We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent two nights here in a Forest Dwelling as part of our honeymoon. I cannot rate this place highly enough. Arrival here and transfer to your room is so dramatic and exciting. There is a real sense of being "in the wild", and nature is all around. The fact that the lake next to the dining area and swimming pool contains a huge crocodile, who appears on the surface and the bank from time to time, was one of the absolute highlights of our trip. The villa itself is wonderful, and the amazing courtyard bathroom area was another real highlight. The spa is stunning, and really good value compared to similar places we have visited in Thailand and the Maldives. The kitchen staff deserve a special mention also. We stayed in top level places throughout the rest of our honeymoon around Sri Lanka and the Maldives, however, the food at Jetwing Vil Uyana was i think the best on our entire trip. Absolute top level cooking and amazing presentation. Very impressed indeed, and should top of the list for every trip to Sri Lanka. A real highlight.

Room Tip: Forest dwelling have own plunge pool and monkeys sometimes in the gardens which adds to the whole &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled that your stay with us was such a success. Thank you for your kind words which will be passed on to the rest of the team and for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We trust your experience of the highly distinctive Jetwing hospitality was more than satisfactory.

We are always honored when newlyweds choose our property for their honeymoon and it is a privilege to be part of such precious memories. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we wish you both a world of happiness as you take your first steps together as husband and wife.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

What an amazing compound, a wonderful and peaceful place close to the ancient cities. Beautiful eco marsh dwellings ensure privacy, comfort in a one of a kind zen setting and relaxed atmosphere. We felt like very special guests to enjoy our own, well designed and very spacious tahitian style cottage with 2 balconies from where you can watch wild monkeys doing incredible acrobatics jumps, just for you. The dining room is full of smiling people, creative presentation and very good food. The eternity swimming pool quickly became our oasis for a relaxed and fresh leasure time. WOW! Thank you again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfconcept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana, Sigiriya. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Jetwing hospitality is renowned for its personalized touch and going the extra mile. Most of our team members are from the surrounding area and they bring a true Sri Lankan smile to the property.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I loved this hotel. Perfect location for visiting Sigiriya and the ancient cities area -- we used it as a base for three nights.

The rooms are well laid out and enormous -- each is a standalone villa in a different 'environment' although due to being there at the end of the dry season, all the environments seemed to be dry grassland. Some of the fixtures and fittings need repair/replacement but overall the villas are excellent.

The central block has a good pool and relaxing area, and the restaurant was excellent, with a good selection of western and Sri Lankan dishes.

The wildlife tours looked interesting although we didn't go on any as we were exhausted after a day of sightseeing. We saw a crocodile, water monitor lizard and several bird species.

Highly recommend this place as a base for sightseeing in the surrounding areas.

As with all Sri Lankan hotels, try to book this as part of a tour (car & driver) as the tour companies get highly discounted rates. I calculated we were paying about $150 a room here as part of the tour cost.

Room Tip: The marsh rooms are right next to the drivers' quarters and service block, so suggest trying a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_in_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. The hotel does offer a truly unique experience and it is quite easy to fall in love with it. This location has now become a prime location for bird watching and for nature lovers.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Rooms and wildlife around (monkeys, chipmunks, squirrels and even a crocodile in the lake) make for a very pleasurable stay.

I was treat to the best massage I've ever had (all over massage) highly recommended!

Service in the restaurant and bar was very, very good!

This was probably the best hotel we have stayed in, would love to return at some point!

Brett and Alex

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review on Trip Advisor. It was really great to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation, service and Jetwing hospitality. Indeed this is an amazing hotel as we are built in a man made eco reserve and the environment has been well settled for bird life, butterflies, monkeys, dragonflies and our very own crocodile.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Faithfully,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My 12 yr old daughter and I stayed three nights and loved it. Beautiful property, lots of wildlife and, a lovely resort to roam around. Whilst being a high quality resort there was a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. We saw peacocks, squirrels, a thorny lizard, a huge monitor lizard and a crocodile all in the first hour of arriving.

We did trips to Miniyera National Park one evening to watch the elephants gather, Sigeriya Rock the next morning and could have gone to Polonnaruwa but chose to do nothing on third day - each trip still left us most of the day to relax.

MUST do the Loris watching if you have kids, it is exciting walking through the forest at night with a redlight head torch trying to spot the tiny monkeys with huge eyes.

Room Tip: If you travel in the dry season the paddy rooms are not as spectacular, try for a water or forest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed our property with all the fun activities. Most of our guests are true nature lovers as this location provides many opportunities to witness Mother Nature at her best.
This is an amazing hotel as it’s built in a man-made eco reserve and the environment has settled well for bird life, wild animals and our own crocodile.

It was absolute pleasure having you and looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Look, this hotel isn't all bad, the rooms are lovely however the service is at best impersonal and at worst distant and rude. As far as the food goes, we were stuck eating here for quite a few meals and they seem to be out or not have about half of the things on the already quite small menu. Not the worst place I've ever stayed, but also def not the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieCannon-Brookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you posting a review on Trip Advisor. Although we trust that you have enjoyed our accommodation and other facilities, we were disappointed to hear that our food and service standards did not reach your expectations. However we apologize for the inconvenience caused as our hospitality is generally considered excellent. We apologize that we fell short of these standards during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will return to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Magical setting with wild animals freely roaming around the hotel grounds. Rooms were spacious, luxurious with a small swimming pool. The food was very good (one of the best curries on the trip) and the service was faultless. It was without a doubt the best and most idyllic hotel that we stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthieu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your comments. We are grateful that you believe us to be worthy of such high praise and that we have achieved our standards. Your kind words will go a long way in inspiring the team.

Once again thank you for your kind words and please do come back to us soon, as hosting you was an absolute pleasure.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $284 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing