We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different kind of a holiday”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We experienced pleasant friendliness of the staff starting from the security officer at the car park to all of the staff member that looked after us.
The stay was a very different experience as it was as if we were staying in a rural village(with all facilities).
Sun set at the lounge was another experience fully surrounded by water.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is not your ordinary hotel but a selection of Villa's in varying settings in a very natural environment. Definitely one for nature lovers looking for a peaceful location. We were upgraded on arrival to a Forest Dwelling with swimming pool which was fantastic! Loved the unusual design and the bath which felt like you were outside. The only slight problem was that the air conditioning unit was very noisy at night.
Food was really good. My husband loved trying all the local curries, even for breakfast, whilst I enjoyed the home made yoghurt. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Although the hotel is secluded it is a great base for visiting Sigariya Rock, Dambulla Temple and the stone Budda. You will need a driver. We arranged ours through the travel agent.
I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was the first hotel of our seven day tour and we stayed here for three nights.

After resolving confusion at check in about our honeymoon (which our travel agent kuoni had not made them aware of apparently) we were shown to our complimentary upgraded forest dwelling. We stayed in 139, it is quite private but there is a point where you are in the pool and passers by can see you. I used our private pool twice and in that time no one walked by, so it didn't cause me an issue. The hotel only has a small number of guests even when full anyway so not too much of an issue.

The highlight of this hotel for us was the food and proximity of nature. We booked on a half board basis and we weren't disappointed, the a la carte menu every evening had us both spoilt for choice. On one night we were given a candlelit private dinner by the pool and lake which was wonderful, with extremely attentive service. The staff here are exemplary and nothing is too much trouble.

We were given a spa treatment each which we enjoyed after having champagne breakfast served to our dwelling. The whole experience here for us was truly memorable and one we will never forget. Whilst having breakfast near our pool we had a family of monkeys watching by. We were kind enough to leave them some fruit which they playfully devoured. We also saw a crocodile in the lake on the final day.

I also had the misfortune to leave my iPad at the hotel after checking out and realised a few hours later. The hotel had found it and kept it ready for me to bring down to the entrance. I found this very honest and I was very thankful for the staff who were trying to contact me to let me know.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank annie_is_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I did not see any Loris but the guide was fantastic and knowledgeable. He did not charge us since we did not see any Loris but was really committed to trying to find one. They are very shy so apparently although they see them 90% of times we were just unlucky. If I had another day, I would have definitely tried again.

Thank jcblancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was an incredible place. The grounds are beautiful, the room is beautiful and peaceful and the service is great. I really enjoyed it. Worth a trip to give yourself some pampering in luxury at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I stayed in a paddy room which was a little less expensive that the water room but thought it was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcblancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us as our guests. We were delighted to receive your gracious feedback about your holiday. Thank you for your recognition of our team and their efforts in making your holiday an enjoyable.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana as part of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Supreme comfort, delicious food, personal service, just fantastic!

Rooms are huge, comfy and well appointed. Staff are friendly and really pleasant, and the restaurant and bar are wonderful to relax at. The Library, actually an "open walled" area with futons and sofas, is a must to sit in and pass some time during the heat of the day.

Birds abound, and the whole place is great for wildlife.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

During our stay at Vil Uyana we were greeted by the most delightful people who provided excellent service throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The food is excellent, first class, we recommend the Sri Lankan curries a feast in its self. We stayed in a water bungalow which was adequate, although we would have liked to try a forest lodge with its own pool. Virgin holidays didnt advise us which was the best to stay in. But we were very happy none the less. Although the bed was very hard in lodge 114, which as I write this they are going to sort. During our stay we had treatments in the Spa which was delightful. We also went on an Elephant safari and saw 40 elephants which was considered a good number for that day. Our driver and guide were very considerate during our trip. Worth a visit is lions rock at Sigiriya and would advise an early start, say 7.00 am, which is the coolest part of the day and will beat the crowds. Arranging a guide is well worth it especially as he carried our rucksack for us all the way up the 1200 steps. We visited Vil Uyana for our 25th Wedding anniversay and it certainly felt special. We would definitely recommend Sri Lanka and especially Vil Uyana.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b5evs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,680 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $287 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing