We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and rooms; disappointing food”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2011

These rooms (each a private bungalow) are spacious and well-designed and the setting is spectacular. While the hotel is isolated, it's accessible to Minneriya National Park (wonderful jeep safari to see wild elephants), Sigiriya, and Anandaphura. The big disappointment was the restaurant. Staff did not seem well-trained and food was only fair. However the rooms and hotel design outweighed the poor food and restaurant experience; we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan-GordonSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Jetwing Vil Uyana is a unique experience on its own, greatly due to its luxurious private Dwellings and its proximity to the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we are grateful for your comments.

We are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience caused at the restaurant. We will look into this matter seriously to ensure this disappointment will not occur with future guests.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at a Water Villa for couple of nights for our honeymoon in 2009 February. The Villa was very spacious and comfy. The food in the restaurant was amazing! The place is quite and a great getaway for honeymooners. Also there is a nice walking path inside the hotel. In the morning you can see Peacockes and other birds. Also this hotel is very close to the world famous Sigiriya rock and the Minneriya wild life sanctuary. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager_the_great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is really lovely. They have made ever attempt to build and run a "green" property, including having a working rice paddy on the grounds. The style fits well with the local surrounding but is still luxurious and elegant. We had a large bungalow -- a "water villa" -- over the water and it was amazing. We loved the setting during the day as well as at night when the sounds and stars were remarkable. The tub was sunken and gorgeous. Overall, the feel of the property was of local chic, beautiful but also respectful of the local style and terrain.

My only call out with respect to the room is to mention that the toilet was not private but was instead part of an open flooplan and is therefore next to the open rainforest shower and only separated by a small wall from the rest of the bathroom area. While the open design works well with the feel of the property, this layout is not especially private and may not be for everyone.


We also wanted to mention that we found the staff to be friendly and super helpful. We had a minor injury during our stay and the doctor on premises was professional and very responsive. We appreciated the prompt help and attention from the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CK107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Jetwing Vil Uyana is an Eco-friendly, man-made Eco-reserve that takes great pride in its barefoot elegance. We believe our little haven is tranquility at its best. Thank you for seeing what we see in this spectacular property. The open floor plan in our private Dwellings, especially in the bathroom can indeed surprise guests. However, upon request we can make this a little more comfortable with a curtain if necessary.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words will go a long way with the team. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back to the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while traveling to visit sites in Sri Lanka's historic triangle.

We were upgraded to a lovely room, apartment really, with its own small plunge pool, couldn't fault it.
The hotel central area was lovely too with a good pool with staff that accommodated us swimming early.
Had it been wet making our way from room to centre would have been uncomfortable.
Food was OK but the cost of wine was astronomical, almost no one seemed to be drinking it!
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sri Lanka and would return if we visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are very pleased that your stay went so well. We do however apologize about the price of wine, as it was not done intentionally. In fact we recently revised our wine list to adhere to a much larger selection which also means a broader range in price. We look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana and I’m quite certain the next time you visit you will definitely order a bottle of wine.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

one of the best hotels i've ever stayed .the whole scenic the pecefull icon is still my mind.the peronal were really very nice and helpfull but the vills are the best.we were welcomed with wine ,fruits ,chocolates bonbons and a nice cake for our honeymoon trip .everthing inside was so beautiful decorated they evn had hats and extra towels especially for our small pool in frond of our villa.
the food in the restaurant was fantastic and from me it is a great compliment.i ate beef and i still remember it and =pamblo's dog....everything we tried was really nice and we paid about 4000 roupias which is almost 40 euros..very reasonable price for a hotel like this.and the breakfast was really good,you could choose from a list everything you liked(this was included in the price) and the view from the restaurant was straight to the famous rock singiriya.we even saw a small crocodile in the lake...i wish i used the spa but i didn't.
they also offer a tea from 2-17.00 but if you ask politely they bring you tea with cakes,sweets and small sandviches at the beautiful library..also reasonable price.
they bring you water in the room 2 bottles and of course you can try a nice varity of teas and coffee.
remember to ask for change at the reception cause you will need them to give some tips to the stuff. i would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting sri lanka

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filiotopkaridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled that your stay with us was such a success. Thank you for your kind words which will be passed on to the rest of the team and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We trust that your experience of the highly distinctive Jetwing hospitality was more than satisfactory.

We are always honoured when newlyweds choose our property for their honeymoon and it is a privilege to be part of such precious memories. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we wish you both a world of happiness as you take your first steps together as husband and wife.

We hope to welcome you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana very soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

A very beautiful location with excellent services.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELYLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana and thank you for posting a review on Trip Advsior. We trust that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

we spent 2 nights there in sep. !
I was on a tour to visit all small luxury hotels in Sri Lanka , and this one was one of a kind!
Food is excellent, dinner menu was fabulous , excellent service !
As for the rooms, we were upgraded to a water villa , with wonderful views , elegant design and all kinds of amenities were ready for us to use!
THE ONE AND ONLY place to stay in Sigiriya !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerbeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,681 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $286 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing