We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Honeymoon Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to vil uyana on our honeymoon in may. I have been wanting to go for a long time and my husband surprised me by picking this beautiful hotel. It really is tucked into its own little world, perfect for honeymooners! We stayed 2 nights and loved every moment of it. Food and service was excellent. The staff were really friendly and obliging. They went to great lengths to fish out my husbands slippers when they fell into the lake! Disappointed we didnt see the crocodile though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are absolutely thrilled that your stay with us was such a success. Thank you for your kind words which will be passed on to the rest of the team and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Trust your experience of the highly distinctive Jetwing hospitality was more than satisfactory.

We are always honored when newlyweds choose our property for their honeymoon and it is a privilege to be part of such precious memories.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we wish both of you a world of happiness.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    215
    50
    18
    4
See reviews for
254
917
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Awesome concept with individual space, surrounded by nature. lovely place to just wind down and forget the world exists.

Food is lovely, no buffet.
Service is excellent, the only down side is the long walk to the dining room when you cannot get a cart to come soon enough ( the have motorized golf type carts for transport within)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusitha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food, facilities and the services provided during your stay, as most of our guests strongly believe in Jetwing hospitality. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words.

Also, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused with our transport service on your way to the room and dining area. We apologize that we fell short of this service during your stay and we will make sure such difficulties will not repeat with our future guests.

Thank you again and we await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana to host you in the Cultural Triangle once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The rooms were huge. The setting was amazing. I had a massage at the spa and it was great. The food and service was top notch. Disappointed we didn't get to do the loris tour because it was full. The infinity pool and the plunge pool was perfect. I fully recommend this resort

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kindness_matters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review which was short but sweet. We appreciate the words and happy to hear that your stay was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beautiful location surrounded by nature. The rooms were beautiful and you felt in utmost ecological luxury. The best part was the loris spotting and seeing this endangered species in its natural habitat. The naturalist at Vil Uyana is passionate about his job.and made our night safari an experience we will never forget.

We stayed for 2 nights and loved every bit of it. It is a bit pricey compared to some of the other options in the area, including the boulder hotel that we heard is absolutely amazing. Regardless, we would go back.

For those who need wifi, it is only available in the library and hard to log in for i-phone users.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vmcfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking valuable time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Vil Uyana. It was our pleasure to make your holiday a memorable and pleasant experience. The Grey Splendor Loris is a most unique feature which is only available at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We also organize other nature related trails such as Bird watching tours, Safari Tours, Village Walks etc. This location has now become a prime location for all nature lovers.

Once again it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went to Vil Uyana on our honeymoon on 12th June & stayed there for 2 days. Service is excellent from the moment we checked in. Food is delicious. Surrounding is amazing & best suited for honeymoon couples. Fell in love with the calm & peaceful surrounding.

Room Tip: I think Forest dwelling is worth for the money....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A very relaxing and tranquil place to stay where you are at one with nature but still have all your home comforts.
We stayed on a half board basis and was particularly impressed with the quality of the food; especially at dinner. Service was efficient and friendly.
Very close to Lions Rock and Dambulla; we also visited Harulu Eco Park and Anuradhapura from here.
We had a driver with us who used the drivers accommodation and he was very impressed and well looked after.
Would recommend this hotel and stay here again myself if I was to return to this part of Sri Lanka

Room Tip: We had a paddy dwelling with plunge and despite backing on to the entrance was extremely quiet. Havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbridge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. The heart of the Jetwing brand provides unmatched Sri Lankan hospitality.
Our hotels are connected to nature activities which is why we have our own eco professional, the resident naturalist. Also the environment has been well settled for wildlife such as birds, butterflies, dragonflies and our very own crocodile. Also as you have mentioned the hotel is centrally located in the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, where you could explore the whole area whilst rest and relaxing at Jetwing Vil Uyana. It is indeed a good base for the area.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana as part of your holiday destination and we sincerely hope you will return to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaika,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thanks to an offer by a Local bank & the Owners of Jetwing Vil Uyana, we had the opportunity of getting a 50% discount on the rates at Full Board Basis. This Vi Uyana Resort was not withing our reach previously to the average of US. $.500/- per night. My Family of five set out on 15th June, 2013 for our stay at Vil Uyana for the weekend. Thanks to a sunny day just after the heavy rains, and a great drive with hardly any traffic over the week-end.

We reached Vil Uyana at about 1430 hours. It was love at first sight. Just made us relax looking out at the settings of this truly wonderful country-side...SRI LANKA...A LAND LIKE NO OTHER. We were greeted in real Sri Lankan Ayubowan Style. Once we checked-in, we were taken to our Paddy Field Dwellings by the Buggy. Just a short distance. We were thrilled to see our spacious dwellings with a Plunge-in Pool, (Private).

This is the place for peace & tranquility. Excellent Room Service, Very co-operative & obliging Management. Food ordered two hours earlier arrived on time. After a memorable evening & superb food we retired for the night.

I was woken up by the chirping of the birds from the wild life sanctuary, at 6.00 in the morning. just by the side of our dwellings. To get a clear sound of the chirping, I knocked off the A/C and the fan and went out into the Patio. I see the beautifull Peacock in its lovely colours. I took lots of photographs. I spend my time on the patio lying on the sofa, looking up into the Blue Skies. Large white clouds passing by, the chirping of the birds. This was really paradise, away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

We left Vil Uyana after our Lunch, and all along the way in our Buggy, the family members in a cheerful mood were greeting the Vil Uyana Staff along the way, congratulating and thanking them for an excellent service, and great food.

Back to Colombo, but Vil Uyana will always be on our minds. We have travelled right round Sri lankaover the past few years, but this trip will be hard to erase from our minds. We are definitely going back some day.

Room Tip: Paddy Field Dwellings were suitable for our family, as we were away from the main buildings and oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinehill_serendib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana. On behalf of the entire team at Jetwing Vil Uyana I wish to thank you for your patronage and the lovely review posted on Trip Advisor which was a joy to read through. I will share your compliments with our team and we are very proud of the cuisine we offer, the facility, the service and of course the breathtaking surroundings.

Most of our guests love wildlife and nature as this location provides many opportunities for watching wildlife in their habitat. We also organize nature trails such as bird watching, safari tours, village walks, and Loris Watching which is only available at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Once again it was a pleasure having you with us as our guest and we wish to welcome you to Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
11.5 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing