We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value B&B on the beach”
Review of Ibis Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 140 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in 2nd week of November in the first room on the upper floor of the main building. Double bed was huge and comfortable. The one snag was the one light was positioned such that reading in bed was difficult. Food was good although prices were slightly higher than places nearer town. Although swimming was not recommended except at the sea edge the range of beach furniture was exceptional and we spent days just lazing in sun and shade. Would certainly return when next touring the South Coast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertsOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Ibis for three nights and would have stayed longer if we could have. The rooms were clean and spacious and the food was delicious. Our days were spent walking along the beautiful beaches, reading on the sunbeds, eating fresh fruit platters in very comfy cabanas and playing table tennis - what more could you want. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We spent four nights here, one more than we had planned because it was so good. We stayed in a cabana next to the guesthouse with a great view of the beach. It was very clean and well fitted out. This is a quiet spot about two kilometers from the town and the only real drawback is that swimming isn't possible because of the rocks in the sea and the dumping surf. However there are several places you can venture into the sea and get wet. The beach is beautiful and stretches as far as the eye can see. The guesthouse is well run and the staff are very helpful. We visited the nearby children s home which the owners also run and really enjoyed the experience. The food was good with excellent breakfast options. We were there before the main season starts so it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Cabanas are slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved this guesthouse set right on a beautiful beach. We rented a beach cottage which was charming surrounded by palms. We could hear the surf all night. Bed had a mosquito net and was comfortable. There were many hammocks on the beach as well as actual beds with Canopies right on the beach. I loved these. The restaurant was excellent and we ate all our meals here. The couple who run the guesthouse were very nice and helpful. The beach is beautiful but the surf is very strong and not suitable for swimming but okay to play at the edge. We would love to visit here again and it is definitely a place to dream about.

Room Tip: A beach cottage is best but rooms are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilkoDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a really good time! Rooms are big and very clean, good beds, hot water and Nice sea views are everywhere! The restaurant is good!!!! Lovely breakfast with big bowls of fruit salad with curd, fresh coffee, pancakes, etc. Dinner is Also very Nice. The beach is quiet, very clean. In August the sea is rough, but in winter months you can swim. The owner and waiters are really friendly. I would love to come back, just to relax and enjoy the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maaike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect location right on the beach, quiet place, big room with really lagre bed, very comfortable. We were able to catch Wi-Fi signal on terrace outside of our room right above restaurant. After all guests finish their dinners (usualy between 9-10 p.m.) restaurant closes, which is good because it is quiet, but it is pity they turn Wi-Fi off too.
One afternoon waiter offered us big fresh fish for dinner, grilled with garlic sauce was excellent!
We had great time in Ibis and in Tangalle, hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leffkacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were meant to stay two or three nights, but ended up staying for eight nights. Friendly owners. Very good food. Yes there are room for improvments eg deckchairs and matresses for sunbeds, but why focus on the little things that are wrong, when so much is right with this place. Service with a smile from early morning to late evening means La Santa!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edanebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
4.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel
Ceylon Sea Hotel
#12 of 23 in Tangalle
110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
721 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Guesthouse

Address: 27 Madilla, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range: $56 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Guesthouse has 5 nice doublerooms, 2 big A/C familyrooms and 5 bungalows on the beach. All rooms/bungalows have hot water, a sea view balcony or a big terress. Enjoy delicious western and eastern food in the Ibis Restaurant. Celebrations, weddings and conferences can be organized for you. Relax in the pavillons and sunchairs at the beach. Water- and beachsport, table tennis is possible, katamaran trips on the near by lagoon can be done. Herbal massages you can get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Guesthouse Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing