We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a gem of a low cost yoga retreat in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Point Beach Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Rocky Point is small and simple, the accommodation basic, but for people looking to chill, learn or practice ashtanga yoga in a wonderful location is is great. We are repeat visitors. It stands on a headland between 2 stunning beaches (5 minutes walk away. It also has its own little private beach - which is a bit rocky). On the more beautiful of the nearby beaches is the exclusive Aman hotel and nothing else. So if you want to treat yourself to a good coffee or cocktail they're on hand. In the hight season (Nov to March) Rocky Ppoint is usually full so you need to book and it's best if you are there for the yoga. Particularly good for singles because evening meal is communal - so easy mixing. The yoga teaching is great and you'll get more attention than you're used to from classes back home.

Room Tip: the 3 bungalows are quieter, airier and have their own terraces for privacy. The rooms are in a bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benjbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 84 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Rocky Point has transformed from a regular tourist place to one specialising in yoga over the last few years. It's basic, but fine and very good value. In season (ie between November and March) it's best to stay there only if you're intending doing yoga (ashtanga). In the quieter times outside those periods there may be room for non yogis. It's usually full throughout the winter so best to book in advance. It's on a headland between two beautiful beaches, one of which is location to the up market Aman hotel. Rocky Point won't be everyone's taste but if you want to chill, learn or practice yoga in stunning surroundings and not pay too much - it's great. The breakfasts are great and evening meal is eaten together pretty early simple rice and curry interspersed with European food. Singles find the communal atmosphere particularly welcoming.

Room Tip: The 3 bulgalows are bigger, quieter and airier and have their own terraces to retreat to for privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This property is a yoga retreat. I can understand that if you are not into Yoga and go just for a holiday that this property could leave you a little disappointed. The accomodation is basic and a little tired and it could be alot cleaner. The towels are old and in need of replacing and the rooms can get extreamly hot in the high season. But this is not why you should go. This place has a spirit a magic that you do not get in a regular tourist hotel. You are welcomed and treated as part of the community, I made many good friends during my stay. The food is wonderful and you are encouraged to eat together. The yoga is wonderful and had a great 2 weeks and felt restored and rejuvenated. I spent my morning practicing Ashtanga and my afternoons reading on silent beach which is an unspoilt paradise. I agree this is not a place for everyone. It is not a tourist hotel but if you are looking to live as part of the community and if you have a passion for Ashtanga yoga then this is the place for you. I will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I went over to this hotel after staying at the hotel next door, PPC, which acquired a number of loud beach bars and ruined the place and to my delight found another gem. The setting is so much better, nestled in a small valley / cove leading down to the idyllic palm fronted beach, which you share it with local friendly fishermen and is very safe to swim and does not suffer from sand flies unlike next doors.The hotel provides lots of kayaks to use and mess around with, The rooms are clean and spacious, set up the hill with large terraces and comfy beds and mozzie nets and window shutters. No hot water but as the weather is so warm a cool shower does the trick. The restaurant is terrific (mainly veggie but if asked will do meat courses) with the brother of the manager showing off his culinary skills including a fantastic veggie burger. The management are willing to do anything to please and make your stay enjoyable and are keen to promote the hotel as a hotel rather than hippy retreat, which it was known as for a long time and did not deserve. Their attitude is if we have not got it we will get it for you, and they did. There was an eclectic mix of guests mostly yoga types and dining is a group affair (unless the 6.30 dinner time is to early you can eat later alone) The few dogs despite what other guests have written are not aggressive, rather just shy and come around after they get use to you. Overall I found my stay there really nice and found it excellent value for money, very safe and well worth the small amount of money charged across the board. The management deserve a pat on the back for looking after me so well and i am definitely going back and can recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We planned to stay only for a few days. At the end we stayed 4 weeks.
Thanks you guys.
Special thanx from Bela to the gecko crew, Manuli and the "dangerous dogs" ;-).
Yes it was hot in the bugalows at night but who cares if you can sit outside
and enjoy the peaseful place on top of the beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This is a beautiful yoga center with secluded quiet beaches all around. Only a 8 minute walk away was a sandy paradise beach with almost no one on it. Great Yoga, delicious Rice and Curry, and a friendly welcoming staff greeted me.

I have read the other two reviews about Rocky Point Beach Bungalows (home of Ashtanga Lanka) and I want to say that my experience was the COMPLETE opposite. The people who wrote those reviews must have been there after the yoga season. Between November and March I am pretty sure there is a thriving community of yogis from around the world.

April can also be the hottest and most humid month of the year in Sri Lanka. There was a fan in my room but no air conditioning so I can understand that they were hot. Also, when there are very few guests around I can imagine that wild dogs of the area roam free around the jungle and can probably be annoying.

I would happily recommend this retreat to all my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This place is a disgrace to all genuine hotel owners. The people who own it are simply renting out substandard dirty overheated rooms to fund there own private lifestyle. They do not have any care or consideration for their guests whatsover---in fact they are considered a nuisance. There is not one redeeming factor I can mention. Unruly wild dogs that attack guests,rocky unusable beach,hot uncomfortable rooms and rude owners.

Stayed: March 2010
3  Thank dis1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
0.9 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#12 of 23 in Tangalle
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tangalle
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
2.8 mi away
Shehani Beach Bungalow
Shehani Beach Bungalow
#18 of 23 in Tangalle
19 reviews
11.9 mi away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Point Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Point Beach Bungalows

Address: | Rocky Point Beach, Goyambokka, Tangalle 82000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range: $35 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rocky Point Beach Bungalows Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing