We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!!”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I chose this hotel as it was the best ranked by Trip Advisor and I was not at all disappointed. The resort-like ambience is charming and the seclusion from hustle and bustle of city life was a welcome break.

Rooms are built in cottage style (not to be mistaken for independent cottages) and have all the amenities including complementary 2 bottles of water and tea / coffee kit. Ambience of room was great and we managed to catch up on a good night's sleep.

Restaurant and bar are very nicely placed and ambience is awesome. Staff is very polite and extremely accommodating. They did not have any Indian food on the menu but still managed to cook up some dhal, rice and delicious Sri Lankan vegetable curry cooked in coconut milk. Breakfast offered a good variety and was filling.

I rate this as one of the finest hotels I have stayed in recently.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shashank_Swarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    687
    222
    33
    25
See reviews for
341
691
68
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Food was awesome, Service was excellent. rooms were not excellent but worth for the what we paid.has a nice pool.Great view from pool area.

Chef is doing great job..
Danushka, kulathunga and Palitha helped us lot ..Thanks..

Can be recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KasunA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandaragama
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

When we decided to go to Sigiriya with the family, our first concern was to find a nice place to stay. after going through the reviews in Tripadvisor, we decided to visit hotel sigiriya.
It was really nice. the staff was very friendly. Food was awsome. A big thank to specially Kulatunga, Dhanushka & Paliths who were in restaurant. they were really nice and helped a lot in many ways.
A lil thing should be said, we were not so happy with the mineral water bottles which you get in rooms, it was a bit different. i told that to the staff and aperently we were the first to claim that. i am sure they will do something about it. the view is superb. i just love this hotel. this s much better than the Dolphine (which is one of other hotels in the same group).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour but we wished we could have stayed longer.
We were fortunate in our room being a couple of steps away from the bar and main areas. The choice of food at night was amazing and catering from local cuisine through to international.
You are very aware just how close you are to the jungle with the electric fence to deter elephents less than 100 yards away and the daily incursion my the monkeys who find even new ways of trying to out wit the staff.
Sitting at the bar or laying by the pool looking at the Sigiriya Rock is something that will last a life time

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel and it's sister Sigiriya Village, cater for the masses that come to view and climb the rock - and there are a lot of them! Our bungalow was a bit dark and damp, and although the staff were cheery enough and the food plentiful (mass catering is never the best), the hotel did not have anything to redeem it from being at best average. The saxophonist who played easy listening muzak during dinner sums it up - why oh why.... We went to the Sigiriya Village for a meal the second night we were there (mainly to escape the saxophonist), and the buffet was a lot better, but still with umpteen other people.
One tip, beat the crowds to the rock by getting there at 7.00 sharp!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

A great view from the pool area and at first sight all looks well here. However, things are not quite what they seem. The hotel is overrun with large tour groups, the badly laid out and crowded breakfast buffet is a riot of shoving in the morning, the food is average, staff are surly and unhelpful, my room needed a good clean and various of the facilities (aircon, tv etc) didn't work properly. Disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent our first night at the hotel and I must say, it was very nice.

The hotel is perfectly situated to explore the area. It has a nice pool also to swim couple laps. The rooms are correct for this price and very quiet. The welcome was very kind, with welcome drink, talk with the manager etc.

Since I am not a big fan of buffets, we had a fantastic a la cart curry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urshinterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Property: Hotel Sigiriya
Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing