We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location & service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and almost wish we'd stayed longer.
The staff were all incredibly friendly and made us feel right at home.

The view from pool area is just breathtaking and very relaxing.
The big sized chess board in the bar area was good fun and enjoy with a pre dinner glass of G&T

The food in the buffet was tasty and offered variety which is always good. The waiters reserved us the same table for every meal and looked after us which was good to have.

The only thing to note is that if you need a driver to take you around to places, the hotel quotes are much higher than other local drivers we spoke to. Best to shop around before booking via hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lex42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    700
    225
    33
    26
See reviews for
362
708
70
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Sigiriya. The rooms were comfortable and had character (although a double bed instead of two singles pushed together would have been more comfortable!). The pool area and bar had lovely views of Sigiriya Rock, and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Dinner, while buffet-style, offered a huge selection to choose from and the Sri Lankan curries were especially tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkip378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethanne95
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Sigiriya was a great base for visiting Sigiriya, and also for a day trip to Polonnaruwa, which was about an hour away. The hotel rooms were decent, nothing fancy but clean and a good size. The pool area is as nice as it looks in the pictures, and they have a great little area which looks out on that fantastic view. The buffet was pretty good, which a medium size range of eastern and western options, though obviously the local options were better. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethanne95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are a family of 4 hand all was just perfect. Rooms are ok , food fantastic, they have western but also local specialties and both were great. The staff is very professional and above all this location is the best to visit the lion-temple/rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartpurfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

There were 4 of us in a party, but we could only book one room for three so we split into two groups. So thankful I ended up in another group! While the hotel's location is great with the view of the rock, the room given to my friends was awful. It smelled like rotten wood, had all sorts of insects, was dark and looked out onto another wall. The staff was also less than helpful - inflexible and not taking responsibility for the well-being of guests. In the morning when we picked our friends up a monkey was breaking glasses left on the breakfast table and the staff passed by without paying any attention to the great mess created by flying glass. The price was also completely unjustified for the quality of rooms and services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was just ok with the quality being just a little better than average. It was reasonable clean however can not rate as warm and cosy. Instead of a double bed, two singles were combined. No wifi in the rooms only free wifi in the lobby / bar area
The property otherwise was well kept. The lobby and lounge area were good and the Rock view from the pool was outstanding. I really liked the pool and the bar area which was quite nice. There is one restaurant for dinner and breakfast buffet. The dinner buffet was quite good however there were only limited choices on breakfast menu. The staff is generally helpfful and friendly with the reception going out of the way to help you.
We had a little instance with our driver and the front desk was very supportive and went out of their way to help us.

The location of the hotel is very calm and peaceful and mountain biking in the forest would be memorable. Needless to mention the proximity to the Sigriya rock.

All in all - good for 1/2 nights stay and I would come back here again as well but will probably ask for a better room quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SahTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Service was to notch. Everyone was so friendly and the room was fantastic. The lounge and pool is overlooking Sigiriya rock. It was great to be able to chill and relax after a long day walk/climb of the Lion's rock. The rock is just 10 mins walk away from the hotel, which is very convenient for us.

And oh, the breakfast spread was superb! We had variety of Sri Lankan food and western. And it starts at 6am. I was travelling with friends, we woke up at 6, had breakfast and head to Sigiriya rock at about 730am. Spent about 4 hours there till 11am and head back to the hotel. It was a great experience overall. The locals are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YanaHalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,033 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
549 reviews
3.6 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
413 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Property: Hotel Sigiriya
Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing