We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhelpful, choleric and aggressive hotel owner”
Review of Ibis Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 116 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ella, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unhelpful, choleric and aggressive hotel owner”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Under the surface of a lovely decorated beach hotel we unfortunately experienced an unhelpful and aggressive hotel owner. On our first night at 11 pm we thought we had lost our room key. We had to wake up the owner. At first he refused to provide any assistance. When we finally found the key he completely freaked out and his German wife backed him up. We were shocked by his unappropriated and unexpected reaction. He wanted to kick us out of the hotel in the middle of the night. We were afraid of being physically attacked by him (which did not happen though). He was either not able or not willing to address a simple guest request. We refused to leave the hotel during the night but we were ordered to leave at 6 am which we happily did after this experience. This disrupted our peaceful mind and travel in Sri Lanka. We can therefore not recommend this hotel. Don't stay at this place, there are plenty of other lovely guesthouses along the coast!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nupsi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guests,
the brother of the owner, who was still awake, tried to help you: he was ready to break the door look, he wanted to give you matrazes for sleeping on the balcony in front of your room (all other rooms/bungalows were full), he was helping to such the key. Also the wife of the owner was ready to help suching the key when she was waked up and explained, that there is no extra key. You refused all. When you had the idea, that the owner or the staff has taken the key from you, the owner got very up said. You can trust Ibis Guesthouse and the staff members for sure. Suddenly the key was in the trouser pocket of one of the guests and all the trouble was for nothing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
18
100
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Tangalle is a perfect, basic beach get-away location, and from what I saw, IBIS is the pick of the beach bungalow accommodation there. Whilst all of the beach places have restaurants (and all seemed to be basically OK), the food at the IBIS was the best. The breakfasts were also good. The service is friendly, and generally pretty good. People expecting attentive 5 star service should probably avoid this sort of basic bungalow accommodation - at this price you shouldn't expect it. Tangalle reminds me of the Thai islands (say Ko Samui, or Ko Phan An) 10-12 years ago - beautiful beaches, simple friendly bungalow accommodation.

Room Tip: I'd personally prefer a bungalow over the upstairs main building, as they seemed slightly cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and has a very quiet location with nice beach. Room is very clean with the big bed. No hot water but they told us they had. Room is very hot so we had to open the windows in the night. We didn't book in advance so we could only wait to 7pm to check in but next morning 9am they asked us to leave.

I must say it is a lovely place but the service is really rude. After we checked out we told them we put our backpacks there and our wet clothes were out of the room and we would come back to take them. But just after 20 mins I came back to take the clothes I found they THROW them on the floor!!! How could they do this!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annwang923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

we try our best, that the service and the stuff in Ibis Guesthouse is always very friendly and helpful. Only if you make them up said, they are up said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

After three weeks travelling around Sri Lanka we were ready to recharge our batteries. We looked at a few options along the beach road, but we're glad that we chose to pay a little extra and stay at the Ibis which is a cut above the guesthouses we'd seen. It offers a variety of rooms and plenty of options for passing the day in the sun or shade. We enjoyed the leisurely breakfasts and a variety of evening meals as well as a Lion beer or two. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was above the restaurant was clean with comfortable beds and good mosquito nets. Though as others have mentioned an extra lamp or two would have been useful.
Overall a good choice for a few days relaxing and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to view various rooms, there are different styles for different budgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

this is a great place for doing very little but just relaxing and reading.
The building, rooms, bedding are all of good quality and very clean with a nice balcony and plenty of shade by the sea.

2 words of advice to the owners:
Room lighting is too weak
sea food could be much better; prawns were small, fish a bit scrawny, and all smothered in curry sauce. I love curry but most people want to eat sea food in its more natural state, and want top quality sea food for this price.

On a separate note, the German lady partner of the Sri Lankan owner built and runs an orphanage for Sri Lankan kids, an admirable achievement, and she'll arrange visits and tours for guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den haag
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed two nights because we wanted a relaxing day in the beach. And that's what It was. The food was great, lovely staff and nice atmospher a bit more attention for the rooms( bedlights) could make It even better. The family history gives It a personal touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After two weeks of basic travelling we wanted a higher level accomodation for once. We visited many of the hostels/guesthouses along the beach there but the longer walk towards Ibis was defenitely worth it! Finally a decent bed!! Unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side but when the sun shines there is plenty of beach to enjoy and plenty of shadow too for a relaxing drink. The welcome was great and owner is very enthousiastic. Dinner is very pleasant, but not specifically better than anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask to see more rooms if available, Then you can decide yourself which one suits your idea's abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.4 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 116 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 126 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Guesthouse

Property: Ibis Guesthouse
Address: 27 Madilla, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Guesthouse has 5 nice doublerooms, 2 big A/C familyrooms and 5 bungalows on the beach. All rooms/bungalows have hot water, a sea view balcony or a big terress. Enjoy delicious western and eastern food in the Ibis Restaurant. Celebrations, weddings and conferences can be organized for you. Relax in the pavillons and sunchairs at the beach. Water- and beachsport, table tennis is possible, katamaran trips on the near by lagoon can be done. Herbal massages you can get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Guesthouse Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing