We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but needs improvement in infrastructure”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food but needs improvement in infrastructure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel is approx 1 kilometer from the main road down a bumpy dirt road. This is rural Sri Lanka so this is part of the experience! Hotel is spread across 24 acres with lots of space between villas. We stayed in one of the higher range villas with our own private terrace and pool, with a large bedroom and WC on upper level and a large open air bathroom on ground floor.

However, construction seems rather old and when it rained heavily on our first night, we had 3 leaks come through the thatched roof into our bedroom at 1am (including onto our bed). This wasn't part of the "experience" we necessarily paid $500 a night (full board) for so we complained and were immediately moved in the night to another room and then back to the same category of villa the morning after.

The food/beverage is very good with an internationally experienced Sri Lankan chef who makes a real effort to be creative with consistently good quality food and reasonably priced wines given the location.

Attitude of the waiters, housekeeping and grounds staff is very sweet and their genuine desire to please makes up for many other shortcomings.

If the room rate was lower priced, I would rate the resort with 4 stars, but at this price range, they need to deliver more.

Room Tip: Get a villa overlooking the lake with privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. We always welcome guest feedback as it helps us to improve as we move towards perfecting ourselves in service and value. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused but I must insist that this is a very rare occurrence. We are disappointed that this incident marred your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Our hospitality as well is generally considered excellent and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality and cuisine. Our team takes all your comments constructively and will improve the areas you have mentioned.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    220
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
257
932
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

One of the finest examples of it's kind. We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed every bit of our stay....Hospitality, Accommodation (including the plunge pool), Cuisine, Location, et all . . . Must do when in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Try the Villas with the plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gshroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which was a joy to read through. We really appreciate your kind words. I have shared your thoughts with my colleagues who are always eager for guest feed back. It was a pleasure to make your holiday a memorable one and hoping to welcome you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and wished we were here longer. Our room was in the paddy fields and was delightful, it was very stylish and cosy with the lights on in the evening. The verandah and plunge pool were also lovely. We thought the grounds stunning and enjoyed the paths to wander around the water. The restaurant was delightful and the food and service fabulous. If you are looking for peace, quiet, nature, luxury and attentive service within reach of the cultural triangle this is it. We will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pjh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment posted on Trip Advisor. It was truly a pleasure to read through your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and services provided during your stay as most of our guests strongly believe in that distinctive Jetwing hospitality. We will definitely share your comments with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words.

We hope you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

After a harrowing journey from Columbo in torrential rain, we arrived in the dark at the entrance to the one kilometre dirt track that is the entrance to the hotel, only to be told that the road was flooded about 5 feet deep in places and no car could get through. After sitting for two hours while our driver tried to find a way to resolve things. The hotel staff suggested we go to another hotel in the village for dinner and the road might be clear later, which was highly unlikely since it was still raining heavily. We finally were rescued by the Air Force who brought a Land Rover and large tractor. The Land rover wasn't able to get through either so we had to wade in the water to the flat bed of the tractor, hold on for dear life and drove through the flooded area to safety. While this was unusual, the manager told us the road had flooded there once before, so why didn't they resolve the problem? We were soaking wet, muddy and scared but tried to laugh it off and went to the restaurant for a very late dinner, it was by now 10 pm and we hadn't eaten anything since the breakfast on the plane. When we finished and were shown to our room, we just passed out for the night. At no time during our two night stay were we offered an apology or any kind of compensation for the distress. I realise the weather wasn't their fault but it could have been handled more sympathetically.
Regarding our villa, it was a Marsh one so there were numerous mosquitos in our room and I got bitten a lot even with repellent. There were three villas in close proximity and the first morning when I raised the window blind, the naked man in the next villa was clearly visible in his window, so not as private or secluded as you might like.
The villa was huge, with everything you need including wifi and cable tv, but the decor was a bit rustic for us and the window over the shower looked dirty and was algae stained, not what you'd expect from a 5 star property. Staff were all very pleasant and attentive, and the food was good, especially the traditional Sri Lankan curries. Perhaps had we not had such atrocious weather during our stay, our overall impressions may have been more favourable. Some people love this place but its seclusion and rustic atmosphere are not for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

As you very rightly said, had the weather been more kind at the time of your arrival to Jetwing Vil Uyana, you would have had a different experience with us.

Every once in awhile, Sri Lanka too faces extreme weather conditions which at times cannot be solved even with advanced planning. We are sorry you had to suffer the consequences. The fact that you were able to settle down and relax after such a poor start, has given us tremendous encouragement. I have to say, I am proud of my team who did their best to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to serving you again and pray the weather will be normal.

May all your dreams come true in 2013.

Ayubowan
Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Location of hotel is unique, perfect for animals & nature lovers. We have seen a lot of animals during our stay.We had even a lot of them in room & bathroom. It was not a problem for me but my husband did not like flying bats in our bathroom (we had outdoor bathroom). Hotel is close to many water tanks/ponds & marshes so you have to be aware that you will be bitten badly by insects. Insects were attacking us as well during dinner/breakfast time.
We were staying on half board basis and we highly recommend this option. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlenaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Jetwing Vil Uyana on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you were happily surprised and enjoyed your stay. Like most of our guests who are nature lovers it is great to hear you enjoyed the concept that is Jetwing Vil Uyana.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We made a round trip with friends from Dubai and stayed 2 nights in the hotel. Very scenic place, full of nature and animals (like everywhere in Sri Lanka).
Great architecture and hotel infrastructure.
Nice Restaurant, great bibliothek to enjoy the afternoon tea.

I would recommend for another stay.

Only the kitchen quality and the taste I am used to have much better and various quality. No real local food available - made for foreigners :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacustre11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Jetwing Vil Uyana on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you were happily surprised with your stay looking around the area and enjoying the surroundings. Most of our guests are nature lovers as this location provides many opportunities for great wildlife and nature viewing.

We are proud that the design and the architecture of this property is the creation of a Sri Lankan architect and she has won a great challenge in putting up an Eco luxury hotel in a wetland Eco system.

We hope to see you return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a half board basis. The resort itself is situated along an un-made road about a 20 minute drive away from the rock. The hotel is rather isolated which is fine if that is what you want.

We were collected from the main entrance by buggy and whisked off to reception. Our welcome was rather mediocre. We were allocated room 104 over the paddy field that we were slightly disappointed with, it was basically a room over the mud! Our room was huge if what rustic in our view. The window over the shower was covered in algae, the wood at the base of the shower was rotten and the shower holder broken.

On arrival we were also told that there was a big group staying at the hotel so we were not allowed to dine in the main restaurant for lunch/dinner/breakfast?!

We found the service to be very hit and miss. The food was ok but not great. They ran out of diet coke and some of the items on the menu whilst we were there, not exactly 5 star! The GM seemed more interested in handing her business card out rather than running the hotel!

Also, beware of the bugs that were expected, we were quite badly bitten, keep your doors/windows closed and use plenty of repellent.

We didn’t use the spa or any of the other services so cannot really comment on those.

Overall, an ok stay but wouldn’t really recommend. 2 nights is certainly enough.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying on the paddy fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S&ALLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments and your detailed review on Trip Advisor. Although we trust that you have enjoyed our hotel and surroundings, we were disappointed to hear that the services did not reach your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused as our hospitality is generally considered excellent. We apologize that we fell short of these standards during your stay and we sincerely hope you will return to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing