We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, fab staff”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Good rooms with fan and AC, nice bathroom, fantastic view of the rock, fab pool area, great buffets and most importantly service always with a smile. Liked hiring bikes. Using the hotel drivers seems like an expensive option.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarai2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Initially, I was a bit put off with some of the negative reviews on this hotel, however I was more than pleased that we chose to stay at Hotel Sigiriya. We arrived to a bustling bar and restaurant area where we enjoyed a very delicious buffet meal. A high quality meal for a buffet. The hotel was very busy with bus loads of 'tours groups'. The rooms were a little dated, however they were pleasant, comfortable and well appointed. The hotel is an easy distance to the rock and the restaurant provided a delicious breakfast prior to our early morning climb. The grounds and amenities were great, including the pool (which has a sensational view of the rock) and spa where we had a fantastic Ayurvedic massage. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, service in general was very good. Great hotel in general!

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a kind size bed, two single beds is a tad annoying as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittycaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in July 2012 and thought it was a great hotel and a good value. The location was ideal for visiting Sigiriya Rock as it was a very short drive, even a walkable distance, from the hotel. The hotel is in a wooded area with a few others but had a feeling of being isolated, remote and tropical. The pool was clean and had a fantastic view of the rocks, plenty of monkeys running around, and the food at the restaurant was superb. The lobby and bar area is indoor/outdoor with wi-fi, nice for catching up on e-mails. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accomodating. The hotel had driver accomodations as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2fromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Overall a comfortable stay in a rustic surrounding but in an out of way place. The staffs are very friendly as well as the chefs in the dining hall. We had a slight problem with the bathroom but it was remedied quickly. However had problems with mosquito in the room and at the bar so either you ask for the electric repellent for your rooms or bring some mosquito coils with you. Strangely they don’t seems to switch on the ceiling fans unless upon request in the common areas and it’s the same with all our stays in this island? Don’t depend on the bathroom supply of soaps and shampoos so please bring extra on your own. Good mix of western and local cuisine at buffet. The bartender makes excellent cocktails drinks too and it is safe to have ice cubes in your drinks at this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Good value for the great view of the rock. good pool and excellent restaurant. used alot by groups so during the day when they are out hotel is very quiet. friendly attentive staff. rooms are somewhat tired especially bathrooms which do not match the quality of the rest of the hotel. There were problems with our room however these were remedied quickly. restaurant is very good value and quality for all meals. no information in room and have to ask about price of excursions. these can be done cheaper via tour companies near hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour of Sri Lanka.
The hotel has great views of Sigiriya Rock and is situated in a quite, wooded area.
Rooms are good and there is a pool and lots of local monkeys. Food was fine with a good selection, especially curries.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights at the beginning of our tour. Beautiful views of the rock. Rooms rustic but clean and good bathroom if a little dated. Tea making equipment and a safe. Air conditioning only turned on and off by key holder near door. Really good buffet meals which included lots of curries and Western choices. I did have a bad stomach for three days but once I stopped using the milk on cereal for breakfast, I was fine. Shame as it was thick and creamy. We loved the animals and birds and although a little off the beaten track, an unusual hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful with a cool woodapple welcome drink. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Single storey so all rooms easy to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lin5ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,120 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 21 in Sigiriya
585 reviews
3.6 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 21 in Sigiriya
440 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 21 in Sigiriya
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing