We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,618)
Filter reviews
1,618 results
Traveler rating
1,273
263
57
20
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
263
57
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest dwellingprivate poolour honeymoonwater dwellingresident crocodilepaddy fieldssunken bathoverlooking the lakesri lankaon stiltsslender loriseco hotelnature reservegolf buggynight walkcultural triangleopen plan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,132 - 1,137 of 1,618 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Location of hotel is unique, perfect for animals & nature lovers. We have seen a lot of animals during our stay.We had even a lot of them in room & bathroom. It was not a problem for me but my husband did not like flying bats in our bathroom (we had outdoor bathroom). Hotel is close to many water tanks/ponds & marshes so you have to be aware that you will be bitten badly by insects. Insects were attacking us as well during dinner/breakfast time.
We were staying on half board basis and we highly recommend this option. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlenaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Jetwing Vil Uyana on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you were happily surprised and enjoyed your stay. Like most of our guests who are nature lovers it is great to hear you enjoyed the concept that is Jetwing Vil Uyana.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We made a round trip with friends from Dubai and stayed 2 nights in the hotel. Very scenic place, full of nature and animals (like everywhere in Sri Lanka).
Great architecture and hotel infrastructure.
Nice Restaurant, great bibliothek to enjoy the afternoon tea.

I would recommend for another stay.

Only the kitchen quality and the taste I am used to have much better and various quality. No real local food available - made for foreigners :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacustre11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Jetwing Vil Uyana on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you were happily surprised with your stay looking around the area and enjoying the surroundings. Most of our guests are nature lovers as this location provides many opportunities for great wildlife and nature viewing.

We are proud that the design and the architecture of this property is the creation of a Sri Lankan architect and she has won a great challenge in putting up an Eco luxury hotel in a wetland Eco system.

We hope to see you return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a half board basis. The resort itself is situated along an un-made road about a 20 minute drive away from the rock. The hotel is rather isolated which is fine if that is what you want.

We were collected from the main entrance by buggy and whisked off to reception. Our welcome was rather mediocre. We were allocated room 104 over the paddy field that we were slightly disappointed with, it was basically a room over the mud! Our room was huge if what rustic in our view. The window over the shower was covered in algae, the wood at the base of the shower was rotten and the shower holder broken.

On arrival we were also told that there was a big group staying at the hotel so we were not allowed to dine in the main restaurant for lunch/dinner/breakfast?!

We found the service to be very hit and miss. The food was ok but not great. They ran out of diet coke and some of the items on the menu whilst we were there, not exactly 5 star! The GM seemed more interested in handing her business card out rather than running the hotel!

Also, beware of the bugs that were expected, we were quite badly bitten, keep your doors/windows closed and use plenty of repellent.

We didn’t use the spa or any of the other services so cannot really comment on those.

Overall, an ok stay but wouldn’t really recommend. 2 nights is certainly enough.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying on the paddy fields
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S&ALLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments and your detailed review on Trip Advisor. Although we trust that you have enjoyed our hotel and surroundings, we were disappointed to hear that the services did not reach your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused as our hospitality is generally considered excellent. We apologize that we fell short of these standards during your stay and we sincerely hope you will return to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very innovative.....a resort in the middle of paddy fields! During my stay in srilanka also had a chance to stay in another Jetwing property in nuwara eliya..which is equally stunning.
I would definitely Want to explore other properties of Jetwing.
Thank you Jetwing for this unforgettable experience
Regards
vilna

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vilnav09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely review posted on Trip Advisor. Your kind words will go a long way is motivating the team. The Jetwing brand has always been unmatched in hospitality and we are grateful to achieve that standard. Thank you for your review and do come back as hosting you in the Cultural Triangle was an absolute pleasure.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

There is a lot of good things about this hotel, then again there's also a lot that needs thinking about too!
Firstly,the positives - a unique position tucked away on an unmade roads the middle of Paddy fields. You catch a buggy to the main building , through wetland and paddy fields! Sounds good! Then when we got to our Forest view room( the most expensive category @ circa $400 per night) we found an impressive large two storey traditionally built house- but surrounded by reeds and ( due to arriving in the Monsoon season) , pools of stagnant muddy water - hence no views whatsoever of the beautiful countryside and lakes. Now this might be a matter of taste ( Keith the deputy GM told me that all were like this as it was part of 'the concept' to be private and enclosed. However, due to there also being no hot water ( somewhat inconvenient after a 9 hour slog from Colombo - " don't worry sir we will change the Gas , come for dinner, it will be ready when you return " , but I wanted to wash the grime of the day away BEFORE dinner!) we asked to change room . The contradiction was that we were then given room 139 which had lovely views from the upstairs bedroom over the lake !!! ( "it's the best room in your category" we were advised - the contradiction was that at 60% occupancy , they didn't allocate their best rooms to guests who were staying 3 nights )
Day 2 was equally baffling - no Bombay Sapphire , but on the menu - asked for one of their house mango vodkas , but wanted it with a branded vodka - " not possible Sir, we only make cocktails with local liquor" Ordered their 5 course table d'hôte menu- was served the 1st 3 course in under 15 minutes - hardly as of they needed the table and meant dinner was over by 845pm, which seemed a shame as it's the main event and there's nothing else to do. The contradiction , was when they could see I was still hungry ( portions are not big !) they brought me a complete 2nd main course for no charge! Keith the deputy GM who came to apologize on the 1st evening , spent time talking up their single estate teas - ordered Camolmile - " sorry we don't have " , the contradiction- our room was stuffed with camomile teabags!
Day 3 Breakfast -ordered 1 of the 3 dishes offered that contained Smoked Salmon - " sorry sir we have run out " - enough is enough - wrote a note to the manager! - on arriving back Keith came and found us ( never met The Manager ! ) apologized ( again !) The contradiction , offered us a special dinner on the hotel tonight to help makeup for all the problems - hope this doesn't have a contradiction!!!
So , great general staff , beautiful concept - but something isn't right in the management of such a concept . They need to learn from Safari lodges in Africa if they want to demand prices that match those types of place!
All above was taken up by Management as it occurred

Room Tip: If you want a room with views choose Water rooms . Best forest view room 136 ,worst 139 ( by pathway that everybody uses,stagnant water and no views .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are terribly sorry for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. The only consolation is that after your feedback we were able to make your stay a little bit better with us.
Let me assure you we take our customer feedback extremely seriously as we don’t want to see a single guest of ours leave us with a bad experience. We trust we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

With best wishes for 2013

Ayubowan
Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews