We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor doesn't describe Ganesh Garden's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor doesn't describe Ganesh Garden's”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rude, arrogant and aggressive is a better description.

The impression location of the venue is destroyed by the rude and arrogant staff at Ganesh. To describe why I thought this...

- Orders for food (or tea) take at least 90 mins
- The owner asked our driver to leave the venue as he was informing us about other locations in Sri Lanka (which weren't Ganesh)
- The NY celebration went from a chilled party on the beach to the local hangout for revellers that had had too much drink & drugs til 6am
- Rooms dirty and cleaned once a week

Do yourself a favour and try somewhere else

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    144
    43
    15
    17
See reviews for
62
242
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed some days in tangalle @ ganesh garden and really enjoyed it.
the hut was clean and nice in a palm garden.
the food was very good and the service excellent.
the staff was very nice and very helpful with organisation of scooter, driver, day trips etc....
you have direct access to the beach with hammocks to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Actually I am writing right from the Ganesh garden, we where supposed to stay here just one night but we extended our stay captured by the super chilled vibe and the beauty of the place. All the cabanas are hidden in a beautiful palm garden right on the beach where squirrels play. Our cabana was clean and very cozy. The staff is chilled and very professional. The bar / restaurant is very good and shows a beautiful natural architecture as all the place, nothing to share with the mangroves one where we've been yesterday: too much touristy and made to be liked by european tourists. 
Best choice in tangalla.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fdonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We nearly stayed one week in ganesh garden and it was beautiful. When you want calm down, it is perfect. The beach is nice, the restaurant ist good. It take a little time to get your meal, but we are on holiday. The cabanas is build out of nature thinks, the beds are comftable.
The people in ganesh garden were very friendly. My wife was ill in these days and the ganesh people bring us to pharmacy an bring the foot in our cabanas. Thank you for that.

The cabanas cost now 40, 50 and 60 US Dollar. The prices for die meals are normal standard for Sri Lanka, the drinking is all little bit more than in mirissa or unawatuna.

We were also here on new years day and I am wondering about the two last comments ("Horrible"). At every night was totally quiet in ganesh garden. At december, 31th it was a great new years day party. About 300 people made a big party at the beach and in at the restaurant of ganesh garden. And at 3.30 a.m. it was quiet, not at 5.30 a.m. And there was no loud music. But for all the people it was no problem, because it was new years day !!! Everybody had a nice party, O.K., except of two people.

We come here, because a friend of mine in Frankfurt, Germany, recommend ganesh garden.
And it is the same paradise, they told us.

schelli from frankfurt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This has been by far the worst place I have ever stayed in, coming into the site the gardens and beach are lovely and the niceness ends there. We stayed on New years eve night, little did we know that this guest house also serves as a nightclub on the 31st of December, we almost got beaten up for asking to turn down the music at 5:30 am, What a horrible way to begin our new year !

The hut itself was very dirty, with little light coming in and the staff never come in to clean it. As for the restaurant, well you better order your breakfast and lunch together as your lunch could very well take 2-3 hours to be served to you and this is with no one else there so i am not quite sure what they were busy with.

Save yourself the time , trouble and money and go next door!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethanne95
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights leading up to New Year's Eve during a 2 week tour of Sri Lanka, and I'm sorry to say that we received the worst customer service here that I've encountered almost anywhere (and we travel extensively and worked in customer service for 15+ years). It was very obvious that the management cares only about earning money, and not about providing good customer service.

We were supposed to stay 3 nights, but it ended up being 2. When we checked in, the manager said something to the effect of "You are so lucky you got this room at the price you did ($45) because I could sell it now for much more." We laughed, and said yes, we booked early and were happy about the price. Fast forward to our 3rd day, which was New Year's Eve. The manager approached us at breakfast and said that he thought we wouldn't be very happy staying there that night because there was going to be a very loud party with a DJ going until 6am the next morning, and our room was basically right next to the restaurant where the music would be. I found this unfortunate, because they should have told us this when we made the reservation, and I obviously would have chosen to stay elsewhere. We're in our mid-thirties, and enjoy a good time as much as anyone, but we were focused on relaxing during this trip and didn't love the idea of a DJ outside our room until sunrise.

So the manager tried to convince us to move to a separate cabana at another soon-to-be-built hotel down the road, that was in the middle of a construction zone with trash everywhere. Not okay. This is when is also became very apparent that they wanted us out of our room so they could rebook it at a much higher price and try to sell more tickets to their NYE party (we were opting not to by the tickets). The manager even said, "You need to let us know if you're checking out so we can rebook your room." Also not okay. So, we proceeded to spend half of our last day in Tangalle looking for a new room so we could sleep that night, which we eventually found (the wonderful little Eagles Nest Cabanas). As we were packing up, the owner had the nerve to approach us and say "You need to hurry up, I'm losing money." I couldn't believe he would be so rude, but he was. The whole situation was handled very, very poorly and believe me, I'm about the most patient and forgiving person there is.

A few other notes: when we checked in, the toilet seat was broken and just resting on the toilet, and fell off every time you tried to use it. We reported this twice and they never fixed it during our visit. And, as others have mentioned, the food here is not good and overpriced. We asked for a little more sauce for our watery plate of pasta and were told no, that's not available. My husband asked for cheese in his omelet, and was told that's not part of the set breakfast menu, he'd have to order everything a la carte and at a much higher price if he wanted cheese. Again, just an example of the poor customer service here.

It saddens me to write this since we were really looking forward to our stay here and writing bad reviews is not my thing -- it's my first :( -- but I wanted to report what happened to us and how were were treated by Ganesh Gardens management so others can make informed decisions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bethanne95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't agree more with the person above.

We planned to stay only a couple of days and end up staying a week. Ganesh Garden is found a km or so north of the fishing village on the beach. It's distant location is perfect with not a soul around, we were often the only people on the beach. ideal for relaxing. Close to Tangalla. Nice cabanas, great restaurant - abundant fresh fish and seafood. Friendly helpful and attentive staff to help make your holiday a memorable experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAASBandara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.4 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 133 in Tangalle
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
0.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#3 of 120 in Tangalle
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas

Property: Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Address: Madilla Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesh Garden Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing