We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in nature”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place in nature”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We arrived here as a part of our cultural triangle tour, booked by a travel agency for 2 night stay. We checked-in at this hotel a little tired but all exited after climbing the Sigiriya hill in the evening. Woh! Was the first impression when we arrived at this hotel. Warm welcome by hotel front desk, a temple flower & a welcome drink awaited at the reception. As we were guided to our rooms, we passed by a beautiful view of Sigiriya hill from the swimming pool, an eye catching view not to be missed!

Ours was a superior rooms which was of regular size, clean bed, LCD TV, elegant wooden ceiling & wooden pillar at one side of the room & red oxide floor ; overall appeal of the room was very satisfactory. The bathroom were of regular size & clean again. The wardrobe was large enough to fit our belongings. Everything else was just perfect. The main door of our room faced wall of a opposite room which was unfortunate but the back door of the rooms opens to a large garden full of trees. The view here was wonderful.

The dining area was beautiful surrounded by greenery, with trees all around; a perfect place for romantic dinner. The middle of the dining area had a garden where musician was performing. On the first day we choose la carta & had a tasty Veg food. I choose srilankan meals consisting of Dal, rice & few other Srilankan curries. They were all tasty. The buffet breakfast next morning had lot of options for Americans & Europeans, but I being a veggie had to content with limited items. On second day for dinner, I choose buffet & it had plenty of Veg items. I tried few local cuisines which appealed to me. Overall the food was good, reasonably priced as per Srilankan standards.

On the bad note, the hotel is costly for call rates. Typically a call from Srilanka to India per min costs 8 SL Rs, but here they were charging around 250 SL Rs. The charges are simply not justifiable. The bottled water costs more as well.

When you are here, try going around the hotel looking at the beautiful, large trees. You would also notice many different flowers & birds making lot of noise in the morning, It sets up your mood for the day. I didn’t see facilities for sports here, I remember the tennis court was dirty, probably not used for many months. When in your room, especially with your spouse, do not miss to turn on the radio available at the back of your bed. Lovely, mesmerizing music was played round the clock.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dashing_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    697
    225
    33
    25
See reviews for
349
702
69
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka and did not have an enjoyable experience. On both nights we could not sleep as there was a celebration being held in the garden area outside our room with loud drumming, clapping and singing until 4am in the morning. We understand that hotels do host parties etc but felt that management could have been more understanding and sympathetic towards guests and either restrict the timing of the festivity or relocate the celebrants to an enclosed hall where the sound would not disturb guests after midnight. Complaints to management fell on deaf ears as they claimed not to have an alternative room to relocate us on the first night. I developed a headache as a result of the noise. On the second night after realising that the festivity would continue we asked for another room in a more remote location and was relocated but yet again our sleep was disturbed because of the drumming. What made matters worse was that we were touring most of the day and could not have an undisturbed rest for two nights. Management knew that we were honeymooners. One good thing happened as a result of this bad incident; our tour company upgraded us to Mount Lavinia in Colombo at the end of our tour which is a fantastic hotel with great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock broker belt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The first place we stayed at in Sri Lanka and a good centre for touring around. The hotel has pretty well layed out lawns and shrubs with a decent pool with a fabulous view over the rock. Food good and staff really helpful. The monkeys are a nightly attraction - scampering over the roofs and trying to pull some of the aerials from their moorings. The rock is outstanding - but DO GO EARLY - its knackering in heat. Day trips (our kids got a bit templed out) to Polynrwawa and Amarapura are easy - I would tend to go to only one of them. Dambula cave temples are a must - AMAZING.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockbrokerbeltCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 4 day tour of the cultural triangle.A good quality hotel. The rooms were a little tired but they were clean. The pool area and gardens were really nice,with lots of wildlife to look out for(monkeys,monitors etc). The bar area was spacious and drinks reasonably priced, about £1.70 for 1/2litre bottle of beer.Great views of the rock from the bar. The service in the restaurant was not great but the food was mostly buffet style so it didnt matter too much. The food was excellent. The breakfasts in particular were great. Largechoice including a wide variety of local foods to try.We found the wildlife very noisy of the roof at night so didnt sleep that well but i guess thats to be expected in a jungle!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEMELLIER, FRANCE
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed only one night while we explored the cultural triangle.

The location of the hotel was excellent. The room was pleasant and spacious, even though the lighting was poor. The bathroom was satisfactory. The loung area was satisfactory and the service good and friendly.

Breakfast was a delight, with the good food and the very pleasnt setting of the restaurant. The food served for dinner was very varied and above all we found it very tasty.

I cannot comment on the prices, as our short mini tour was arranged for us by a travel agent - Holiday Plus. The total cost of the tour was very reasonable. His selection of hotels was excellent.

Yes we enjoyed our one night at Sigiriya Hotel. We would go back if we had the chance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdealwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed here as part of our Mercury Direct 4day tour. We were upgraded to a superior room. It had everything we needed for our 2 nights. Tea/Coffee making facilities and a safe & tv. The hotel and facilities were all very good.

The pool faced the rock which was a spectacular back drop. The problem was there weren't enough sun beds. No major problem as we didn't have too much time to sunbathe.
The restaurant food was good. Plenty of choice and hot.
We saw monkeys & a mongoose in the grounds. Our driver pointed out a jackal just outside on the way to the rock.
This hotel seems an ideal base to go to the rock, Habarana, Minnerya & Dambulla.
I think that if we had more time we would of explored more and used some of the hotel organised activities like bird watching. They also organise elephant rides and tours.
Would definately go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Sigiriya as a part of our 5 day Srilanka tour. The hotel was nice. We received the warm greetings from the hotel staff upon arrival and was escorted nicely in the room. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. You can go out to the garden from the room which is quite nice. There is a small swimming pool from which you can see the Sigiriya rock. The place is outstanding. For the recreation, it was mentioned that there are carrom boards and other games but when we asked for carrom board, theu could not provide us which is a bit disappointing and at the time of the checkout, there was a little misconfusion regarding the child billing which was resolved at the end. Overall a good hotel in Sigiriya and the staffa are nice. The food is little expensive than in other places. But overall we enjoyed the SIgiriya experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spratibha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,017 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
534 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Property: Hotel Sigiriya
Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing