We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hiru Heaven in Tangalle, Sri Lanka”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tangalle Mansion

Villa front side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa front side
Bedroom ground floor Mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa front side
Bedroom ground floor
Mezzanine bedroom
Veranda master bedroom
Budhist monks on the beach
Terrasse ground floor bedroom
Lunch on verandah master bedroom
Buddha statue in garden
Lunch in patio
Fishermen boats on the beach
Villa right on the beach
Hiru Sandu Villa is right on the beach for a perfect relaxing holiday on a gorgeous sandy beach
Our superb bay
Hiru Sandu Villa beach front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
worldwolf
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hiru Heaven in Tangalle, Sri Lanka”
Reviewed March 17, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This private villa in Tangalle is a hidden gem. The strange thing is there are no reviews of it. Initially this made me wonder why....but now I know, people who have stayed here want to keep it a secret . Why share this sublime experience with the world when you can keep coming back for more. I have stayed in accommodation all over the world and this place is perfection.

From the moment we arrived the wonderful staff welcomed us like old friends. But that didn't mean its not private. You can have as much or as little interaction as you like. The head butler, cook and driver is so helpful and kind... and boy can he cook. Every day he would ask what we would like, local fisherman appear at the gate with all manner of sea delights :Lobster, crab Seer fish or clams. He creates the most wonderful array of local and international dishes that are as good if not better than many restaurants in Europe.

The helpful villa staff know the local area and can provide a driver for tours around the South Coast or all over Sri Lanka. There is even an ayurvedic doctor that can visit you at Hiru Sandu for relaxing massages in the garden or in your room with their own massage table.

The Villa has 4 suites ,ours being the master suite at the top of the Villa with a beautiful verrandah overlooking the beach. The photo's I found on-line just didn't do it justice, you truly have to see it (and feel it) to believe it. Decorated in a Balinese style (with a French twist), it understated luxury, every chair, table and painting has been carefully considered, but the true magic of the place is it's serenity. I was here for 3 weeks and I literally had to be dragged away, will I back...and how. I get the feeling its a love affair that will be going for a long time to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location, the food and the helpful staff
Liked least: The mosquito's , and sand flies
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascalgug...
Brech, France
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Merci et en espérant vous revoir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2017
Bonjour,
et merci pour vos commentaires qui sont toujours apprécies afin de nous améliorer. Pourriez-vous svp indiquer ce qui ne vous paraissez pas propre a votre arrivée dans les parties communes afin que nous puissions y remédier. C'est assez étrange car habituellement la villa est nettoyee de fond en comble après le depart de chaque groupe.
En ce qui concerne le filet d'eau, nous sommes malheureusement ou heureusement devrions-nous dire, au Sri Lanka, et l'eau arrive d'une tour située a l'arrière de la villa et lorsque les salles de bain des 4 chambres tirent l'eau en meme temps il se peut que la puissance ne soit pas satisfaisante pour vous, car c'est la toute 1" fois que l'on nous fait cette remarque. En ce qui concerne les coussins taches peut-etre que cela est du a des groupes precedents et nous n'avons pas eu le temps de remédier étant en tres haute saison, car de gros travaux d'entretien ont ete' realises en décembre a la villa. La description de la villa devrait vraisemblablement indiquer qu'elle se trouve a 7 kms avant Tangalle en venant de Colombo, mais cela sera vérifie' au plus tot. Il est néanmoins toujours indique' lors de nos échanges préalables qu'il est nécessaire de contacter Lakmal afin qu'il puisse indiquer la route au chauffeur ou bien venir vous accueillir sur la route principale. L'état de la mer ne depend pas malheureusement de nous, étant donne' que comme tout le monde sait, le Sri Lanka est entoure' par l'Ocean Indien, ce qui n'a donc rien a voir avec la villa en elle-même ni avec son personnel. Nous regrettons cependant que vous n'ayez pas mentionne' dans un souci de transparence, le fait que les 2 chauffeurs ont ete' gracieusement loges a la villa et que votre groupe était de 10 personnes et non de 8 comme nous le recommandons habituellement. En ce qui concerne l'obligation d'un véhicule nous ne partageons pas votre commentaire car des tuk-tuks sont toujours disponibles a 2 pas de la villa pour vous amener a Tangalle et dans les environs a moindre cout. Nous n'avons d'ailleurs nous-memes aucun autre véhicule pour nous déplacer et faisons tres volontiers appel aux tuk-tuks du village. Votre arrivée a la ville s'est néanmoins tres bien déroulée a partir du moment ou' vous avez contacte' Lakmal meme si nous regrettons que la taille de votre bus ne vous ai pas permis d'accéder a la villa directement. En espérant que vous-même et les autres membres de votre groupe, aient cependant et cela malgre' tous les inconvénients que vous avez cites, apprecie' leur séjour a la villa et au Sri Lanka.
Bien cordialement,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmervil...
Merville, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naoufal_R
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home design, location and staff
Liked least: mosquitos during first night but found solution with bet net
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manon741
Poissy, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: tout l'accueil la gentilesse de la proprietaire comme06001 de nos hôtes le service le lieu magique
Liked least: la difficulté a trouver le lieu
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing