We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience in Sri Lanka”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Beach Cabanas
Ranked #74 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Worst experience in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Although I loved the country and we spent a number of weeks staying in the Tangalle area, I would never stay at Coconut Beach cabanas again. The beach in front of the property was nice enough, but being the resort closest to the busy, filthy fishing harbor, where men were cleaning fish, it made us concerned of the cleanliness of the water. On the other side of the resort, the "lagoon" is actually a stagnant pool of water filled with floating garbage which often emits a definite odor.
The rooms were certainly new, large and comfortable but the overhead fan was inadequate to circulate the air at night. This necessitated sleeping with the windows wide open. Normally this would not concern me but after an incident with the manager, Dilum, we felt very uncomfortable. After we lodged a complaint with him about the cost, safety and organization of a tour he had organized he was very rude, aggressive and threatening. For the first time in my life, after many years of traveling, I was concerned that someone might actually attempt to enter our room at night. Needless to say we left in the morning.
The rooms and staff are fine but you can enjoy much better value for you money in other resorts in the area and also be made feel welcome as a guest, not as an intruder into someone's private fiefdom.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tywynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2010

this is our second time back, its as good as the first time we was there. the food is excellent and plenty of it. dilum and his family gave me a party as it was my birthday they broughy the monks in to bless me,nothing was to much trouble if you wanted a lift to town they would drop everything and take you in the tuc tuc .even there friends took us out to a wild life park where there is a lot of birds..evgerything about cbc was excellent.ow yes one more thing the day of my birthday a turtle came up the beach to lay her eggs which they do not normaly come to this beach,so we were very honoured to see this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndieoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Dirty, Surly management , loud party going on all night. People were urinating in front of the cabin.
Could not pay us to stay there again. We are easy to please and had no problem at any other place we stayed. Places like this will give Sri Lanka a bad name in tourism.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savannaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Although we were staying nearby we went here for lunch. The staff were welcoming and efficient and offered to show us around. The cabanas were lovely - making great use of the shape and space, and cool interiors. We had a prawn dish for lunch and it was fantastic! Nothing fancy, but so fresh and flavorsome... The restaurant - like the cabanas - are located between the sea and a lagoon...

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Just spent two weeks at coconut beach cabanas. Forget the main tourist areas and head to this beautiful bay east of Tangalle. A constant gentle breeze played through the coconut trees and provided a welcome respite from the heat of the sun. The cabanas were large, light, clean and airy with all mod-cons including a verandah, double bed and sofa bed, large bathroom, etc. Apparently the restaurant is new and we enjoyed fantastic food every day including fresh papayas, coconuts, bananas ets for breakfast and fresh seafood, English and local dishes at night. The staff are incredibly helpful and will cook anything you wish, drive you in the tuk-tuk and entertain you. Dilum looked after us brilliantly and arranges trips to anywhere in Sri Lanka. Peacocks, Kingfishers, monitor lizards and gekkos are evident in the lagoon behind the cabanas and you can take a non-touristy boat trip to view the wildlife at close range. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollymay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomshall, Sy
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We have just spent 3 relaxing weeks staying at Coconut Beach Cabanas. This small resort is in a great position. East of Tangalle it is the closest resort to both the harbour and the town. It also has the advantage of having the lagoon at the back which attracts wildlife, and the sea extremely close to both the lovely new restaurant and the modern attractive cabanas. The actual beach is quite narrow here but does not shelve so steeply as in some of the other places. It is therefore great for swimming although not suitable for young children all the time.
We usually ate in the restaurant as it was much cooler than in other places and the food is fairly similar wherever you eat. You can however, walk to a number of other eating places if you feel like a change. Our cook was happy to cook whatever we fancied and one evening we had a treat of small but delicious lobsters. Breakfast is invariably a huge
platter of fresh fruit,followed by eggs of your choice and toast .
There is a great hammock and a few comfortable sunbeds and chairs. The chairs on the verandahs are great for sitting , reading and gazing at the sea.
We found this place to be a perfect base for exploring the attractions of the area. We are
wildlife enthusiasts and some of the wildlife came to us. One morning a troop of monkeys were playing outside our cabana and every evening at 6pm the parakeets flew
in to roost in the coconut trees. We were woken in the morning by crows pecking at their reflection in the glass and occasionally we would spot a kingfisher fishing by the lagoon.
A large monitor lizard was often visble from the restaurant swimming in the lagoon and there were numerous small lizards sunning themselves in the garden.
Dilum took us to a beach nearby for snorkelling and we were able to go by tuk tuk to the
Turtle Beach at Rekawa where we were lucky enough to see a loggerhead turtle.There is a small bird reserve about 10k with no entrance fee where we saw a mongoose as well as a number of different bird species.Dilum the owner took us on a most successful trip to Yala where we were lucky enough to see 2 leopards and have the second one posing on a rock completely to ourselves. This trip also took in the bird reserve at Bundala where there were both crocodiles and elephants.A word of caution. If you attempt to go whale watching do go on a recognised whale watching boat. We paid almost the same to go on a small fishing boat which had no proper seats, no toilet, no shade and was frankly unsafe. We didn't see whales but we did get a marvellous view of thirty or so dolphins.
Coconut Cabanas is a relatively new resort. We were so glad we chose to stay there and
would advise you visit soon before it becomes more well known. If you are travelling from England we would advise you break your journey and stay a night in Columbo. The
road journey to Tangalle is long and arduous after a long flight.
Carl and Jenny. Surrey. UK

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorGomshall_Sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We booked here for four nights after looking at its web site and reading the excellent 100% reviews on Tripadvisor. What a disappointment. We were informed that the owner is no longer on site and that she has taken up a job in the uk and lives there.
From the reports on Tripadvisor we were expecting the cabanas to be very clean but there were animal droppings on the floor and on the wardrobe shelves which were covered in dust and grime, the glass shelf in the bathroom was covered in old soap marks and the window ledge was filthy.
Be warned, if you are disabled or a little unsteady on your feet you will go hungry as the restaurant is a concrete platform and is approached by set of very steep concrete steps with no hand rail.
We were served lunch on the beach while they cleaned the cabana, we noticed the lunch was not coming from the restaurant but from another part of the building. Considering that this was a Sri Lankan meal you think they would get this right "Oh no " the dhall was very watery, the food was inedible. This was the worst Sri Lankan meal we had in our one month visit. We do know about Sri Lankan food as we had our own Sri Lankan restaurant in the uk for nearly twenty years and I was born in Sri Lanka. At this point the co owner arrived and we told him that we are not prepared to stay. The only positive aspect of the visit is that he agreed with us and drove us elsewhere.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty room , poor food and the building site/restaurant
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrachandra2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornishpiskey, Owner at Coconut Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
In response to the detrimental review posted in November, as co-owner I immediately contacted a friend who had been staying long-term at CBC. She was able to tell me that standards of cleanliness were as good as ever, and improvements to the restaurant area continue to be made all the time. This left me wondering what the author of the review had expected - as we don't promote our cabanas to be on the same scale as a 5 star hotel, simply well kept, with genuinely friendly people in charge, who wish to give guests a wonderful experience of Sri Lankan hospitality. I know this review has resulted in some cancellations, however many more people are currently staying, and due to stay in the coming months. They have discussed this lady's comments with me, and have decided to make their own mind up, as I hope those of you reading this will also do. I intend to be at CBC myself in March 2010, and look forward to meeting our guests myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.0 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
0.0 mi away
Tranquality Chalets
Tranquality Chalets
#17 of 118 in Tangalle
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Cabanas

Property: Coconut Beach Cabanas
Address: Modara Road, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COCONUT BEACH CABANAS IS NOW UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP Four cabanas, and restaurant occupy this beachside development which is also situated alongside the lagoon, 5 minutes walk from the town of Tangalle. These newly built cabanas are high quality, environmentally friendly with solar hot water, solar lighting and equipment, and fridges for guest's comfort. The restaurant provides all requirements and specialises in fresh seafood. There is also evening entertainment; beach barbeques, and film shows throughout the week. Each cabana sleeps four, prices are based on week-long stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing