service and food rather than how they could make money they would actually have a good place.

I wouldn't recommend this place unless as a last resort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We didnt stay here because there is no hot water or AC, but we came here to eat almost everyday as the food was lovely..i had the lobster! the old man who owns the hotel is lovely too and you feel like you are in Sri Lanka! Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

we stayed here for nights, had ground floor room 1st night 1000 LNR, then moved to top floor the next 3 nights, it has an entrance to the room and also a balcony looking right out to the beach and sea, this room I would recommend it is 1500, best thing to do is first thing in the morning open the double doors and lie in bed and you can see the sea,
thw owners are friendly and very helpful,
the rooms are basic but clean, the wifi is fast,
food ok, cheap the fish very tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bournemouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed just the one night and paid LNR 1 000.

The property is right on the sandy seafront and it’s ideal for walking out of your room and directly into the Indian Ocean within 10 seconds.

Our room was a walk in and we probably got the litter of the runt. It was small, dingy and not particularly clean. The double bed was OK, the pillows were not, but the ceiling fan did keep the room cool.
No TV, fridge, safe, hot water or wi-fi, but they do have an internet cafe on site at LNR 100/hour. It works fine.
Restaurant food is averagely priced but poor quality, cold and uninspiring, the beer is just over room temperature but if you send it back, it does return much colder.
Go for the beach and water, stay a night or two but don’t expect much more for your fiver per night.
As ever, more information, photos and candid comments on our Blog (see profile for the address or Google “ktelontour”) or drop us a line directly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: الطابق العلوي مع عرض المحيط
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndreySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dmitry_Bard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
342 reviews
0 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
285 reviews
0 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: Yeddhehimulla | Unawatuna, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly Blue Horizon Guest House)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range: $16 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly opening guest house with 2 rooms, both with private bathroom, fan and mosquito nets. One room has hot water and small kitchen. No A/C. The guest house is located only 100 m from the famous Unawatuna beach. Daily cleaning can be arranged. Airport pick up and drop off can be arranged with previous notice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing