We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed March 6, 2011

A pleasant stay much better than expected. Buffet food OK.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

Staff very accommodating but had to keep calling for maintenance, missing light bulbs,room safe not working, also air con wasn't adequate, room mosquito-filled even with repellant got many bites, very damp and mildewed and moldy-if you have any seasonal allergies, don't go to this hotel; set off bad enough allergies that it spoiled remainder of trip and necessitated trip to ER when returned to Singapore. location exception. climb Sigiriya very early in morning. as in everywhere in Sri Lanka, roads abomination; lorry and scooters don't believe in using head lamps or tail lights at night-makes travel a real experience. only went to a couple of dept of tourism shops-thankfully bought tee shirts etc there-approximately 5 times the cost at air port duty free. would definitely hire a car and driver; tuk tuks fine for short trips but pot holes big enough to lose a VW bug in. everywhere we went, people were very nice and most helpful, even at hotel, everybody really tried hard, am not against eco-friendly but a little bleach for the mildew problems wouldn't have been bad idea. also, brin extra sweater or jacket-very chilly at nite and only 1 thin blanket provided along with very flat pillow. have heard there are some re-done rooms, but even tho ours was supposed to be top-notch, it wasn't so wouldn't hold breath as to how great the re-done rooms actually are. be forewarned that you have to walk from check in thru heavy rainforest type growth so put on your bug spray before you arrive at hotel. would have been nice if either no smoking or smokers only area in communal dining room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The hotel is located amongst a lot of greenery. We were greeted with a lot of rain which enhanced the green effect. Close to the Sigiriya Rock which is a must do (provided you are reasonable fit as it is quite a climb) but has some amazing views from the top of the rock !

Facilities in the hotel are very few and limited and the rooms are quite basic. However, the buffet was good !

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArijitBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Couldn't fault the location, beautiful view of Lion's Rock but the room was filthy and musty. The bathroom hadn't been updated since the 1960's and the mould on the tiles was awful, felt dirtier after the shower than before. The mattress on the bed was badly stained and the sheets torn and grey. The food was very nice and the the service was very prompt but I was glad we only stayed for two nights. I'm sure the lighting being so dim was so you couldn't see the dirt. The wild life in the grounds was fantastic such a shame that the rooms need renovating it reminded us of Butlins. Don't know how much it costs to stay there as it was part of a Tour with Thomson Worlwide but I wouldn't pay more than £25.00 for the room. The drinks at meal times were very expensive we were charged 700 rupees for two diet cokes. We bought drinks from the shop outside the gate and took them with us to meals once we realised as they cost 100 rupees each.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriorityClubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Having just read some of the other trip advisors comments, are we all sure we were staying at the same place!!!!!! We stayed at Sigiriya Village Hotel for 4 nights during our trip and honestly it was magnificant. We had chalet type accommodation (chalet 109) I think, last chalet facing the reception area. It was spotless and cosy with plenty of light, table and chairs, cold clean water to drink from a flask though no kettle (luckily I bring my travel kettle everywhere with me including tea bags). We were half board as we were out touring all day and the food was amazing. No bacon at breakfast though (but if you asked for some, they kindly would get it for you). The dinners were absolutely fantastic with different choices every night. Most of all the desserts/cakes etc every evening were truly delicious. Every night I tasted nearly every pudding and gave marks to the chefs. The mandarin cheesecake and date and chocolate pudding were to die for. Also the General Manager spoke with us nearly every night as he did with all the other guests.

This hotel is for bird watchers, families (there is a farm on site and we saw sows and little piglets all over the place on the farm). There were all different types of animals and they grow their own vegetables too. Down the road there are a few shops to buy bits and pieces and of course the views are breadth taking.

We were on a tour and left after breakfast each morning and back for dinner at night. I don;t think we would like to spend whole days there even though it was truly relaxing, we just think we might get a bit bored.

Thanks to all at ~Sigiriya Village Hotel for a truly wonderful time

Mary & Graham, Jersey, Channel Islands, U.K>

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 196maryita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days at the beginning of our holiday, After rejecting 2 rooms because of the dirty and neglected state we eventually accepted the 3rd offered but only because by this time it was dark and the mould and general poor conditions were less apparent.
The hotel is badly in need of renovation and updating.
The drapes etc in the dining room were torn and filthy and the quality of the food was dire.Due to the location this hotel has the potential to be very attractive but we could not wait until it was time to leave.
This is one of the most run down hotls in which we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dansoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The lighting was so poor you could not read in our room at night and there is no residents lounge where you could sit and read. We had to move rooms as our toilet would not work and could not be fixed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntvcrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,663 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,729 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#14 of 20 in Sigiriya
273 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
435 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: $70 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing