We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great View and Location!”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Porto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great View and Location!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Sigiriya, so I wasn´t sure it would meet my expectations. I found it quite lovely actually, and well preserved. It has a extremely good location, we actually walked till Lion´s Rock and it was like 15 to 20 min minutes away.
The Rooms are quite good but not extremely clean, there was some dust, the bed wasn´t that confortable also, but it was spacious and the conditions offered were very good considering the Hotel is quite old.
The swimming pool is very good, perfect to chill out at the end of the day, there´s also a place there to have foot massage.
The breakfast was ok, with plenty of choices in fruit, cakes and bread, the coffee wasn´t that good, but the tea was ok.
Also had dinner at the hotel, it´s buffet, there´s really many choices, and the food was delicious, there was also musicians playing at the dining area.
One plus is the fact that there´s Free Wi-Fi at the Hotel lounge area (there´s a Cocktail Bar), near the swimming pool, but not in the rooms unfortunately.


(Useful Information: The price to enter Lion´s Rock is 30 dollars/3900 sri lankan rupies each person, higher than I expected, so we had to take a tuc-tuc and find an ATM machine, cause they dont accept credit cards, have that amount with you in cash when you get there, and there are also some bees.. but I only saw one up there (they told us that in August it wasn´t common to see them), I didn´t had any problems, either way you can buy a protection at the ticket place if you wish).

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, they are not that close to the pool or dinning area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    713
    228
    33
    26
See reviews for
380
722
71
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here fire two nights on a tour of Sri Lanka staying at six different hotels. Firstly and most impressive is the view of Lions Rock and location - the best view from all the hotels in the area and easy access to all the ancient cities.. The rooms were of a good standard, clean and spacious. The restaurant offered a wide buffet selecton in the evening, which on our last night was the cause of food posioning for both my partner and I which we are convinced was the fish curry (it was very fishy, but I thought it was just the type of fish at the time). The staff were unhelpful when we reported this to them.
So overall - great hotel - just be wary of the fish curry!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We went to Sigiriya to see the fortress but decided USD30 to climb a rock was ridiculous so decided to stay at the hotel

The same genuinely warm service we found all over Sri Lanka (don't know how long it will last once tourism goes into overdrive)

Pool with symmetrical view of the rock stunning - the highlight. Having said that, if hotel were even half full then, with nothing, including the sea, nearby would be bursting 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turista42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. It was very welcome on arrival to have a hot towel and drink. The staff were lovely, especially in the restaurant and they reserved probably the best table for my family on the open air evening. Rooms quite basic and shower a bit of a trickle but they were in keeping with the hotel. The pool was lovely and had the most amazing view of Sigiriya Rock. A good base for travelling in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MHurfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oatlands, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived about 4pm after a long day of touring, nice welcome drink on arrival. Rooms so so, but glad we were only one night, lots of bugs, could have had mozzie nets, bathroom functional but not anything to rave about, shower was a trickle.
nice pool area, but arriving late is was flooded with families having a great old time in and around the pool, and nowhere left to sit and relax apart from the verandah area. if you are after a quiet retreat, this is not it. Buffet dinner and breakfast both nice but again, big tour groups of people so no romantic dining.
no wifi in the rooms, only around the reception and verandah and slightly in the pool area
staff friendly and helpful

Room Tip: we had a deluxe, i would hate to see anything below this
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timnbob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Excellent value for mid range hotel. Staff are very helpful, pool great and food excellent standard for fairly big hotel. Great view of rock and short tuk tuk ride to entrance to rock climb. No need to leave hotel after sightseeing as very self contained with pool, bar and restaurant Recommend for all ages and families

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayebnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We used Hotel Sigiriya as a base for tackling Sigiriya Rock. It was ideal being so close as well as having great views from the pool. They serve an early breakfast so you can get to the ticket office at 7am in order to do the climb in the cool of the day.

The hotel is clean, with lovely large rooms and superb buffets. All the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. A selection of 'cocktails of the day' was a nice way to relax in the evening. We were only there for one night and it didn't appear there was much else to do around Sigiriya apart from the rock. Therefore I would probably only recommend a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,047 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
417 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
561 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Property: Hotel Sigiriya
Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing