We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on a beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Everything is great at Mangrove Cabanas! We have just spent 3 nights there and we would recommand it to all of our friends!
We had Cabana #9 which is the best: beautiful room, beautiful open bathroom, beach is beautiful (although you can not swim in it: too wavy), and very nice bed area in front of the bungalow.
The guys working there are super nice and very helpful. They make good food, very fresh (you have to order what you want a few hours before). If you like rice and curry, order it when they cook it: one of the best I had In Sri Lanka!
They can also wash your laundry if you ask (cheap).
It's a very good price for the place!
Breakfast is not included (and quite slow... But you are on holiday, right?)
We had paid via Paypal before coming to Sri Lanka (70€ per night) and booked it 2 monthes and a half earlier. It was fully booked when we were there so you better make a reservation if you want a chance to stay here!
One last advise : if you want to swin In the sea, take a tuk tuk (1000 roupies, which is about 6€, for both ways) to spend a day at Goyambokka beach (have lunch there at Rock view cafe)!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 563 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a lovely place right be the beach. The chalet rooms are very cool and specious. The breakfast beach bar is lovely and a perfect location to enjoy the surf view from. The sea and sand is very rough, so not ideal for swimming or walking. I'd say Tallala beach is the best we have seen on the south coast so far.
The service is excellent and helpful and overall the place is great value for money. If you're in the area is deffinately one to ty and book.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

As your tuck tuck navigates the way to Mangrove Beach and Garden you wonder what kind of place you are going to. Can it really be as god as the photo's?

Well, the answer is yes, and I'm not going to spoil the surprise and wonder as you arrive.

All I will say is that it's a little more expensive than usual - and there isn't a shop nearby so take water and anything else you need with you. Obviously you can't store any snacks here - we found Pringle's or similar that are in a sealed tub the only safe things to jeep in your room, unless you have good plastic food boxes. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try and get a cabana with a sofa outside, ours just had a park bench type seat,but there is pleanty...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the cabanas for four nights and had a wonderful time. The location is beautiful and the beach front cabanas especially are great ( though if you have any mobility issues watch out for trap door down to bathroom). The staff at the cabanas are fantastic. There is a very laid back atmosphere which makes it so easy to relax. I wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoiraJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in a chalet for 1 night and a cabana for 3 nights. The chalet was definitely much more comfortable than the cabana in terms of space, bed, bathroom, mosquito net, distance from restaurant etc. The bathroom in the cabana is an unusual design. A very heavy trap door in the floor which you have to pull up to open, leads to a set of stairs going down to the bathroom. This can be tricky to manouvre particularly at night time. Also the cabanas are very close to the restaurant unlike the chalets so at night time can be very noisy.

Friendly staff and very good food - particularly the aubergine and pineapple curry and also the jack fruit curry which comes in the 'rice and curry' selection.

The beach was breathtakingly beautiful and very quiet so an excellent location.

Room Tip: If you choose the cabanas, ask for one away from the restaurant to avoid the noise late in the night...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HReens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After a roundtrip through Sri Lanka my friend and I found paradise at Mangrove Chalets.
The rooms close to the beach are neat and clean, in the chalets with hot water (good after massage), the staff is very helpful and friendly. The food is excellent. Breakfast and lunch you get at the beachbar, you can end your perfect day on the beach with a cocktail while watching the sunset. Later the lagoon restaurant is open, with a nice and romantic view on the illuminated lagoon.
We enjoyed our stay and hope to come back soon for more than only 3 days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the chalets for 3 nights during a 3 week holiday to Sri Lanka. The chalets are basic, clean and very comfortable. The location is just perfect being on a beach which is just a tropical paradise.....
The food in the restaurant is fantastic and the service is just great.
Mangrove chalets really are a very special place to stay. I would heartily recommend staying here for complete relaxation in a spectacular environment. I'm planning a return trip here as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelyn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 22 in Tangalle
328 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 22 in Tangalle
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 2 in Rekawa
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 134 in Tangalle
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiva's Beach Cabanas
Shiva's Beach Cabanas
#5 of 134 in Tangalle
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets

Address: Kapuhenwela | Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: $38 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Hotel Tangalle
Mangrove Beach Cabanas And Chalets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing