We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Enchanting”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon in late February 2013. Our paddy dwelling was fantastic - peaceful yet perfectly and luxuriously styled.

The public areas were wonderful and we very much enjoyed the peace and tranquility that this special place offered. The library is a wonderful place to enjoy a few pre-dinner drinks and the restaurant was excellent. The dinners were well prepared and tasty however, we particulary enjoyed the breakfasts with their fresh juices, local fruits and baskets full of warm pastries. Yum. We cannot thank the staff enough for the warm welcome and attentive - but never intrusive - service.

A wonderfully romantic place to stay on honeymoon and a great location to explore the area. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank erwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    225
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
261
947
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the paddy dwelling for 2 nights and it was lovely. Rooms are well appointed, spacious, clean and cozy. Food was excellent. The concepts that the dwellings are built on are typically rustic Sri Lankan. The ambience lives upto the hotels eco friendly claim and staff are cheerful and ever ready to help. If I were to nitpick, there are 2 things that can be improved. 1).Room service - can be more organised. We had most of our meals at the dwelling and most often than not something was missing; salt and pepper/cutlery/green tea etc. 2).The tvs in the room seem outdated and doesnt support usb. This restricts guests to be at the mercy of cable tv alone and listening to some music or watching your own content is not possible. Apart from this, our stay was brilliant and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayanthiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

... I am writing this review while sitting in a "Forest Dwelling" in Vil Uyana - after having spent 5 nights (April/May) here.
My summary first: Unexpected luxury, so close to nature as I rarely saw it. At least the best location in the Sigiriya area, if not in the whole golden triangle.
The hotel has been built in close cooperation with the village, and villagers have been educated and work now here. They are proud of the hotel, and they know what it means to offer five star service ***** without loosing personality.
The integration of the hotel with nature is perfect luxury, too: A 'forest dwelling' has two floors, the lower floor with a ~6x3 meter private pool, a relaxation area with lots of cushions and - a completely open bathroom. This bathroom is undescribable! Imagine a roman style villa, with an roof which is open in the middle. On the walls, place a shower, a bathtub, comfortable washing facilities, a toilet ... (don't forget to notice the GROHE AXOR equipment) and you might have an idea. Without disturbing us, we share our bathroom with a small bat, two frogs and lots of geckos, all in a good distance.
The upper floor is the "safe place": No holes in the walls = no animals, and additionally Air Con, a big ventilator on the ceiling AND a mosquito net over the bed - stylish. Choose what to use. Oh, don't forget the BOSE sound system and the Panasonic flat tv, but we didnt use that. Wifi (free) for freaks like me.
The chef in the restaurant is on European level - everything tastes superb (and we have quite a good experience with good kitchen) - the staff is friendly, understandable and open to special wishes or a short talk. All remembered us on the second day.
ESPECIALLY to mention: The naturalist, Mr. Jaysekara, discovered a rare, slow moving, small primal animal, called LORIs some years ago. Instead of building several more rooms the managmeent decided to set up a protected area for these animals, and "lori searching tours" with the naturalist are available now. Congratulations and Thank you for that decision. Fits perfectly for the hotel.
We did some excursion to the Sigiriya rock (start early to complete the 1.2xx steps before lunch!) and to Anadhapura, with a car and a guide from the hotel. Do it. It's great.
DRAWBACKs, if any: Wifi is not as stable as I am used to in Germany, but this is hotel in the jungle - who would complain.
And a hammock in the pool area would be fine next time. Oh, yes, it's a SLH and not a backpacker hotel. So don't expect backpacker rates. Prices are okay, anyways.
We enjoyed it very much - thanks to everybody here.

Room Tip: Select a forest dwelling with a private pool ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent 2 days here as part of a wider tour of Sri Lanka for my honeymoon. (please see my profile for other Sri Lankan recommendations).

The hotel is quite unique, having been created as a nature reserve and wetland habitat.
As such, our bedroom was built on stilts over paddy fields. It featured its very own plunge pool.

The public areas of the hotel are fabulous with a great bar, library, restaurant as well as a infinity pool. On one evening we enjoyed a meal in their treehouse which was fantastic.

Sigiriya, the mysterious rock fortress, is quite an experience. We climbed it in the early evening when the sun was less ferocious.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crookle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you want to experience living in a tropical natural environment, this is an excellent place to stay. Our luxurious paddy dwelling had its own plunge pool, balcony and spacious suite (the only downside being the slightly noisy air-con. The inifitity pool, spa, crocs in the pond and great service, all made it something we'll always remember fondly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisounTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Service, Rooms, foods etc etc everything was nice n well maintained. we stayed only a day in water villa n enjoyed to the max n regretted not staying for more. as it was my honeymoon, i was surprised to see my bed decorated with flowers, personalised cake, fruit basket, n some local sweets. it was very nice. villa was very nice with privacy n no disturbance, feel fully with nature. we are definitely coming back to Vil Uyana specially to the forest theme when we visit SL next time. staff has to be recomended for thier friendly helpfull quality services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sendooran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Although I was at Vil Uyan for a business meeting I enjoyed a lot spending time there. Service, Sleep Quality, Cleanliness, Rooms and Foods are excellent. I would say that all Jetwing Hotels are excellent and can be recommended for every traveler without a doubt. And don’t forget to see those beautiful NilUpul flowers there. Nilupul is the national flower of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
75 reviews
5.1 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing