We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aliya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Lake(Dambulla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gimanhala Hotel(Dambulla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,915)
Filter reviews
1,915 results
Traveler rating
1,209
517
132
38
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,209
517
132
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolchinese restaurantluxury tentspaddy museumdeluxe tentsigiriya rocksri lankabadminton courtmain restaurantbeautiful hoteltable tenniscold towelsgreat poolbuffet dinnera la cartereception areastayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,272 - 1,277 of 1,915 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Well first experience was magic, to arrive at reception and see that pool was awesome. Camping in tents was absolutely magic. We stayed for 2 nights. Only criticism was tents had no information or directory in them, had to navigate ourselves and only found 2nd restaurant only last night. Staff need to inform guests of all services and this place will be magic. wifi not very good at all

Room Tip: try the tents for something different
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PossandBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a new property (Jan2014) very elegantly set in the middle of nature. The view from the lobby is breathtaking there is definitely a Waow effect the first time you reach the Lobby and check the view over the Lion Rock - The view at night is equally nice - amazing pool the largest I have ever seen in my life! - The room are very spacious and spread around the huge property. they also offer some sort of Villa that are actually hosting a tent under the terrasse. This allows a sleeping area in tents while the bathroom remains in a hard shell buiding. There are 3 resturants (1 chinese, 1 buffet, and 1 Sri Lanka (lunch only)) We spent 3 nights and only exprienced the buffet which was very good and varied every day, only one hickup when I ordered white wine, it came after more than 15mins and at outside temperature (low 30s) - They did not have any other bottle of this type chilled and offered me an alternative bottle which was more expensive - Had to complain strongly until they agreed for a swap at no extra charge, The restaurant Manager after that apologized and made very effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible
I also tried the SPA massage at 2 occasions and was quite happy though not thrilled.
The rooms and amenities in the bath room are of high standards.
last but not least they have a very nice fitness room, and an amzing in door badmington court.
Also you will find a couple of VILLA's with private infinity pools.

Sigrya is perfectly located at equal distances of Polonnaruwa and Anuradhapura so definitely a place you could spend 3 nights and rest.

We are a french family of 4 (2 teenagers) and had 2 rooms - however just upstairs we noted some family rooms for more than 4.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephaneB38700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We chose Aliya resort as our Honeymoon destination. The simplicity, unique elegance and calmness we saw in the snaps which are published on the internet greatly inspired us in choosing this special location to serve the most romantic days in our life. When stepped into the hotel, we were absolutely correct. Without any hesitation “Aliya is the most romantic hotel in Sri Lanka”.
The interior design of this hotel is so unique. Everything is giant, but so calm and peaceful. They have utilized original Sri Lankan stone and wood crafts which are older than 200 years to enhance the prestigious looks you can see everywhere in this hotel. Aliya hotel also has a special agro museum and an old Sri Lankan kitchen which is open for visitors where you can get a real life experience of a peaceful Sri Lankan farmer. The reception area is huge and accomplished with fabulous scenery of the Great Lion’s Rock by far. Pool was amazing with its unique design; it’s like swimming in the havens. The stay inside a deluxe tent surrounded by the forest was another lifetime experience. Inside “Aliya” you are always surrounded by nature.
Food was great. The staff was really friendly and very attentive. Specially Mr. Anura, (the gym instructor and animator) gave us a great support in making our stay in Aliya hotel a really pleasant one. He guided us throughout the entire hotel, and explained the every bit of specialty in each creation. He was always really friendly and the help and support given by him during our stay was priceless, and we saw him as best asset the hotel has produced to motivate customer relationships. So if you are visiting Aliya never forget to meet him. The entire staff in Aliya was so humble and ready to serve you at any time, even the general manager is moving with guests. Stay here and you truly won’t be disappointed, for us it’s still the best romantic hotel in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AsankaMadhawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was spacious and fabulous. Great decor in the room, lobby, bar and resto. The pool was amazing. It was peaceful and quiet. Staff were hospitable but a bit slow. We had to wait 3 hours for our luggage to be brought to our room. Also, since we had an early morning tour the following day, we pre-arranged our packed breakfast but it wasn't prepared on the time specified and we had to wait for a while. No wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Aliya ranks up therer with the overall best hotel experiences we have had worldwide. Attentive staff, impressive views over Lion Rock and a well kept and huge infinity pool and good food. Worth a trip!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank SimonFraser92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews