We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to spend a few days or more...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top place to spend a few days or more...”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Amazing surroundings, excellent food, nice service...and possibility to go conoeing for free on the beautiful lagoon.
We spent 3 weeks in Sri Lanka and found the Mangrove Beach Cabanas very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    114
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
103
314
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights in January during our 6 week holiday travelling in Sri Lanka, and loved it so much we stayed 6! This has to be one of the most beautiful, peaceful places in the world. Staff, particularly Kusum the chef, were amazing. We were fortunate to be present during a turtle hatching beside the restaurant, it was with great excitement that all guests and staff helped the baby turtles to the sea. An amazing stay, wish we were still there!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bobyooz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Sweet wooden chalets on the beach, hammocks, relaxing lounges and a nice vibe. Bed was comfy. Fans no air con but don't need it. Bathroom clean and modern.
Food at the restaurant was great - recommend the grilled fish. Chamal is particularly a great host to us. Organised everything we needed. He is an asset to this place. Thanks Chamal!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franceville, Gabon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Awesome cabanas in our best place in south Sri Lanka. Really excellent, quiet and wild place. If you go in the south, you must go in Mangrove.
Awesome cabanas in our best place in south Sri Lanka. Really excellent, quiet and wild place. If you go in the south, you must go in Mangrove.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kantien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is the place to kick off your shoes, find a hammock and switch off the rest of the world! We enjoyed a really chilled out week here, it was the best start to our 3 week trip to Sri Lanka. The cabanas sit right on the beach and although they are basically furnished they are very comfortable. The little restaurant and bar area is wonderful and the staff were really helpful in ensuring everything was right for us. My only little gripe was that the cocktails were not very well made and it was hard to get a really cold drink! But overall this place is a little gem and far exceeded our expectations for the price charged per night. We'd definitely stay here again on our next trip to SL

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for one of the cabanas on the beach and not behind the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Tangalle Cabanas are just great. It really is the idyllic beach paradise. Rooms are basic and not any hot water but you don't really need it. Bathrooms are down some steep stairs through a hole in the floor so be careful. Would not be good for physically impaired. Restaurant is good and breakfasts serve good omelettes. VERY laid back and quiet. Almost like a library. Don' t raise your voice too much!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxos, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Staying at mangrove chalets at the moment. Spotlessly clean EVERYWHERE, nice chalets, great value & very good massage. Beach side breakfast is great. Best of all are the crew (staff) here, nothing is ever too much trouble & the guy who appears to manage everyone does so very well. Would stay here again without a 2nd thought.

Fairly quiet at nite so not for lively seekers. Beds a little hard but a small price to pay for such a great stay

Every window has steel mozzy mesh so u get sea breeze all day/night, no need for a/c & great hot shower

Gonna be very sad to leave

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
3.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
5.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
667 reviews
2.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets

Property: Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Address: Kapuhenwela | Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Hotel Tangalle
Mangrove Beach Cabanas And Chalets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing