We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular retreat in very special setting”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular retreat in very special setting”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I originally was not keen to go to Sigiriya but my travelling friend convinced me. Turns out staying here was one of the highlights of my entire Sri Lanka trip!!!! This hotel is just beautiful. The location is about 10 minutes drive to both Sigiriya and Pidurangala Rock. Our driver Shalu (who we thought was amazing and owns Heritage Lanka Tours) told us about Pidurangala rock and climbed it with us. Thank you Shalu, we agreed this was a must see and it was wonderful to have someone who knows exactly what adventurous, curious travelers want to see and do. Compared to the costly US$30 fee to climb Sigiriya, this sister rock is only US$2 and a GREAT climb. Tip: Climb Pidurangala Rock one afternoon and then do Sigiriya early the next morning. In that order is best. We watched the sun go down on Pidurangala Rock and it was amazing. Take a torch light for climbing down if you do this.
Back to the hotel. Vil Uyana is a very tranquil spot with some truly amazing bird watching. The food was world class and the scenery stunning!!! We spend 2 nights here, which felt like just the right amount of time. I had a massage in the Spa, which was one of the nicest massages ever and we did Yoga on the bridges between the chalets every morning...with only the birds as spectators. The Wine cellar at this hotel is great and stocked with wines from all over the world.
I will certainly be returning to this hotel, next time I am brining all 10 of my family members too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleNortmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Our team is extremely happy to know that you were impressed with our consistently high service standards. Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Jetwing Hotels and it is always rewarding to learn that it has been achieved from our customer service and the product we offer.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana in the future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    227
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
265
956
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel has a unique design which exposes you to the beauty of Mother Nature. The quiet environment (even when it’s fully booked) makes it a great spot for readers and for those who are interested in meditation.

The public lobby facing the man-made lake has good collection of literature.
It is also a perfect choice if you are interested in exploring wildlife – The hotel has some programs which may suit your needs. The food is excellent and the staff is very courteous and supportive.

The room rates are slightly over rated I guess – It may worth if you are looking for a unique hotel with a unique design in a unique environment.

If you are new to this part of this beautiful Island you better contact the hotel to get the directions as otherwise it will be bit of a concern to find it.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a private pool you should NOT opt for a dwelling in the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Mune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Public Relations Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to welcome you to Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the overall facilities and the service of our friendly and professional associates who are always dedicated to provide the best service to our loyal customers.

As you have mentioned one of the unique features of the hotel are our unique design and the different categories of dwellings such as Forest, Water, Paddy, Marsh andGarden which gives its own unique experience.

Once again, we are happy that your stay was such a success and that you took the time to appreciate the splendor of Mother Nature that surrounds the property.

We truly look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Family.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic walking tour with Chaminda the resident naturist, we were lucky enough to see 5 loris's including a pair of twins.
Also saw jackets, peacocks, Indian mongoose, crocodile and monkeys.
Excellent all round. Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

It is a long drive from Colombo, 5 hours but most definately worth it as this is a fantastic Eco hotel to rest and take in the beautiful surroundings.
We stayed in the Garden Villa which was lovely in every respect. simple in design but restful and we spent time relaxing by the lily pond as the verandah has sofas and chairs. The small pond has plenty of wild wild life so watch. Palm squirrels running around and peacocks calling loud and clear. There seems to be a resident cat that sleeps on our terrace each evening but that all adds to the charm.
We celebrated my husbands birthday and the staff were very sweet and decorated our room with flowers and produced a lovely birthday cake which was a great surprise.
We opted to have half board and were delighted with the really high quality of food and the superb menus. We stayed four days and were really well and truly rested for our trek back to Colombo.
Staff were very welcoming and worth checking out the fantastic wine celler which the bar man is happy to give a tour of.
Will return that's for sure. There are Eco walks and tours that the hotel will sort for you and if you have time go on the evening tours to seek out the endangered loris mammals.
I would though recommend that the hotel put together a small guide to the region in the villa bedrooms or in the library.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Public Relations Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Jetwing Vil Uyana on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you were happily surprised with your stay looking around the area and enjoying the surroundings. Most of our guests are nature lovers as this location provides many opportunities for great wildlife and nature viewing.

We are proud that the design and the architecture of this property is the creation of a Sri Lankan architect and she has won a great challenge in putting up an eco luxury hotel in a wetland eco system.

We hope to see you return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you are looking for a 5* hotel in this area, look no further. The service is excellent, the restaurant, and the food, are what I expect from a hotel of this rating, and then a little more.
Rooms/lodges are superb, with interesting "open air bathrooms" in ours, and a private plunge pool with the occasional visitor on the patio (think lizard and you will be close...). We spent 3 nights at this excellent hotel.
Monkeys visit the complex, and there is the opportunity to go for walks with a local nature guide/expert, which we missed due to lack of time, but other guests were very complimentary.
Dont miss this hotel, our driver, who has 18yrs experience, told us that our view was shared by many of his clients, and also by him.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a plunge pool around the main lake, I think we stayed in 138, and that seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DroitwichRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments and your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you were happily surprised with your stay.
Most of guests are well attracted by the nature as this location provides many opportunities for the nature lover as you have mentioned. The environment has been well settled for the bird life and other wild life as well.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Dambulla area there is no other hotel which is able to offer what Vil Uyana has to offer. The room/villa's are excellent. They have plunge pool, a private dinning area, a large bathroom in the lower level of the villa. The upper level has the bedroom and is overlooking the lovely surroundings in which the hotel is located in. The room has everything you expect from a luxury hotel. I have stayed at this hotel three times and if I were to pick a one flaw in this hotel this would be it, some villas are not as private as the others. In my two previous stays I stayed in the villa and felt as if we were to the only people in the hotel even though the hotel was full but on my last stay I was given a villa which had two other villas overlooking my private plunge pool and I could hear the other people. From my three previous stays this is the only negative comment I have for this hotel. The food is excellent and the variety is great. The service from the staff is excellent are always very quick and efficient. Plus, this hotel is a great base from which to explore many parts of Sri Lanka and is highly recommended for couples and honeymooners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana. On behalf of the entire team I wish to thank you for selecting Jetwing Vil Uyana as part of your holiday and the lovely review posted on Trip Adviser.

Each of the five dwellings Forest, Water, Paddy, Marsh& Garden provides its own unique experience with its own design and location. Forest dwelling being our highest category with the Private pool has a higher demand among our guests. Although you visit us regularly, we are disappointed to hear that your last visit was not up to your expectations. As you know that our rooms are based on different locations and we will be allocating the rooms according to the availability of the particular day. Therefore the room which was remaining on your arrival date would have been allocated for you. Anyhow we apologize for the dissatisfaction of your last visit and we will make sure to allocate a better room on your next visit.

As a repeat guest of our hotel, once again we invite you to come as it was a pleasure having you and staying with us.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Vil Uyana by Jetwing is one of the best hotels one can stay in Sri Lanka. Located in a wetland / forest combination land off Sigiriya Road Vil Uyana comprise of fabulous chalets on Water, in Forest and in Garden. We were in the Chalet in the forest where there was a personal plunge pool. The design of the Chalet is unique and awesome. The bed room is extremely comfortable.
The service is extremely good and the food is great, with each and every dish a masterpiece.
It is a birders paradise where you can walk with groups of Peacocks and Peahens who are not scared of humans.They are all over. Roof tops, roads, treetops, at your front door ...... There are paradise fly catchers, Orioles, Leaf Birds, Moor hens, Asian Open Bill, Egrets, Fish owl, white bellied Sea Eagle, Woolly necked ibis, Black necked ibis and so many others. Vil Uyana is a place where one can watch Red Slender Loris ( Loris tardigradus ) at close distance almost every day at night. Chaminda, the biologist helps whoever is interested in bird watching with his knowledge in the field.
We will stay again and again at this place.....................

Room Tip: Chalet In Forest with the plunge pool would be the best close to the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave behind some lovely thoughts about your stay. We truly appreciate your comments and all your recommendations. Our different categories of dwellings provide a unique different experience for our valued guests.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed our food and the services provided during your stay. Our team is well dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to know your compliments. We always talk to each and every guest and make sure that all their requirements are fulfilled to keep them happy.

Thank you Again and we await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,587 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,483 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#3 of 19 in Sigiriya
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
412 reviews
5.1 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing