We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot-comfort depends a bit on the prevailing breeze”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patini Bungalows - Beach Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Spot-comfort depends a bit on the prevailing breeze”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a great location right on the beach. There are only 4 stand alone bungalows on the property. They are very new, well constructed with high wooden ceilings, heaps of windows for air circulation, a good bathroom (cold water only) and a big covered outside balcony (good for catching up on washing). We are also back to using a mozzie net. The bed is queen size & very comfortable. The grounds are all sand with plenty of palms & other tropical plants providing heaps of shade. There are plenty of beach loungers that can be dragged around to suit the breeze & shade. It is about 20-25 minutes walk into town via the beach (heavy going in the sand) with steep banks built up in parts or along a track that runs virtually parallel for a long proportion- On the way back on the 1st day we find it can still be done for 120 rupees in a tuk tuk. There are no meals onsite but many alternatives are available within walking distance or by tuk tuk. The NE breezes that prevail while we are there means that not a lot of breeze reached our bungalow (or 2 others) so the pedestal fan is left on all night.
For the price paid this is a good spot but I would opt for staying at a place with hot water & air conditioning if staying for a longer time.

Room Tip: I would opt for one of the 2 bungalows closest to the surf-more chance of catching a breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJBAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
144
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I completly forgot to bring the address so it took our tuktuk driver a lot of searching but when we arrived I couldn't have been more relieved. A friendly welcome and a fantastic location.
We could see the sea from our bedroom and were always given complementry tea at 3 o'clock, a lovely touch!
The rooms were spotless and the bed huge.
Overall very impressed, am pleased I booked such a gem as even in low season this beautiful place was fully booked.
Whilest in Tangalle the Rock Temple is well worth a visit but make sure the guide you get is an older knowledgable one. As ours knew nothing and tried to charge us a some Sri Lankan fortune.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Just back from Sri Lanka with my group of 20 veterinary colleagues who filled up Ibis and Patini and spent 2 blissful days at Tangalle, recovering after a hectic place-to-place study tour. I had promised them one of the best places to stay on the island and they were not disappointed, even by comparison to some much more expensive top-end hotels. Some have already told me that they plan to return independently. Visits by groups such as this are unusual there and it was lucky that we booked so early - the word has spread! The Patini bungalows have been added since my visit to the Ibis 4 years ago and they are beautiful, the perfect balance between comfort, good build quality and laid-back beach-side ambience. It was good to find that the beach remains clean and unspoilt - far from crowded and with none of the hassle of the more touristy beaches. I enjoyed swimming in the waves and it's only a few minutes walk to a more protected natural pool. My group had been concerned about mosquitoes, and had encountered plenty in other places, but they loved the pretty and immaculate nets over the beds and in fact I saw none at all in my bungalow (possibly helped by a Jungle Formula plug-in). They don't seem to be much of a problem there anyway. Everyone enjoyed the meals at the adjoining Ibis but also appreciated the choice of places to eat within an easy stroll along the beach. Thanks, Séverine and Daya, for the outstanding hospitality. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The two nearest to the sea have slightly better views but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Thank you Severine! A very nice beach bungalow, v roomy and close to the beach. V good value for money and Severine was so friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend if you are looking for somewhere in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CervusElaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Imagine Swiss standard accommodation just 50m from a Sri Lankan beach and this is what we found at Patini Bungalows.

The bungalow was large with excellent furniture. The windows wrap around 3 sides and create a lovely cross breeze. The insect net over the bed meant you could enjoy the sea breeze all night.

The bathroom is good and for us it did not matter at all that the water was not hot. There is a foot shower at the bottom of the steps which is great for removing the sand from your feet and having a quick shower to get the sea salt off.

The bird watching first thing in the morning along the road behind the bungalows which overlooks the lagoon is exceptionally good. Just ask for the gate key before you go to bed.

The breakfasts next door at the Ibis Guest House were very good. The rest of their food was OK but not as good as the Sri Lankan food we had eaten in other areas. We found the food in this area to be more international and not of the same quality as we experienced in the Hill Country and Tissa. This was disappointing as we had hoped for some good fresh fish, but I guess that might have been because it was low season.

We thought Patini Bungalows were great and good value for money. The only two things that would have made it perfect for us were fewer plants so that we had a view of the sea from the terrace and an electric kettle so that we could have had an early morning cup of black coffee. These are minor details and we would really recommend Patini Bungalows.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This has to be the nicest place to stay in Sri Lanka. If I write down how beautiful the beach is, how spotless the bungalows, how welcoming the family.....no one will believe me, but it ís true! do not be put off by self-catering, there are many options to eat very nearby. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flueyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Sun, sea sand right at your doorstep! Private bungalow so you feel like you are the only people on the beach. Well worth a stay for at least 2 nights to soak up the sun, sea and sand.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
2.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
3.2 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 126 in Tangalle
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patini Bungalows - Beach Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patini Bungalows - Beach Garden

Property: Patini Bungalows - Beach Garden
Address: 27 Madilla Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five bungalows (35 to 45 sqm each one) stand in the sand and are situated in a peaceful location surrounded by beautiful nature with the ocean on one side and the mangrove-lagoon on the other side. Come and discover the culture and the nature of the South Coast and relax in a gentle atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patini Bungalows - Beach Garden Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing