We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe traveler - gorgeous setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent 3 wonderful nights here in the chalet closest to the beach. Our room was spacious and clean. No complaints but the ambience is lacking. If you are after a Maldives-type holiday, this would be ideal: swaying palm trees, lush vegetation, deserted golden beach. A picture-postcard image! There is a lovely restaurant, too, but the food is Ok, toned down for western palates. All in all, it's a great hideaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 569 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really nice chalets on the beach ! Clean, spacious and friendly staff. We payed 58 Euro per night (top end for Sri Lanka) but it was worth it. Good breakfast and diner on the beach. Sea is wild but there is a Natural pool where you can swim safely. Try the massage at Mangrove: you only pay 12 Euro for one hour massage ! Would recommand this place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sjoerd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

From the moment you arrive at Mangrove Chalets and walk over the little wooden bridge over the lagoon the scene is set. You walk through a lovely restaurant set over the smaller section of the lagoon then its all sand and palm trees to the beach. Its one of the best value for money rustic resorts one can stay in Sri Lanka with great new and clean accommodation. The beach is perfect and the pictures don't do the resort any justice.

The only downside is that for veggies the menu is limited so we went on pay as you go basis rather than all inclusive. For Rs 300 (that £1.50) you can bust out to the local town and go shopping or check out the local towns and fare.

We stayed for 6 nights and we could have stayed another 6 easily. Its the perfect place to unwind, relax and chill out. There is no other activities so not a place for those seeking tons of night-life or water sports etc.

We then travelled to Talalla Retreat 30km away and wished we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in chalet no 2 which is one of the closest rooms to the beach cafe and beach itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandeepVirdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Perfect place to stay for everyone who's looking for a relaxing place with no crowd and close to nature. Beautiful beach , very comfortable eco cabanas and perfect service from the staff makes this place ideal to visit . Fresh good quality food in the restaurant is additional advantage of the place. You can also order an ajurvedic massage when you want relax more and I have to admit is one of the best I ever have. I strongly recommend Mangroove beach cabanas to visit and have a nice time on Sri Lanka. P.S. It's not a place for people who want to have a big party every day and looking for a tourist attraction like you might find in Mirrissa or Unawatuna.

Room Tip: Beach Cabanas are very comfortable and clean. You have to know that there is no hot water in shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here after reading a lot of good reviews and recommendations and i have to say i was a bit disappointed because not everything about the place lived upto the expectations.We stayed in the beach Cabanas for 2 nights, and this is what i observed:

Pros:
-Idyllic setting -palm trees, long secluded beach, no shops, no hawkers, no people
-Beautiful organic design of the beach cabanas
-Nice beach bar in the next door mangrove chalets property with friendly staff
-Nice rock pool(enough water to dip your knees) infornt of the beach bar
-Good for large groups who can have fun together or couple looking for complete seclusion.
-One night we attended a bbq dinner at the beach bar and the food and vibe was wonderful

Cons:
-Food barring the bbq was extremely disappointing
-No activities to do and considering the beach is too rough for swimming, it can get boring.
-Formal atmosphere in the beach restaurant at the beach cabanas. They play random music. music keeps alternating between Bob Dylan and Rihanna at night and trance house radio in the morning!
-Beach is picturesque but dangerous for swimming. Walking on the beach is very difficult because of the loose sand(requires a lot of energy to go anywhere in the sun!)
-Although you can see the sea from the room, the shoreline is walk away from the property
-No hot water in the beach cabanas
-Very expensive drinking water at the restaurant
-Not all cabanas have a paradise feeling. The restaurant is right infront of cabana no 5 and 4 and obstructs the paradise view that the other cabanas have.

So this place is ideal if what you need is total seclusion or if you are travelling in a large group and can have your own fun.

Room Tip: If you are choosing a beach cabana room no 5 and 4 have views of the restuarant, whereas 3, 2 and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed one night in the cabanas and one night in the chalets. I highly recommend the cabanas, the staff are friendly its a very calming a relaxing place with good food and cocktails. The rooms are lovely with a mosquito net and ceiling fan (and an extra single bed). There was no real difference in the rooms at the chalets however the price increased quite a lot and the menu is the same as the menu from the cabanas. I would definitely stay at the cabanas again but don't think I would bother with the chalets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived in tangalle with no reservations and came across this place in the rough guide. I almost want to say its awful and don't go, as I'm worried it will get ruined by being a victim of its own success ! We arrived by tuk tuk and were met at the entrance. He left our bags to be taken for us. We weren't too impressed on arrival. He then asked us to follow him to our room. We were led across a really lovely wooden rope bridge, accross the mangroves, to the chalets. We were amazed ! Absolute paradise. The sort of place you hope does exist but doubt you'll ever find. We immediately booked for another two nights just in case it got booked up. We could have quite happily stayed a fortnight if we didn't have plans. The rooms are immaculate. Very well finished and all have a lovely outside private porch area with a day bed on. The beach bar is lovely. Very reasonably priced and beer always cold. A random selection of hammocks, day beds and chairs and tables. The beach goes on for miles with hardly any one else on it ( mid November ). The restaurant is beautifully finished with tables and chairs, sofas and bean bags, no shoes, so very chilled out. The food was some of the best we had on our whole trip. You have to pre order rice and curry, which is fantastic. You also have to pre order Sri lankan breakfast the night before which we would highly recommend . Staff were all lovely and I would recommend thus place for couples, singles and families. Xxx

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
333 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 2 in Rekawa
717 reviews
0 mi away
Shiva's Beach Cabanas
Shiva's Beach Cabanas
#5 of 140 in Tangalle
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#3 of 140 in Tangalle
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets

Address: Kapuhenwela | Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: $43 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Hotel Tangalle
Mangrove Beach Cabanas And Chalets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing