We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happen in my washroom”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The principal quality of this hotel was the service. The staff of the hotel and restaurant was nice and friendly. In deed, one of the principal attraction of this hotel is his pool with a view of the Sigiriya rock. You won't be disappointed. The pool is really nice and you will have a good picture of it. It may have a group of monkeys on the site of the hotel. You really have the feeling to be in heart of the jungle.

Our principal disapointment was the room. Specialy the washroom. It have a bath, too hight, with a shower but it doesn't have curtain. Warm water come really slowly. And it had a strong mustiness in the washroom. The bed was ok. The floor of the room was made of something like cement(strange a little bit). But the room was enough large.

The restaurant of this hotel offer a lot of choice of local and international meal. The dinner is really expensive for the Sri Lanka. Same thing for the bike rental. The bikes are in bad condition and the rental is more expensive then somewhere else in Sri Lanka.

The rock is at 5 minute by car. If you want to see it in the morning. Go before 8h00 am. Or otherwise, you will be in the trafic in the stair to climb the rock.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sigiriya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed one night at Hotel Sigiriya on a recent trip to Sri Lanka. The hotel is located very conveniently, within a 10-minute drive of Sigiriya rock.

Arriving late afternoon after a flight into Colombo, we were welcomed very cordially with a cool glass of juice from the local sour apple.   

There was time for a quick swim in the pool before dinner - a great bonus as the open-sided bar and the pool area have a direct view of Sigiriya Rock, through an area of the forest which has been tastefully cut away to reveal the view.

Our room was a good size, and very comfortable with both fan and AC, all the extras you'd expect, and a good selection of English-speaking TV channels. The bathroom, while a little drab, was fine and hot water was reliable. The hotel provides a complimentary bottle of water per guest which is nice as the tap water isn't potable.

The choice and quality at both dinner and breakfast was sensational - a great introduction to Sri Lankan buffet cuisine! From the ubiquitous rice and curry, through western dishes like beef stroganoff, to tomato soup and flambeed prawns, plus an excellent dessert selection.

The hotel were able to provide a packed lunch despite our very early departure which was appreciated.

One point to note - while the hotel does have accommodation for drivers, it doesn't currently guarantee there is space until you arrive.

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Sigiriya if you are coming to the area to see the rock.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Not rendering a good service to locals..specialy staff in the restuarent...some are very rude....should improve the quality of survice there.other aspects can be considered averege.Sigiriya village would be better, though the cost may be litttle high.

Room Tip: select a one facing to garden around the pool site.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cham1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed one night here after visiting Lion Rock nearby.

The hotel is well designed. The view from the bar/pool is great.

Our room is a bit far from the public area, but very quiet. Room is relatively large, and well equipped.

Water quality in this region is not good, need to bring bottled water.

The hotel provides driver accommodation, but with limited place. My driver had to find his own place after the hotel telling him that the driver quarter was full.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tianyi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I expected more from this hotel given its fantastic location with a view of Sigiriya rock. We were only staying one night so didn't have a chance to try the pool (it was raining so the pool was empty). We had a drink in the bar before dinner - the cocktails were prettily presented but far too sweet for our taste. Dinner and breakfast were buffet-style which is typical of hotels here. The dinner was a mix of western and sri lankan dishes but was not particularly inspriring. Breakfast was better. Our bedrooms were very clean and nicely decorated but the bathrooms were small and a bit old. There was no wi-fi in the rooms. It was fine for our purposes but the hotel could be so much better if it was spruced up a bit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We travelled recently to Sri Lanka in a group of about 30 people. My parents and I were triple-sharing the room. This was the last stay destination of our tour and I felt was the best accommodation overall. The hotel is spread over a large area with plenty of greenery. The view from the pool is lovely, though we didn't get time enough to use the pool. The dinner and breakfast buffet spread was quite good with enough variety. Rooms were cozy, beds were neat and clean. Bathroom, toilet and shower facilities worked well. As we were 3, we asked for extra towels and they were sent promptly. All rooms are on ground level and spread around the reception area. Staff was also quite helpful and smiling. Baggage was delivered to the rooms, but took a bit of time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyoti_Bhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The main lounge area is very nice and the view is superb. Also, there was a good buffet breakfast.
There's no wifi in rooms which was disappointing. Rooms could have been nicer for that price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olaf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,058 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
570 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: $77 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing