We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Nearby Hotels
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$63
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Sigiriya(Sigiriya)
$66
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$72
$42
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$84
$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$266
$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,629)
Filter reviews
1,629 results
Traveler rating
1,279
265
59
21
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,279
265
59
21
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest dwellingprivate poolour honeymoonwater dwellingresident crocodilepaddy fieldssunken bathoverlooking the lakesri lankaon stiltsslender loriseco hotelnature reservegolf buggynight walkcultural triangleopen plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 1,629 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in a forest villa so that we could visit Dambulla, sigiryia and pollonaruwwa. I was concerned about wildlife due to some other reviews. Our experience was that there were less bugs than in many other Sri Lankan properties and we really enjoyed the extras we did see like the peacock, the land monitor, the geckos and fire flies. If you want to see some of the wildlife in a safe and very comfortable setting then Vil Uyana is perfect. The villa was huge a lovely bathroom and an outdoor private pool which we really enjoyed. The setting is private but a quick call and the buggy will pick you up to get to the pool/restauran or to bring a bottle of wine.
The downside of the rooms was the very large indoor pond which did look a little grubby and the fact that there was virtually no space to hang or unpack clothes despite the bedroom being huge. We lived out of our suitcase. A full lengh mirror would also have been appreciated.
The food in the restaurant was nice and the ambience in the evening with live music was enjoyable. It was a shame that the downstairs sofas were so uncomfortable for pre/post dinner drinks and the bar was cut off in a cold room downstairs from the restaurant. we did not see any games etc available.The set meal option was very reasonable cost wise about £13 for 4 courses the deserts were not great but the curries were lovely.
I used the spa for a facial which was lovely and relaxing I fell asleep about 3 times. The main pool was really nice better than the photos large with a lovely outlook. pool side a drinks service would have been perfect.
This was a really good location for cultural sightseeing we enjoyed the sigiryia rock and gardens more than Dambulla and pollonaruwwa.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Did not expect much after long hours of drive and we arrived in front of a gazebo with no one to greet us. After we were driven to the main lobby building that is when all of our earlier impressions changed in 360 degree. The staffs were friendly and helpful. We stayed at marsh villas. We liked everything about our room. It is very different from other 5 stars hotels we have ever stayed. It is a place one must see to enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This is a place you love or hate. The rooms (paddy) are very quirky - a designer gone mad who doesn't know about real travellers eg virtually no hanging space, no drawers, open air bathrooms - cool bedroom to tropical conditions in a second, internal ornamental mosquito breeding pool - why? Our room (140) was on three levels - a virtual death trap especially at night - trip hazards, unprotected stairs etc etc.

Also the other side of a lake from the main facilities. We had very early starts (stayed 3 nights) and the getting there and back for breakfast each time was a pain. Yes the hotel has buggy transport but we have legs and want to use them.

Food nothing special and service average.

To be honest a lot of the problem was how we used the hotel. We were out early and in late. I think had we been using it as a place of relaxation we would have thought differently. In the hotel blurb it says "If you have walking difficulties etc then let us know in advance (how would you know this?) and we will allocate you a room near the central facilities". This DIDN'T happen for one couple with difficulties we spoke to..

So in summary think about how you will use the hotel. In our view not so good as a base. If any difficulties over walking, balance or poor eyesight SOME of the rooms could be dangerous for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Arrived after a long and interesting drive from Colombo - 6 hours. As soon as we arrived there was a wonderful welcome. The 'villas' are large and well appointed. Food was varied and a balanced menu was offered for each meal. This was all served by an attentive team. The jewel here is the resident Naturalist, H.G. Chaminda Jayasekara, who put together a great tour of the cultural triangle along with a knowledgeable view of the local wild life. Sigiriya rock fortress is a must......

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailorman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

WE recently spent a month in Sri Lanka. Vil Uyana was the second stay in a total of seven hotels. From the photos given in the brochures, we did not have very high expectations of the hotel. How wrong we were! From the minute we arrived, we were captivated by every aspect of this hotel.
We stayed in a forest room, though actually it was a villa, complete with its own swimming pool. Staff were a delight and keen to do their absolute best for us. The food was excellent. I cannot praise this place too highly. Some of the other so called 5* hotels that we stayed in should look to this hotel as an example of what they ought to be providing. I am a fan. I would suggest that Jetwing get their act together on marketing this place, our choice was based more on luck than information provided in brochures.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews