We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Sri Lanka!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
Ranked #23 of 140 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We arrived at green gardens somewhat by chance and ended up not wanting to leave. Down a track off the main road the cabanas at green gardens are nestled just back from spectacular, virtually deserted beaches with second to none hospitality and service. As budget backpackers we became aware, very quickly, of good value Sri Lankan accommodation and Green Gardens was in our experience exceptional value for money. The Cabanas were clean and private with all the necessary amenities - mosquito net, hot water, british plug sockets etc. The gardens are beautifully lush and green with small ponies to graze the grass and a separate kitchen and open air dining area where we can say we had by far the best curry and rice of our trip. Nothing was too much for the staff, they were so welcoming and hospitable, offering us to join them for Arrack, going out of there way to let us sample the local curd and honey, giving us a lift into town to catch the bus to save us having to pay for a tuk tuk and cooking us a complementary freshly caught fish from the owners boat just because they thought we might like it. I cannot emphasise how much i would recommend this place to stay, it has all the amenities of it's main rival with far more personal service at an incredibly good price. The area is beautiful and by far our favourite beach and coastal area of the south and west coasts. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 220 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had a great stay for 2 nights in March 2011: the owners are super friendly, the food is great, the cabanas look very nice and it is a 1 minute walk to the extremely beautiful beach! Only one little comment: I was travelling with my parents and my father is very tall (1,93 m.) and the bed was too short for him. So this was kind of uncomfortable.
But except from that, we really loved our quiet stay in the gorgeous gardens! The animals (two horses and 3 puppies) also added a lot of fun to our stay. I would recommend this place to anyone and think this is the best place if you are looking for a place to stay in Tangalle!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

A small family-run guesthouse, this place is a gem. There are three cottages, one 'chalet', and a bungalow. The cottages have everything one needs in a beachside location - comfortable big bed, ceiling fan, wooden floors, space, privacy from neighbours, and simple peace and quiet with only the sounds of the local wildlife and the ocean in the distance.
The family have great cooking skills and have even constructed a woodfired pizza oven for their thin crust pizzas with buffalo mozzarella which they make themselves. Their Sri Lankan food is also great - ask for a fish curry but be sure to demand it at full spice if you like that - or they will automatically make it less spicy to suit most western tastes.
This truly is a family business which cares about their guests in a very genuine way.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We ended at the Green Cabanas as a coincidence. We booked actually at the neighbours, also lovely, but thought this was a good place for our breakfast and dinner. And it was!!

We enjoyed the restaurant in the middle of the lovely garden where life seems like a little paradise. You only hear the sounds of nature and around the restaurant you can watch all the lovely birds, squirels, little dogs and two horses moving slowly around the garden.

Every morning one of the horses waited at the restaurant for the owner. When he arrived she was sure to get some nice peaces of bread :) and than she went on on her stroll through the garden. We really enjoyed our breakfast and dinners at this place.

When he should have had cabanas free I am sure we would have hired one!! Unfortunately it was fully booked.The food was delicious by the way :)!

The beach at Goyambokka is the best we experienced along the west and south coast of Sri Lanka. No problem to get into the water (most places have big rocks at the entrance of the sea) and the sea was mostly quite calm. Not as rough as elsewhere.

You can make nice walks along the seashore. Nature is stunning over here.

If we are ever go back to Sri Lanka it will definately be this place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank servatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We have spend 14 wonderful days in this beautiful place.There are 4 cabanas in a tropical garden with many birds,flowers and two friendly ponys!You can get the best pizza in town,the owner has a pizzaowen and handmade mozarella cheese.The stuff is very friendly,they make every wish comes true.The beach is only 2 minutes away,it`s a calm place and swimming for children is possible.We have made a few trips organized from the green garden and it was real good.We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Green Garden is loacted opposite Palm Paradise. It only has 4 cabanas which makes it very intimate and gives it a sort of family atmosphere. The owner is a nice guy and a genuine entrepreur, involved in lots of businesses. It is a very short stroll to a very nice beach witha few simple but good places to enjoy seafood.

Green Garden restaurant does very good food, the tradional SriLankan fare but the specialty is pizza's. They have a wood fired oven the size of a cabana and the owner makes his own buffalo mozarella.

The cabanas are resonably sized and have 2 or 3 beds. They all have ensuite bathrooms with hot water. The beds are clean and not as rockhard as some of the other places we stayed. The cabana's themselves felt like they hadn't been used for a while, some dust and sand on the floor and wall. But then with a beach like that on your doorstep you don't spend much time in the cabana.

The owner has a tuktuk and is willing to take you to town on request although there is not much reason to leave the beach. All in all it is the best deal on beach accomodation we found in Tangalle.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

This was one of the best guest houses we found during our month trip of sri lanka. There are three wooden cabanas and one stone cabanas set in a lush garden of coconut palms, lemon trees, cashew nut trees, and even pineapples!! Sudat the owner here is a keen gardener and chef making home made mozarella and truely excellent stone baked pizzas in their wood fired pizza oven.
A 10 min walk through a rural sri lankan village takes you to the best beach i have ever been too. White sand and a steep drop into deep clear water that is perfect for swimming.

Very hard to leave and a must visit for anyone planning a trip to sri lanka!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickymouseCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.8 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
1.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sansala Guest House
Sansala Guest House
#5 of 140 in Tangalle
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goyambokka Guesthouse
Goyambokka Guesthouse
#9 of 140 in Tangalle
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Garden Cabanas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Cabanas & Resort

Address: Goyambokka, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range: $38 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Green Garden Cabanas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Cabanas And Resort
Green Garden Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing