We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Relaxation”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Luxury and Relaxation”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a forest lodge with two floors and a pool which was absolute luxury to return to after a long hot day out. The lower floor, although partially roofed for privacy was in the open with it's own pond, mini beach, large stone bath, twin washbasins, shower and toilet as well as cushioned seating area. The upper floor held the large air conditioned bedroom with balcony and ensuite. What a pleasant surprise! A short walk from the lodge (lit path) led to the the main hotel facilities which were equally pleasant and surprising with beautiful pillars and other design features in an open style with an infinity pool overlooking a large pond giving the place an overall feeling of tranquility and relaxation. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great nights sleep every night. The pool attendant came quietly every morning to make sure it was clean and it was a thrill to spot wildlife such as red kites and a humming bird on the premises as well as various butterflies, other birds and chip monks about the surrounding trees. You have to accept that it is hot outdoors and so dinner will feel really warm (although they have a few electric fans for your comfort). You also have to accept that this hotel is out in the wild and so there will be a few insects and little lizards etc. in your open areas. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and genuinely keen that we had a good time. The quality of food was very good with a lot of work going into the presentation as much as the taste. There was always a large basket of various breads with each meal. Breakfast was varied and of great quality with lovely fruit and another large basket of breads and pastries included along with whatever you chose from an extensive cooked or continental menu. We were very well looked after and felt that this hotel deserved it's membership of the small luxury hotels of the world. On reflection, this was the first and the best hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for a feeling of luxury and complete relaxation.

Room Tip: The forest lodge was not too far from the main hotel and the pool was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana. On behalf of the entire team at Jetwing Vil Uyana I wish to thank you for your patronage and the lovely review you have posted on Trip Advisor. I will share your compliments with our team and we are very proud of the cruising we offer, the facilities, the service and of course the breathtaking surroundings.

As you have mentioned the hotel does offer a truly unique experience with the unique features of the hotel like our design and the different categories of dwelling. Among these categories Forest Dwelling truly does give a calm, private and soothing effect on top of its unique experience.

Indeed this is an amazing hotel as we are built in a man-made eco reserve and the environment has been well settled for bird life, butterflies, dragonflies and our very own crocodile.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we await your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    225
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
261
947
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Paddy dwelling.
The room, if I can call it a room as it was absolutely huge, was incredible. It was so private, even though it was only a short walk from the main hotel area. There was a private plunge pool which was always welcome after a day out! The conveniently placed trees and bushes added to the privacy. The bed was very comfortable, with mosquito nets drawn round at turn down every night, and petals scattered on the sheets. The bath was huge, and there was also a separate shower.
The food was excellent. We were full board, but didn't really make full use of it as we were out and so missed the time for lunch. But the breakfast and dinners were amazing. There was a ridiculous amount of food-6 courses for dinner if you could manage it! The rice and curries was very good, and deserts delicious!
The pool area was really serene, and we rarely saw anyone else there. You could just relax and watch the passing wildife-birds, peacocks, eagles, and the resident crocodile which we found one night after dinner chilling out by the pool!!
The service was excellent, from the guys at the pool bringing you drinks, to the restaurant staff, and the room attendants.
One of the best things about this hotel for us was the complete silence of the area! We had come from Kandy, and before that Negombo, so the horns and traffic noise was becoming slightly too much. All you can hear at Vil Uyana is the birds!
Great location for Polonaruwa and SIgiriya.
My only slight criticism would be that they allowed smoking in the restaurant, and there wasn't a great choice for vegetarians, but these did not detract from our amazing stay at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and that we were able to turn your moments with us in to lasting memories. Also we were delighted to read through the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of the Trip Advisor visitors.

Our chefs take real pride in the food we offer and we have always tried to offer our guests the best restaurant experience possible with fine dining. However we believe we still have some areas to develop and we are continuously endeavoring to reach perfection.

We hope you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a Paddy Field Villa . The location was great for visiting Anuradhapura, Aukana, Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa. We were also very impressed by the concept of the place.

Our accommodation was very roomy and comfortable. The only quibbles we had were firstly there was only a doona on the bed, and no top sheet. This meant either having to use the very noisy air conditioning all night or use the fan and sleep lying on top of the bed. A sheet to lie under would have been nice. Secondly the clothes hanging space was so low to the ground it was unusable for someone like myself with a bad back.

The restaurant was good with excellent presentation of the food. Some prices were a bit on the high side, eg 250 rupees for a small bottle of ordinary Sri Lankan water.

Use of the torch provided is essential for walking around at night as we encountered some very dark sections of pathway due to missing light bulbs, with a potential fall into the mud of a paddy field ! There were a few other maintenance issues such as loose wooden slats in the shower and stained seat covers in the library.

The bird life is terrific - we saw a wild peacock!

We would recommend this place as a unique experience during you Sri Lankan holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie7leagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay. As you have mentioned the hotel has been centrally located in the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, where you could explore the whole area whilst rest and relaxing at Jetwing Vil Uyana. It is indeed a good base for the area.

However we are disappointed to hear that you have not completely enjoyed the stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and we will look in to these issues which you have mentioned to ensure that such disappointments will not occur with future guests.

It was pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in Sigiriya for 2 nights during our trip to Sri Lanka (25th and 26th March). What an outstanding hotel. The food was 10 star, the service was 10 star and rooms were 10 star. The scenery and the way they have constructed all the rooms and the hotel is 20 star.

A wonderfull,wonderfull hotel, very friendly and helpfull staff. Excellent food and near to all this istes in Sigirya and beyond. No words to say how much we enoyed staying in this hotel. It was so relaxing and romantic.

Would tell my friends not to stay in any other hotel in Sigiriya excpect Vil Uyana.

Bhavik Shah,Kenya.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhavikS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana!!! We were delighted to welcome you at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are grateful to you for the time taken to upload your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor. It shows the way you feel about our product and service which is truly an honour.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Jetwing Hotels and it is always rewarding to learn that it has been achieved from our customer service and product offered.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana in the future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a find this one is! My villa was huge, with an open air bathroom, private plunge pool and huge bedroom that had floor to ceiling windows looking out over the marsh, and, in the distance, Sigiriya rock. The common areas fit perfectly with the surroundings, with lots of Sri Lankan character. Being open air, the character did include humidity and a few bugs, and the crocodile who came up out of the marsh to hang out on the pool deck on night, but it's all part of the fun.
The property does have a small gym, and what looked like a nice spa, though I didn't have time to use it. The food in the restaurant was wonderful-be warned, if you order any of the Malaysian curries, ignore the bread basket and don't order a starter! They come with so many dishes, I lost count.
Apparently bird watching is excellent here, and judging from the peacock that was hanging out in the tree by my villa (you haven't lived til you've staggered out in search of coffee one morning and been confronted by a HUGE peacock, in full plumage. I didn't need the coffee after that!), there are plenty of birds to see.
The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I'd recommend this for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The common area pool is a bit small, and there aren't many sunbeds, so spend a bit more and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminigirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went out for a night walk to look for these elusive creatures. We were not guaranteed sightings but we did not gat charged as we did not see them. Still it was an exciting experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank suen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The three of us enjoyed two nights in this lovely hotel. Having spent nearly twenty four hours to get there we were delighted with our bungalow. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Our bungalow was plenty big enough for the three of us. The location was brilliant for bird watching. We were sorry we didn't get to see the Lorus.

Room Tip: Our bungalow was a little way away from reception but the walk was lovely. Location was brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which was short but sweet. We appreciate your thoughts and kind words. Most of our guests are truly attracted by nature as this location provides many opportunities for bird watching and for nature lovers in general.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we hope to welcome you once again to Jetwing Vil Uyana so that you can experience our Loris trail.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
75 reviews
5.1 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing