We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting but a few Frustrations”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Let me begin by saying this resort is so unique, I would recommend staying there. The bungalows are well designed and beautifully furnished. The public areas are wonderful, with an infinity pool, open designed library and comfortable dining area. The lagoon and marshlands provide an interesting backdrop with plenty of bird life and a resident crocodile which we saw trawling across the lake on sunset. The resort is located close to the landmarks in the area particularly the spectacular, Sigiriya Rock which is a must see.

This is something of an eco-resort and so there were a few frustrations. The toilet stopped working properly and despite attempts to fix it, wasn't in working order by the time we left. Internet was unreliable in the room but seemed fine in the public areas. The distances between the bungalows and public areas vary. We walked most of the time but there are golf carts that will pick you up and take you to other locations within the resort. Service was generally very good. This is not a cheap accommodation option. We chose the half board option and were very pleased we did because there simply aren't very many other dining places in the surrounding area.

So, in summary, it was a good experience. Some tourists from Europe may go into heart spasms at the plentiful supply of bugs in the area - cockroaches, Mosquitos, flies, snakes, crocodiles etc. but as Aussies this was not a big deal. I have read reviews from some others that complain about the mozzies but they weren't a problem during our stay at all.

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow close to the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing our hotel as part of your holiday plan. It was wonderful to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. Jetwing brand has always been an unmatched hospitality, which is the reason we have increased the number of repeat guests. As you have mentioned the hotel has been centrally located in the Cultural Triangle, where you could visit while you are at the hotel. It is indeed a good base for the area.

However we are disappointed to know that you have not completely enjoyed the stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and we will look in to theissue, which you have mentioned, in order to ensure that such disappointments will not occur with future guests.

Once again thank you for the review and for patronizing this little paradise and we sincerely hope that you return to our hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful stay at the resort with our family. Good food and service. Already I have recommended this hotel to other friends.
Friendly staff.
Spectacular dining and lobby area, overlooking ponds and infinity pool.
May peacocks were roaming around the cabanas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your thoughts and kind words. Look forward to welcoming you at Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was wonderful. Rooms are spread out and you feel as though you are the only guests. The rooms are huge with a massive bathroom that makes staying here very comfortable.
We enjoyed meals in the dining room which were superb.
It is a short drive to Sigiriya and the elephant safari park and we enjoyed doing both these things in a day.
The only shortfall was the service in the main reception area. W e asked to borrow bikes and they were not at all helpful and it took us a while to actually find them. when we eventually did they were not in very good condition. Also service when you are around the pool is basically non existent. This was a bit disappointing as we actually had to go and find someone to ask for a drink.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Marto16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Adviser. We are very pleased that your stay went so well. Although your stay was a pleasant one, it is unfortunate that you have had a bad experience regarding services. We have taken your comments positively to our consideration and we will look in the areas, which need to be improved.

Once again thank you for your sincere review on Trip Adviser. We look forward to host you once again on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great place for honeymooners. Went there for our honeymoon and loved every bit of our stay. The private pool in the Forest Lodge was BIG unlike other private pools I've seen. Food was excellent with a blend of local and international cuisine.
Rooms a spacious and the outdoor bathroom is a lovely concept. Friendly staff and great service. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves to getaway from your busy life styles.

Room Tip: Get the Forest Dwelling. You'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ifrah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana with us at the hotel and everybody else. It is wonderful to know that you had a lovely time at our hotel. Our unique feature of the hotel is the unique concept and different designs of the dwelling. Among these, Forest truly does give a calm, private, and soothing effect over and above its unique experience.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the overall facilities and the services of our friendly and professional associates who are always dedicated to provide the best service to our loyal customers.

Thank you for your patronage and await your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent surrounding and a good hideout. Staff is really friendly and supportive. Server 7 course meals and tasty. Rooms are spacious. Fairly good site to do bird watching in the morning.
Really enjoyed the time. Ideal for honeymoon couples

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milinda1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Was very excited about this hotel before arriving, but discovered that my ecolodges fantasy actually meant a bit too many creepy crawlies for my liking. Particularly concerned by the snake awareness note in the room and how many listed were very poisonous - nice library which could benefit from some more English language books. Pool overlooking the waterlands was very unique, but much talked nature guide may not be available if you only stay a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I love nature and being outdoors and this hotel was just up my street. We stayed one night in a paddy villa which had a plunge pool, a room which had open views due to the glass doors and the second night in a garden room, surrounded by jam fruit trees and different birds and scrub jungle. The garden room was spacious and different to the paddy. The common areas are beautifully done allowing one to just chill with a book, or sit to chat after a meal while overlooking waterways and nature. The staff were from the GM downwards brought in a personal touch, were attentive and very knowledgeable. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,779 reviews
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 21 in Sigiriya
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 18 in Dambulla
3,755 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 21 in Sigiriya
442 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $367 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing