We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW-long journey but worth it!”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“WOW-long journey but worth it!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here for the first 3 days of our honeymoon on our way to the Maldives. After such a hectic few months in the lead up to our wedding, we wanted to start our married life with a few days to totally spoil ourselves and relax. We were not disappointed!

It is a shame that it is a 3.5 hour drive from the airport after such a long flight however it is a great way to see Sri Lankan life as you pass by. Take a bottle of water for the journey. Warning, the local driving habits mean this trip is not for those of a nervous nature but for the more adventurous, it's the best ride in the park!


We booked a Forest Dwelling with a private swimming pool and it was bliss. The rooms are a little basic if you like the typical 5* American brands but had a rustic charm and did not spoil our stay. The double sunken bath with candles was magical. Breakfast on our own terrace on our last morning being watched from the bushes by a VERY large lizard was a personal highlight.

As the hotel is in a secluded location we booked full board however in hindsight I would not recommend this. The food was excellent but as every meal consists of several courses, we had to skip a meal on each day. Half board or B&B would have been plenty. Be aware after rain the insects flock to the lights in the open plan restaurant which is just a local hazard and the staff do all that they can to sit you away from them but that means sitting towards the middle of the restaurant which is rather warm.

This is such a peacful location with wild monkeys in the trees, peacocks walking the grounds and fireflies amongst the trees in the evenings. The staff could not do enough to help especially at reception and the restaurant manager.

A trip to the rock is worthwhile but we spent the rest of our time eating and lazing in this serene location. I think a week might have been too long but 5 days would have been perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freckles1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We were happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we as a Jetwing property are always willing to improve our products and standards and strongly believe in your comments and consider them affirmation to the work we put in.

As a property located in a wetland eco-reserve, you may feel it to be a form of rustic luxury that blends in with nature and needs to be experienced. Our food and service add a great value to our customer satisfaction and the restaurant experience that we offer is also different to a usual hotel in a completely different backdrop of an open air set up. However, we base our image on hospitality with the environment playing a major role as it is our mission is to conserve the Earth's living heritage and our global bio diversity.

I do agree, if you are staying with us it needs to be more than three days to explore the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka while you are relaxing at the hotel.

We would like to have the chance of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana and please feel free to contact us for any future assistance that you may need.


Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    236
    51
    19
    4
See reviews for
270
974
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent one night during our tour of Sigiriya, Dambulla, etc. and what a delightful hotel.
Our room was a stone's throw from reception and had a great view over the lake.
The welcome, dinner and breakfast on departure were all first class.
The wild life parading past included herons, kingfishers& giant lizards

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and we greatly appreciate your recommendations that you have shared with the rest of the world.

We are thrilled to hear how much you love the hotel and how much it fulfilled your expectations in the limited time of your stay, we are glad to know that you had the time to enjoy the environment and the real beauty of Jetwing Vil Uyana while touring.

This is the ultimate eco luxury accommodation in Sigiriya and we hope your next visit will be for longer as you may need three days to experience the real ambience of the property while doing your sightseeing.

We also organize nature trails, such as bird watching tours, safari tours, village walks, sightseeing tours and the latest being Loris watching trail during the night which is only available at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Vil Uyana is a fantastic place. Great concept and we loved the spacious, nature friendly rooms. Private swimming pool was great for our kids 5 and 3. The main swimming was even better for a good swim for us. Food and staff was great. Its great if you want to relax and spend time within the hotel with your family or by yourself. Nothing much around the hotel except the sigiriya rock. We bought a lot of mango and bananas whenever we went out : delicious

I think the price should be a little bit more reasonable for tourists

Room Tip: Any.. four types all of them are good. we stayed Paddy and Forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rizmyshariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana; we appreciate your comments you took the time to post on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that your kids have enjoyed the private pool in your dwelling, that is one of the most attractive features for the kids and they generally love it. And, our infinity pool adds more value to the property as it really blends in with the landscape of the lake and gives you more space to swim and relax.

Our team is well dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance and our cuisine at Jetwing Vil Uyana is another key ingredient to our customer’s satisfaction.

I would like to mention that it is not only Sigiriya when you stay with us as we are situated in the heart of the ‘Cultural Triangle’. The array of visits include historic ruins in Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, wild life excursions to Minneriya National Park to witness the wildlife spectacle that is the Elephant Gathering, Loris trail, bird trails, Kaudulla National park and religious visits to the Golden Temple of Dambulla. There are altogether 4 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the vicinity, all just a few minutes away from Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We do hope to see you again soon so that you can indulge in this culturally rich atmosphere and the blissful serenity that is Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

From the moment you arrive you can see you in for a treat .We were a family of 4 but we had two separate chalets in the paddy fields.The chalel was extremely spacious very well made and luxurious and modern.The huge bath indide was very nicely complemented with your own plunge pool ouside your door.Staff were very friendly and professional.The dining experience was amazing and the food was fresh and very well presented.As for the grounds you couldnt ask for a more serene and beautifull place to wonder around.We highly recomment Vil Uyana for an relaxing and unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickokkalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are extremely happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We are proud that the design and the architecture of the property is the creation of a Sri Lankan and she has won a big challenge in putting up an eco luxury hotel in a wetland eco system.

We all understand that when you are in a hotel, fresh food is a main concern and our team is fully dedicated to serve you the best we have to offer. Most of the time the produce used to prepare Sri Lankan dishes are grown and picked from our own garden.

Once again we thank you for your recommendation of Jetwing Vil Uyana and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Its the most amazing hotel in terms of natural beauty and hospitality. The serenity was mind blowing and a perfect place for honeymooners... It was the most awesome experience and the also not to mention the rooms which are amazingly constructed and the personal pool is a like icing on the cake. Its a complete awesome experience....

Room Tip: Forest Dwelling or Paddy Dwelling are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juzer_ibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

You have been very lucky to have patronized this amazing property, probably the best accommodation in the magnificent Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka and the most unique.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future and please do contact us for any further assistance that you may need at Jetwing hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Chose Vil Uyana for our honeymoon, based on the pictures and information on its website. Reality matched or rather surpassed what was on the computer :-) The location is ideal for couples, for it is secluded and romantic. The chalets were spacious and having a private swimming pool was awesome. Traveling in the buggy between places was quite fun. The hospitality of the staff was excellent. They treated us locals, equally as they did the foreigners, with personal attention. The fine dining gave an extra touch to the stay. Loved the starters, soups and deserts. The passion fruit sorbet was my favorite. The main courses perhaps could have been better, with more spice and flavour, for some of them tasted a bit bland. Overall though had an excellent honeymoon at Vil Uyana, and loved the little surprises the hotel gave us too :-) Hope the hotel keeps its excellent standard for the years to come.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are so glad to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your honeymoon at Jetwing Vil Uyana and your comment brings us much joy. We are always incredibly touched to be part of such precious memories.

Our chefs take real pride in the food we offer and we have always tried to offer our guests the best restaurant experience possible with fine dining. However we believe we still have some areas to develop and we are continuously endeavouring to reach perfection.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and we wish you all the happiness in the world as you take your first steps together as husband and wife. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My family and I stayed at Vil uyana for 2 days. From the moment we stepped into the entrance of the hotel to the staff - everything was amazing. Very very clean. Food is unbelievably fresh and delicious. Staff was very humble and helpful. Even our buggy driver karu really made an impression in the few minutes we met him. I highly recommend this place. It is a MUST SEE in Sri Lanka as it truly portrays Sri Lankan hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perera1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We will definitely share your thoughts with the entire team and I would also like to mention this kind of encouragement will drive us to move forward in the hospitality industry.

Thank you for your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,572 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
417 reviews
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
108 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing