We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jetwing Vll Uyana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jetwing Vll Uyana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Unusual room layout but a super holiday. Peaceful and relaxing. Food excellent and staff friendly and helpful. Very private as the rooms were quite a way from each other. Rooms well equipped and loved sleeping under the mosquito net.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely although on beside the lake. Think the lakeside ones looks as if they had better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay. It was my pleasure to read through your review. We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of our visitors.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    215
    50
    18
    4
See reviews for
254
917
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The chalets/villas are built on the reed covered marshes and having stayed there 2 years ago we felt that this time around was even better - the Marsh villa was extremely comfortable, clean and had a better layout than the Forest villa we had previously.
A beautiful setting, wonderful service and excellent food contributed to a memorable stay in tranquil surrounds

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana and make your stay another memorable moment. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time again with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

One of the unique features of the hotel is our unique design, and the different categories. Most of our guests are very excited with this beautiful property as you have mentioned.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we take this opportunity to invite you back once again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Ayubowan,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Individual chalets with all mod cons and style. But that is not the best bit, as the staff and hotel set the highest standards which is matched by the great meals served overlooking a lake teeming with wildlife. Wish we were staying more than the 3 nights we had there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short and sweet comment posted on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services provided during your stay. It was indeed a pleasure having you here with us and may be you can plan your next visit for a longer period to enjoy more of our property.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent one night here after making a swift exit from Kandy and the awful Theva Residence, and we were delighted with the place! It reminded me of a large Bronze Age village (for anyone who’s ever been to Flag Fen), with thatched chalets amongst the reeds joined by wooden causeways over the water. It’s a great place to see wildlife – indeed there is a crocodile who lives in the lake.

The food was excellent as ever and well up to the standard we got used to in Sri Lanka. The rooms are very spacious but maybe getting a teeny weeny bit tired – and I only say this because we stayed at Ulagalla afterwards, which is a similar format, but probably a bit newer and had a bit more of a luxurious feel. The gym at Vil Uyana is excellent. It is well air conditioned and well equipped. I can definitely recommend it – it’s a great place to visit Sigiriya from and its location was conducive to a great night’s sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmyButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of our entire team at Jetwing Vil Uyana I wish to thank you for your patronage. We are very proud of the cuisine we offer, the facilities, the services and of course the breathtaking surroundings.

Being an Eco hotel our priorities are connected to nature. Most of our guests are truly attracted to this property as this location provides many opportunities for all nature lovers as we are built in a man-made Eco reserve and the environment is well settled for birds, butterflies, land monitors, Loris and our very own crocodile.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana with us. We look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We started our tour of Sri Lanka with the cultural triangle and a three day stay in Vil Uyana. Luckily we had a night in Columbo before we were driven northwards. We found the service fantastic - no doubt due to the excellent attitude of the manager who spoke to all guests during the course of the evening to enquire if they had had good day. We enjoyed the wildlife and peaceful setting and it was an ideal base for visiting the two former capitals and climbing Sigiria's Lion rock.

We thought that the food was excellent, and enjoyed the style of many small courses for the evening meal.

The little houses were beautiful to look at but my husband and I found it was rather dark ( we like reading in bed) and we were constantly looking for things as there was very little storage space for clothes and no long hanging at all.
We are in our 60s so would have appreciated comfortable chairs rather than the cushions and mattress style seats on the floor of the beautiful lounge/bar areas. There was nowhere where 4 people could comfortablely sit to chat. Obviously this would not be a drawback to younger people. There are also a lot of little steps and no hand rails which is also a problem if one is not disabled but yet not quite so nimble as one used to be.
Despite these minor criticisms it was a wonderful experience to stay here and I would recommend the hotel to all my fit friends.

Room Tip: They all look lovely. We were very near the restaurant/reception area which we found convenient some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana! We were delighted to welcome you at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are also grateful to you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor. Although we trust that you have enjoyed our other facilities we understand that your accommodation experience did not reached your expectation. We will examine the situation to minimize such short comings for future guests.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is based in some wetlands and spread over a large piece of land. The rooms are on stilts and look like small houses set throughout the paddy fields. We were in a Water room which was huge with two balconies and a view over the water, close to reception. The hotel is very different to anything else we stayed in and for that reason we would recommend it. It is a very romantic setting. Some of the other reviewers have commented on the state of the rooms and it is fair to say that in some cases we felt it was rather "faded elegance" but it was clean and tidy. The restaurant is on the first floor overlooking the lake (with a resident crocodile) and served good food with more of a european theme and excellent breakfasts. Dinner (we were on half board) was very tasty complete with canapes and sorbet interlude and a choice of 3 for each course.

Room Tip: The water villas were huge, open plan bathrooms which take some getting used to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshiregirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and your review on Trip Advisor. Jetwing Vil Uyana is an Eco-friendly man made eco-reserve that takes great pride in its barefoot elegance. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us as our guests and we were delighted to receive your feedback about your holiday. We await your next visit to host you in Sigiriya once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the second time i have been to this hotel and on both occasions i have been blown away by the beauty of the property. Worth every penny you pay. The service is fantastic. Highly recommended. Only draw back is that near the pool (Forest Lodge Pool) you get a bad order and do not feel like using the pool. so something has to be done to avoid that. Apart from that i had marvelous time.

Room Tip: Forest Lodge. The best room in the house....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbastiansz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendation on Trip Advisor. As a world class hotel we try to provide an experience that is unmatched by another. And we are grateful that you believe us to be worthy of such high praise as the best hotel is Sri Lanka. Your kind words will go a long way in inspiring the team. However, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused if we fell short in any service or standard.

Thank you again and we eagerly await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
11.5 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing