We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd live here forever...”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Vil Uyana is most certainly the crown jewel of the Jetwing Hotel group (Blue and Lagoon are also fantastic. I look forward to staying at Yala and Lighthouse). When Jetwing first developed the hotel they really came through on their Corporate Social Responsibility, training local people to work in the hotel, feeding back into the community that they chose to join.

As per Jetwing's ethos, you experience true Sri Lankan personalised service here, the hotel - from it's setting; decor to staff and food are nothing short of spectacular and incredibly authentic.

Vil Uyana is close to Minneriya National Park so make sure you book a jeep safari to go and see the 250+ elephants. When Vil Uyana as being made, they found Lorises on the site, so they stopped the construction of an additional 4 villas in order to maintain the habit for these adorably hilarious creatures so make sure you take an hour out in the evening (a great thing to do before dinner) to go around the Loris reserve with the hotel's resident naturalist (incredibly friendly and knowledgeable).

I'll be surprised if you ever want to leave.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for beautifully detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you have great memories even after some time of your visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana. I take the opportunity to thank you for your patronage, which means a lot to us and we will share this with the entire team of the hotel.

You are absolutely right, I personally agree with you, probably we are the best accommodation in the area and anyone who stays never wants to leave.

Jetwing Vil Uyana is a different creation with the wetland concept of, where we are trying to provide the eco-reserve, bio diversity experience around the area to our guests. Thus we have an incredibly large bird population.

Please let us know when you need any assistance in Sri Lankan, we at Jetwing are more than happy to help you. It was a pleasure having you and we will be delighted to welcome you back.

It was our pleasure to make your holiday a memorable and pleasant experience. I thank you once again for your feedback and we await your next visit to host in Sigiriya Once again.

You’re sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Vil Uyana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you're looking for a luxury hide away, this is it. We stayed at the rain forest villa, its completely away from civilization. In fact you need to call up the buggy to get about from point A to B, makes it the ideal place for long walks. The rooms itself are huge, the villa we were in had its own private plunge pool and a large bubble bath tub. The view from the top floor bed room was amazing.

We chose the option of having a 5-course dinner on top of the tree house. The food was exquisite and was a very novel experience. We found out that the option of dinner in the tree was only available during certain seasons.

Everything is made to order and the Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Ideal place to completely cut away and relax.

Room Tip: The rainforest suites have its own private pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanimA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we were able to turn your moments with us in to a lasting memory. There is nothing that wars our heart more than a guest who truly appreciate all our efforts. Jetwing Vil Uyana is a unique experience on its own, greatly due to luxurious private dwellings and its proximity to the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka.

We are definitely different to most other hotels because of our unique concept and the feature of the property. Our cuisine at Jetwing Vil Uyana is another key ingredient to our customer satisfaction. As you have mentioned apart from the fine dining restaurant we have other different dining options as well, which you can get a great experience. Such as Spa Dining, Tree Hut dinner, Cellar Dining, Starlight dinner & Villa dining,this will add an additional experience.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana as part of your holiday and look forward to welcoming you once again to Jetwing family

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

my wife and i decided to stay vil uyana for a night to relax on our way from jafna to colombo. we specially took this route to go to vil uyana as we had heard so much about it and we never got a chance to make it there before. as always we were never disappointed with jet wing group of hotels hospitality. the friendliness of the staff the service we got was really good. for us that's a big part on a great holiday. only little problem was the room we chose, we took the most expensive category room but because of the indoor pond there were too many toads everywhere which really freaked out my wife. we had an early check out as a result of this. but we requested to see the other rooms and we will definitely be back for a holiday. its is a honey moon paradise. not too child friendly though. but for couples its amazing.

Room Tip: there are many different category of rooms. all are similiar except for a few exceptions like the on...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your experienced at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Adviser. The heart of Jetwing brand always been unmatched hospitality and we are grateful you believe we have achieved that standards. Thank you for your kind words.
We are happy that you have enjoyed the overall facilities and the service of our friendly and professional associates who are always dedicate to provide the best service.

However we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope that you will visit us again.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The best hotel so far, excellent rooms and your own swimming pool for each individual chalet. very helpful staff with great location. All the tourist attractions are nearby. If you could book the hotel when they have the paddy field harvesting happening, I think that would be the best experience one could have. So don't miss out the rise harvesting seasons. Only thing I don't like is the bathroom, which does not give you your privacy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyangaCFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments that you have shared with the rest of the world.

We are trying to offer you a different experience than other hotels in aspects such as food, accommodation and service etc. However we are greatly aware and proud of our biggest differentiating factor; our location and ambience. When looking at your review ,we feel very proud of our effort and will be continuing with to do our best.

For your next visit I would recommend a Forest Dwellings, which are located in the dense, rich foliage and are uniquely 2 floors with more space with an extra toilet upstairs or a Garden dwelling with an attached closed-doorbathroom.

Please do contact us for any assistance you may need and we look forward to welcome you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana as it was a pleasure having you.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here and really enjoyed every minute of it! It was exactly what we were expecting for out luxury honeymoon hotel. We loved the little plunge pool outside our room, as well as the main pool.

The room was HUGE which was great, with really a really comfy bed, an enormous bath and lots of lovely little touches. They had made us a cake to congratulate us on out nuptials and they decorated the bed with flowers every day.

The food was delicious!! Though there was a lot of it and we found it quite expensive by Sri Lankan standards. The downside is that you are not really able to go out of the hotel complex for dinner, hence you have to eat here and pay!

This really is a relaxing and amazing place to stay where you can get out and about see some wildlife (or stay within the complex-we say 2 enormous water monitor lizards just walking to the main building!!) we saw wild elephants as we were driving home one evening, and we even heard the farmers in the trees singing to keep them away!

They really did think of everything, with hats and sarongs to use, sweets on the pillow in the evening as well as the usual shampoo and conditioners!

The room was open plan, which meant that just around the corner from the bed you went to the toilet with no door, so it's ok if you're quite open!!

All in all, we would recommend this hotel, it really was one of the most relaxing parts of our honeymoon!

Claire and Craig

Room Tip: We had a 'superior room' which has the plunge pool outside. Not all do.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place has certainly the WOW factor!
The setting is absolutely stunning and the grounds are perfectly maintained.
We were impressed at first sight.

We opted for a forest dwelling which was nice but I'm not sure it's worth the extra cost.
Our villa (n°139) wasn't so private and the outside bathroom was not so pratical as I'm not big fan of bugs. Also the private pool swimming pool was not so inviting as it was next to the road.
Maybe next time we will go for a water dwelling.

We were pleasantly surprised by the food at dinner. Don't forget to book the half board.
We had the breakfast in the room at no extra cost while a family of monkeys was playing in the trees. Nice!

We were slightly disappointed with the service which was ok but not so friendly and efficient as in the other hotels we visited in Sri Lanka (specially at the reception and the restaurant).

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for its incredible setting and an early visit to Sigiriya (only 10 min drive). Be sure to be at the entrance of the rock at 7 AM to avoid the crowd.

Room Tip: The forest dwelling 140 seemed to be the most private
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband thought that Pablo Picasso might have designed the Forest Dwelling in another life. The chalet is split on two levels. Entering the area there is a plunge pool with sun loungers and cosy armchairs. Entering the actual building provided a pleasant surprise. There was a small pond planted with lotus. The area was devoted to ablutions with a shower, large bath and two sinks. The shower has both a rainfall and hand shower. The bath would easily fit two. Plenty of room for any toiletries. There is also a toilet.

Upstairs is a large room with double bed complete with mosquito nets. There are two doors which lead on to two small balconies complete with armchairs and leg rests in the shape of sacks. One drawback is the lack of drawer space although there would be plenty of room under the shelf that runs down one side. There is a separate toilet as well. Very comfortable and the maid service was excellent. We did play hunt the minibar which turned out to be in the outside area opposite the front door!!

WiFi is available in the main building. We relied on buggies to transport us to the main building which houses the restaurant and other public facilities. This was due to our location. With a resident crocodile and snakes we thought it prudent not to walk at night.

Wildlife is everywhere. Bats fly over the estate at dusk while the loris conservation project (see separate entry) deserves special mention and merit. It is possible to on loris spotting although a sighting cannot be guaranteed. They are so small and vulnerable. The naturalist is very knowledgable.

Food is good. Breakfast is up to you in determining how much one wants to eat. Dinner selection is varied and there are tasting menus.

For this area this is an excellent place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review on Trip adviser, which is a joy to read through. Also we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Most of guests are well attract by the nature as this location provides many opportunities for the nature lovers. As you have mentioned being an eco hotel our priorities are connected to nature activities which why we have our own eco- professional, the resident naturalist who specializes in all nature related topics. The Gray Slender Loris is the unique feature at Jetwing Vil Uyana.
And also our team is well dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance and our cuisine at Jetwing Vil Uyana is another key ingredient to our customer satisfaction.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and it was our pleasure to make your holiday a memorable and pleasant experience. Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Yours sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
425 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $282 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing