We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,618)
Filter reviews
1,618 results
Traveler rating
1,273
263
57
20
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
263
57
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest dwellingprivate poolour honeymoonwater dwellingresident crocodilepaddy fieldssunken bathoverlooking the lakesri lankaon stiltsslender loriseco hotelnature reservegolf buggynight walkcultural triangleopen plan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 1,618 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a sublime time here. It was private and quiet. We looked forward to our walk through the beautifully designed grounds to the open air restaurant for each delicious meal. We had the most basic of their rooms and absolutely loved it. We watched birds from our porch each day. This was a respite and treat as we spoiled ourselves by this luxurious stay in the middle of a thirty day discovery of Sri Lanka. Do climb Sigiriya. A visit to Dambulla is easy by car or bus.

Room Tip: Our room was nice and removed. We liked the outdoor shower room. For more money the cabana with a private pool might have been nice but then we might have missed time spent watching the birds from our open location.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acooley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We believe Jetwing Vil Uyana is the kind of peace and serenity that is very hard to find. We always try to provide an experience that is unmatched with any other.

It was pleasure having you and we await your next visit to host you in Sigiriya once again.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I've rarely been literally wowed by a hotel but when we arrived with my wife in our bungalow room with private swimming pool we had rarely been as excited in our entire lives! In fact, we were so excited that we went straight back to reception to ask if it was possible to double the length of our stay (and happily for us it was)!
The bungalow, facilities, the hotel itself, its architecture, etc. are absolutely world class.
The only downside of our stay was the food which simply wasn't up to par; which is especially annoying since this is literally the only place where you can eat within miles so you end up being stuck with really bad food (and painfully slow service)

Room Tip: Do choose a room with a private pool
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnaudBertrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. And we are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience caused at the restaurant. I have passed your comments to our Executive Chef, who will be looking in to diversifying the menus to give our guests a wider choice. We will look in to this matter seriously to ensure this disappointment will not occur with future guests.

It was pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The most prominent aspect one notices in Sri Lanka is their consciousness towards the environment and their value of cleanliness. New Zealand is the other country which treats the earth, water and air with the respect Sri Lankan's do. 

Sri Lankan's are extremely courteous and pleasant people. I attribute this to their lack of understanding of the English language a trait similar to the Thai's who are also extremely courteous and pleasant (and I mean this as a compliment) because these races have been unadulterated thus far.

Our stay at Vil Uyana though started at a sour note when we discovered that we were booked in the "Internet Quota" of standard rooms; apparently they have two rooms at the periphery of the resort which look to be make shift rooms, occupied when the resort is full. Bookings.com must make a note of this.

Having forgiven this experience and the proactive approach of the resident manager, we then realised that we were indeed in a place closest to nature. The tranquil lake with its virgin inhabitants including few rare reptiles, ducks and fish created a wonderful opera to be enjoyed from the cutely designed pool. 

The resort boasts of some rich flora and fauna including rare varieties of herbs.

The food is average but it hardly mattered as the minds preoccupation with natures hallucination overtook all disappointments of the material world.

We were trying to reestablish the connection with mother earth; if not here it would be difficult to imagine where else could we have achieved it!!

Let me get back to it as we still have a day left in heaven ...

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank vickramjadhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana! We were delighted to welcome you at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are grateful to you for the time taken to upload your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor, it shows the way you feel about our product and services, which is truly an honour.

Our people, our country is incredible and it is a great pleasure for us to have such energetic hospitable associates within our company as well, as they contribute a lot in terms of our growing success of hospitality in Sri Lanka.

E-bookings have become a very competitive tool in today’s hotel business and can be complicating when it comes to certain points and system errors. Therefore we apologize for the disappointing start to your visit at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

I appreciate the fact that you have mentioned our environment conservation and green initiatives that we have implemented, indeed our “Tree for life” program has planted over 3500 trees and we also educate most of the school children about environment conservation and energy saving from their little age as a CSR project.

With regards to the food, our chef and the team take pride in their food and are very passionate about their spices, we will be even more careful when catering to different tastes in the future.
Jetwing Vil Uyana is a true gem to escape with your family and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again the near future. Please do contact us for any future assistance with Jetwing Hotels Sri Lanka.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Everything was fantastic about the Jetwing Vil Ulyana. We only had a
standard triple room, but it was still perfectly luxurious, great amenities, absolutely
fantastic large open air bathroom, all the "dwellings" as they are called and the grounds
were stunning. The cuisine and service was all excellent. Everything was beautiful to look at, the swimming pool was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. One night we asked the waitress at the restaurant what a certain condiment contained (maldivian fish flakes) and the next morning, the chef had typed out for us the recipes for two of the dishes that we really loved. Another very special touch was that the manager came to the restaurant every evening and literally said hello to each table, introduced herself, asked if we were happy with everything, asked if we needed anything, and then left her business card to call her personally if we needed anything. The wild peacocks throughout the grounds were a lovely bonus. I also had a couple of treatments at the beautiful spa, they were extremely professional, 5-star. A special thanks to Chamani, for her fantastic massage and facial.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would hope to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yank-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave behind some lovely thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your comments and all your recommendations. We have different categories of dwellings such as Paddy/ Marsh/ Water and Forest. Most of our guests are very excited to get different experiences in different dwellings.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and the services provided during your stay. Our team is very dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words. We always talk to each and every guest and make sure that all their requirements are fulfilled, as our utmost priority is to keep our valued guests happy.

Thank you again and we eagerly await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Lovely hotel in fantastic setting. A nature lover's paradise - eagles, egrets, monitor lizards and countless other animals to view around the site. Possibly slightly understaffed and food menu a little uninspired, except for the evening meal, but otherwise a great place to unwind. Go for the single villas with their own pool - swimming in the dark with fireflies above you is unreal.

Room Tip: Go for the single villas with their own pool - swimming in the dark with fireflies above you is unreal
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpkhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write a review on Trip Adviser. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Most of our guests are fascinated by our surroundings as this location provides many opportunities for nature lovers. Gray Slender Loris is the most unique feature at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Although we trust that you have enjoyed our accommodation and other facilities we are disappointed to hear that our food standard did not reach your expectations. However we will take your comments in to our consideration and improve the areas which you have mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews