We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''highly recommended green garden''”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
Ranked #14 of 132 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2013

what a great stay we had here! beautiful cottage,great location and above all: the most friendly people of all!
we will be back as soon as possible,but for now we cherish the sweet memories!
we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spint c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really liked our stay here despite the fact that it does not have a beach front.
Value for money is above standards.
We stayed in a room behind the cabanas and it was quite clean and spacious.
The restaurant is excellent, food was truly delicious. The cook is very good, definitely our best dinner in Sri Lanka.
We highly recomend it !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

If you want to sleep in a very nice cabana in the middle of an amazing garden with ponies, squirrels, rare birds and listen to peacocks' singing and ocean waves you have to stay at the Green Garden Cabanas! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewakwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent three nights at the Green garden cabanas & Resort. As cabanas were fully booked we had a big, comfortable clean room at a very reasonable price. The garden around is beautiful and the open restaurant provide very good food. After more than one month of Sri Lanka we said "yes we can have a pizza now" and it was really good ( baked in a real oven with firewood). The family that run the hotel and all the staff are very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elefante58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

You must stay here!! It is that simple. This was the most wonderful place we stayed in sri lanka.

Very reasonably priced for your own cabana with hot water. They also come and clean the rooms and provide you with fresh towels every other day or so..which was great.


Firstly the location is great. 2 mins from the beach. The beach is great and you can swim easily which is quite rare on the south coast.


Secondly the service is incredible. The nicest people you will meet! A real family run place and they make you feel part of the family. Especially Manoj, he is a legend! We really didn't want to say bye to them!


Finally the food. Wow! Fresh prawns the size of my hand! Lobster and crab freshly cooked. Amazing curries. You cant ask for more than a beach and brilliant food and service.

We are now saving up to come back next December :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thushani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Green Garden for a week at the beginnning of August and it was the most relaxing, fantastically hospitable place we stayed in Sri Lanka (we travelled around for a month). We chose it over Palm Paradise and never looked back. It was amazing!

The staff are incredible and would do anything to make your stay just a little more enjoyable. For example, they come round every evening and if you're sitting outside they will light mosquito repellant coils for you. They always have a smile on their faces and will help you arrange tours, learn more about the local area,or just cook you the most amazing food. If you go, have the lobster. Unbelievable and fresh from the sea that day. In particular, Manoj is the nicest and smiliest host possible.

The cabanas are spacious and comfortable with good hot showers and loads of storage space. There are also very nice verandas where you can sit and enjoy the gardens.

The beach is about a 1 minute walk away (you can hear the waves from the cabanas), and the middle of the three restaurants is the one to go to. The beach is incredibly beautiful and one of the only ones in the local area where you can swim safely. There are rocky outcrops at either end, and we took a walk one day and found some buffalo in the stream nearby.

Can't recommend Green Garden any more.

Room Tip: Any Cabana. You don't need AC, there's a really nice ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ended up here after another booking fell through - was more than happy with my stay.

- 2 nights in an 'apartment' style room, felt that the price of the room was expensive but offered more value than a Cabana.
- Room was comfortable enough with a small veranda.
- Food was delicious but the service was slow. Didn't like you straying from the fixed menu at breakfast.
- Goyambokka beach is 2 min walk, best beach I've ever visited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.8 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Moonstone Villas
Moonstone Villas
#1 of 132 in Tangalle
263 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#3 of 139 in Tangalle
286 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sanjis The Seaside Cabanas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Garden Cabanas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Cabanas & Resort

Address: Goyambokka, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range: $26 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Garden Cabanas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Cabanas And Resort
Green Garden Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing