We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Peaceful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great place to stay with views over the sea. Lovely quiet beach, no hassle. Great rooms, although basic for the price, you pay for location. This really is a great place to stay, a piece of paradise. Make use of the free kayaks available and explore the mangroves. We hired a scooter for Rs1200 a day which was a great way to see the local area and felt safe, helmets provided. Roads quite quiet here. Tried to visit the turtle sanctuary but couldn't find it!!!! Attractions not signposted well in this area. It can be quite dangerous swimming here due to the undercurrents but there is a natural pool protected by rocks right in front of the beach bar so you can still appreciate the warm water. Not suitable for very young children though as there are still some currents. great sun loungers with cushions. Would recommend. We did have a problem with bugs in our room on our second night and in hindsight we should have reported it immediately and they would have moved us straight away. We reported it the next morning and moved us next door to another room. No problem after that. All round a lovely, romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ams81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    112
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
101
305
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are a family of five who spent 4 nights at Mangrove Beach. it was the highlight of our trip to Sri Lanka. The beach is stunning and the Chalets are new, well designed and well maintained. the whole beach is impeccably run. We only regretted we did not stay longer, because the other beaches we visited in Sri Lanka did not fare well in comparison...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timperley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place was amazing! We went for a couple of nights but wish we had stayed longer. We had chalet number 2 on the end of the beach closest to the beach hut bar. The beach was perfect and lagoon ideal for swimming in. The room was spacious and clean with a real feeling of being next to the ocean - you can here the waves at night.
The restaurant was lovely, they light up the lagoon at night and its the perfect chilled place to have some fresh fish or rice and curry.
The staff were great - very friendly and willing to help.
No criticisms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were so looking forward to this place. The location and food is great, and being right beside the safe swimming area is a real boon, and we saw guests from other places traipsing up the beach to come and swim in it. Without this area, swimming (when we went) would be impossible because of the rips. The chalets themselves, whilst new and, though basic, have what you need, are like dungeons. The use of grey polished concrete made me think we were being put in prison, and the flashes of colour on the curtains do not make up for it. I did see lots of paint tins though so maybe things will be brightened up. Nice touch to have a day bed but pity the mattress are ill fitting. Could do with more hammocks. The beds were comfy but the one ceiling fan was not over the bed so it was a real sweat pit at night. The chalets bar area is lovely at night, looking over the Mangroves, lit up by changing light colours from the bulbs. So, some quite heavy negatives but it appears to be the best place to stay here. The chalets and cabanas are about a 7 min walk from each other and you cannot safely use the beach to walk to them (if you could, they'd be 3 mins) as the inlet for the Mangroves splits the two sites.

Room Tip: I'd go for the Chalets over the Cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The beach cabanas were stunning - really clean with a large bathroom. They even put a hammock up on our porch for us. Just a few steps from the sea for sunbathing and a very short walk to the swimming area of the sea (just in front of an area of natural rocks, which stop the tide taking you out to sea.) Therefore safe for both children and adults to swim. The sri lankan breakfast was really tasty, and the' fish of the day' beautiful. Unfortunately it seemed we were out of season for lobster / crab. The food / drink was significantly more expensive than other places we stayed but worth it for the fact that you don't have to move anywhere. You can buy cheap bottled water from a small shop or guest house nearby though, as they only sell small glass bottles at the beach cabanas. Although the music wasn't played too loudly, the only suggestion we may make to the managers is whether they could have a think about their selection of music so it is a bit mellower and not put on repeat - or even have no music at all. The sound of the waves is beautiful itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

we stayed in mangrove chalets. beautiful, good beds, good daybed, good shower, no need to wear shoes in the resort because you actually 'live' on the sand of the beach between coconut palmtrees. very, very relaxing. we went everyday for an early morning swim, nobody on the beach except a local fisherman catching lobster, the sun, the sea, the waves ,the coffee, the very friendly and professionel staff, a place to feel happy. highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wonderful place, right on a stretch of breathtaking beautiful beach.
The chalets are very nice, chic and comfortable, with all the comforts and spotless clean.
The personnel is very nice and friendly, and the food simple but delicious.
But what has made our staying here really unique is that on Marakolliya beach, just a few minutes walking from the chalets, you could see wild sea turtles nesting and laying eggs at night!
Luxman, the hotel manager, and Dasum, after dinner took us on the beach to see sea turtles.
We walked on the deserted beach under a breathtaking starred sky, with just a small torch not to scare turtles, until we saw turtles tracks...we sat silently in the dark for a couple of hours, watching the two turtles nesting, laying eggs and going back to the sea. An unforgettable experience which is very rare in other places, and for which we say thanks to our wonderful guides Luxman and Dasum!
Francesca and Marianna

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frazz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
2.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 122 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets

Property: Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Address: Kapuhenwela | Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Hotel Tangalle
Mangrove Beach Cabanas And Chalets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing