We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agreeable midprice guesthouse on quiet beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 114 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Agreeable midprice guesthouse on quiet beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This agreeable mid-price guesthouse is situated in a quiet location about 30 minutes walk from Tangalle, beyond the strip of budget accommodations along Medaketiya beach and close to where the long, beautiful and less developed Marakolliya beach begins. A variety of rooms, with and without AC, are available in villas and bungalows, set in a shady garden. There is wi-fi in the main building where meals are served. My room was clean and comfortable, with a good supply of hot water. The Sri Lankan food is tasty. Unlike the guesthouses closer to town, the beach road runs behind rather than in front of Ibis, allowing unimpeded access to the beach and adding considerably to the guesthouse's allure. The entire beachfront east of Tangalle shelves steeply and is pounded by waves with a strong undertow (and indeed there are some rocks in the sea in front of Ibis): this is not a suitable beach for young children. The management team is alert and responsive though, as other reviewers have noted, the Sri Lankan partner of the German owner is a somewhat mercurial presence. I enjoyed my 4-night stay at Ibis and would recommend it, particularly for travellers seeking a quieter beach destination than Mirissa or Unawatuna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
18
100
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We only had one night booked at Ibis, but were so impressed by this relaxed place next to a beautiful uncrowded beach that we asked to stay longer. Unsurprisingly they were fully booked (this was around new year so high season), but luckily someone cancelled so we ended up staying a week. The food was great and cooked in an open kitchen, rooms were spacious and clean and overall good value for money. Angelica and Ranjit run the place efficiently and always happy to help you with anything. We would recommend this for couples and families. For single young travellers it may be a bit on the quiet side.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are above the restaurant facing the sea (although there are some trees blocking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LME25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray Leics
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After being presented with slop for a meal at Guyana hotel and restaurant we went by tuk tuk to the Ibis. The meal was excellent and the welcome we received from the owners and staff very warm.We wished that we had stayed here rather than at the Guyana. It has an excellent location right on the beach and appeared perfect for a 3-4 day stay .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

nice people, nice beach, very good food, nice music, everything perfectly nice. we stayed at the neighbors place, so we cant say something about the rooms. but the restaurant has a cosy interiour, comfortable almost-sofa-seats. good to
chill and the owner are authentic and very friendly. chillpill holidays 5 star

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ansam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The low point of my trip to Sri Lanka was having to climb in and out of the greasy mosquito nets at Ibis that looked as if they had never been washed and had the god knows what of many a traveller on them. The bed sheets, towels and pillows smelt musty and damp. The rooms were dark and dingy. Not the romantic get away I was hoping for at all.

The food was expensive and not the quality or quantity I would expect from the prices they are charging.

We asked to arrange a taxi to Ella. The German owner gave us a price of RS 9000. A few days later when we went to book it with the driver, the price went up to RS 11000. When we queried the price with her husband, he quoted RS 12000!! We asked why the price had gone up. The husband said it was because of rain and landslide on the road, and we would have to drive through the jungle. When we asked her, she said it was because of increased petrol prices?!?! Make up your mind please! When we did drive to Ella, we drove along the main road and there was no evidence at all of landslides or jungle diversions. It's really sad to think that they are on the make money wise, and trying to squeeze as much money as they can out of unsuspecting travellers.

Plus points:
The Sri Lankan waiters there are friendly, and it is a beautiful spot of beach. But they need to pull their socks up, as there is much cleaner, nicer, cheaper accommodation and food along that stretch of beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoClaireGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

I think there was a misunderstanding in the price for the taxi.
The Ibis Guesthouse is not cheating their guests.

The bedsheets and the towels are washed after every check out of guests – don´t worry!
Also the mosquito-nets are washed regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went to this place based and good reviews I had in guide books. I had a room for 4500Rps without breakfast.
Room was ideal with a great view. Place is ideally located and everything has been made so that you just want to stay there. Staff is nice BUT I had a bad experience.
They arranged a driver for me who was incredibly expensive and did not leave me any place for negotiation. So I would not advise you to arrange transport with them.
Except that, I loved this place.
They have a large choice of food but it's definitely not incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feel_the_air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is run by a sri lankan man and his german wife. The best feature of this resort is the surroundings - it is right on the beach but there are palms everywhere so when you look out of your room you feel secluded. The food was delicious - we at at other places on the beach but ended up eating most meals there. The rooms have everything you need and are great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekymonkeyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.4 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 114 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 121 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Guesthouse

Property: Ibis Guesthouse
Address: 27 Madilla, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Guesthouse has 5 nice doublerooms, 2 big A/C familyrooms and 5 bungalows on the beach. All rooms/bungalows have hot water, a sea view balcony or a big terress. Enjoy delicious western and eastern food in the Ibis Restaurant. Celebrations, weddings and conferences can be organized for you. Relax in the pavillons and sunchairs at the beach. Water- and beachsport, table tennis is possible, katamaran trips on the near by lagoon can be done. Herbal massages you can get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Guesthouse Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing