We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here and really enjoyed every minute of it! It was exactly what we were expecting for out luxury honeymoon hotel. We loved the little plunge pool outside our room, as well as the main pool.

The room was HUGE which was great, with really a really comfy bed, an enormous bath and lots of lovely little touches. They had made us a cake to congratulate us on out nuptials and they decorated the bed with flowers every day.

The food was delicious!! Though there was a lot of it and we found it quite expensive by Sri Lankan standards. The downside is that you are not really able to go out of the hotel complex for dinner, hence you have to eat here and pay!

This really is a relaxing and amazing place to stay where you can get out and about see some wildlife (or stay within the complex-we say 2 enormous water monitor lizards just walking to the main building!!) we saw wild elephants as we were driving home one evening, and we even heard the farmers in the trees singing to keep them away!

They really did think of everything, with hats and sarongs to use, sweets on the pillow in the evening as well as the usual shampoo and conditioners!

The room was open plan, which meant that just around the corner from the bed you went to the toilet with no door, so it's ok if you're quite open!!

All in all, we would recommend this hotel, it really was one of the most relaxing parts of our honeymoon!

Claire and Craig

Room Tip: We had a 'superior room' which has the plunge pool outside. Not all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    220
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
257
932
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place has certainly the WOW factor!
The setting is absolutely stunning and the grounds are perfectly maintained.
We were impressed at first sight.

We opted for a forest dwelling which was nice but I'm not sure it's worth the extra cost.
Our villa (n°139) wasn't so private and the outside bathroom was not so pratical as I'm not big fan of bugs. Also the private pool swimming pool was not so inviting as it was next to the road.
Maybe next time we will go for a water dwelling.

We were pleasantly surprised by the food at dinner. Don't forget to book the half board.
We had the breakfast in the room at no extra cost while a family of monkeys was playing in the trees. Nice!

We were slightly disappointed with the service which was ok but not so friendly and efficient as in the other hotels we visited in Sri Lanka (specially at the reception and the restaurant).

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for its incredible setting and an early visit to Sigiriya (only 10 min drive). Be sure to be at the entrance of the rock at 7 AM to avoid the crowd.

Room Tip: The forest dwelling 140 seemed to be the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband thought that Pablo Picasso might have designed the Forest Dwelling in another life. The chalet is split on two levels. Entering the area there is a plunge pool with sun loungers and cosy armchairs. Entering the actual building provided a pleasant surprise. There was a small pond planted with lotus. The area was devoted to ablutions with a shower, large bath and two sinks. The shower has both a rainfall and hand shower. The bath would easily fit two. Plenty of room for any toiletries. There is also a toilet.

Upstairs is a large room with double bed complete with mosquito nets. There are two doors which lead on to two small balconies complete with armchairs and leg rests in the shape of sacks. One drawback is the lack of drawer space although there would be plenty of room under the shelf that runs down one side. There is a separate toilet as well. Very comfortable and the maid service was excellent. We did play hunt the minibar which turned out to be in the outside area opposite the front door!!

WiFi is available in the main building. We relied on buggies to transport us to the main building which houses the restaurant and other public facilities. This was due to our location. With a resident crocodile and snakes we thought it prudent not to walk at night.

Wildlife is everywhere. Bats fly over the estate at dusk while the loris conservation project (see separate entry) deserves special mention and merit. It is possible to on loris spotting although a sighting cannot be guaranteed. They are so small and vulnerable. The naturalist is very knowledgable.

Food is good. Breakfast is up to you in determining how much one wants to eat. Dinner selection is varied and there are tasting menus.

For this area this is an excellent place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review on Trip adviser, which is a joy to read through. Also we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Most of guests are well attract by the nature as this location provides many opportunities for the nature lovers. As you have mentioned being an eco hotel our priorities are connected to nature activities which why we have our own eco- professional, the resident naturalist who specializes in all nature related topics. The Gray Slender Loris is the unique feature at Jetwing Vil Uyana.
And also our team is well dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance and our cuisine at Jetwing Vil Uyana is another key ingredient to our customer satisfaction.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and it was our pleasure to make your holiday a memorable and pleasant experience. Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Yours sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Overall I enjoyed this hotel, the location is beautiful and the rooms very well appointed. Food at the hotel was very good I was surprised about the dinner menu for both food quality and price.
I thought the service was just ok, nothing special, for whatever reason we didn't feel as welcome as at other hotels in Sri Lanka but all in all it is a beautiful property and I will recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.Your comments and feedback with regard to your stay with us are much appreciated, and we were glad to read that you were pleased with overall facilities and services.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

There are at least two reviews here which refer to the hotel and NOT the Loris conservation centre. This is an admirable venture. The hotel grounds provide an excellent habitat for more than the loris. The "search for the loris" encompasses more than just one species. There are many things to see. Of course wildlife is not guaranteed but that is part of the game. The loris is tiny and reminiscent of a soft toy. Well done Jetwing for helping to conserve this creature.

Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Let me begin by saying this resort is so unique, I would recommend staying there. The bungalows are well designed and beautifully furnished. The public areas are wonderful, with an infinity pool, open designed library and comfortable dining area. The lagoon and marshlands provide an interesting backdrop with plenty of bird life and a resident crocodile which we saw trawling across the lake on sunset. The resort is located close to the landmarks in the area particularly the spectacular, Sigiriya Rock which is a must see.

This is something of an eco-resort and so there were a few frustrations. The toilet stopped working properly and despite attempts to fix it, wasn't in working order by the time we left. Internet was unreliable in the room but seemed fine in the public areas. The distances between the bungalows and public areas vary. We walked most of the time but there are golf carts that will pick you up and take you to other locations within the resort. Service was generally very good. This is not a cheap accommodation option. We chose the half board option and were very pleased we did because there simply aren't very many other dining places in the surrounding area.

So, in summary, it was a good experience. Some tourists from Europe may go into heart spasms at the plentiful supply of bugs in the area - cockroaches, Mosquitos, flies, snakes, crocodiles etc. but as Aussies this was not a big deal. I have read reviews from some others that complain about the mozzies but they weren't a problem during our stay at all.

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow close to the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing our hotel as part of your holiday plan. It was wonderful to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. Jetwing brand has always been an unmatched hospitality, which is the reason we have increased the number of repeat guests. As you have mentioned the hotel has been centrally located in the Cultural Triangle, where you could visit while you are at the hotel. It is indeed a good base for the area.

However we are disappointed to know that you have not completely enjoyed the stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and we will look in to theissue, which you have mentioned, in order to ensure that such disappointments will not occur with future guests.

Once again thank you for the review and for patronizing this little paradise and we sincerely hope that you return to our hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marawila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful stay at the resort with our family. Good food and service. Already I have recommended this hotel to other friends.
Friendly staff.
Spectacular dining and lobby area, overlooking ponds and infinity pool.
May peacocks were roaming around the cabanas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marawila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your thoughts and kind words. Look forward to welcoming you at Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing