We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We only spent one night at this hotel whilst touring Srilanka but felt it was well worth a mention for other travellers who were looking for a convenient stop off before climbing the rock.

The location is really nice, with plenty of wild life on view. The rooms were basic but very clean with good bathroom facilities. We found the staff welcoming and were very pleased with the service.

We ate at the hotel restaurant and chose the evening buffet which was excellent value for money.

All in all a really nice hotel and would have quite happily spent another night or two there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DESMOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed at the Village for three nights on our Sri Lanka Tour. The room and area was excellent and we enjoyed the monkeys which roamed free.

We felt the food was excellent, plenty of choice both Sri Lankan and Western, and the staff were very friendly from the receptionists to the gardeners. We were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stayed in the Hotel Sigiriya which is next door to the Sigiriya Village Hotel but separate. The photo shown and the web link are both of the Hotel Sigiriya and I think this has lead to reviews of the two hotels becoming combined.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed 3 nights here on our Classic Ceylon Tour booked though Hayes & Jarvis and we loved this hotel.
The setting and location was perfect with views of Sigiriya Rock from the restaurant and pool area. The 'village' rooms were all set in wonderful gardens with all sorts of wild life around, but mainly the monkeys. Also if you walk to the back they have a working farm with pigs, chickens and all sorts of vegetable produce that is used in the restaurant and subsequently the food is good and fresh.
Rooms were fairly basic but fine, we did order afternoon tea which came in about 10 minutes and it was lovely. Also worth noting was if you need any laundry done it really is quite reasonably priced.
Restaurant was buffet style but plenty of choice.
Pool was nice and often empty as most people use this location to visit the surrounding area.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Excellent hotel for exploring this part of the Island.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weatherman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed at Sigiriya Village hotel for 3 nights in February as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel consists of small cottages (semi or terraced) spread out in the jungle.

The first room was not upto the standards we expect from a 3 star hotel, having no safe, TV, and only a shower and no bath. The second upgraded room had the above facilities and had a certain “rustic” charm. Despite some minor improvements to the decor the rooms felt rather neglected.

The bathroom in particular was in need of serious renovation and the cottages felt dark and gloomy in part due to the vegetation that surrounded the building.

The food however was good and the restaurant had a nice ambience, although being open sided the mosquitoes were a continual problem. Sri Lankan curries were extremely hot and not to most western tastes.

The pool area was also pleasant and we were entertained by visits from monkeys. The rock could be seen from the hotel pool area. The grounds are generally well maintained.

Overall the hotel is ok for a couple of nights while visiting the rock and has a certain charm. However, based on our experiences the rooms are in my opinion in need of serious renovation to warrant the 3 star rating.

We are not able to comment on value for money as it was booked as part of a tour and therefore we don’t know the breakdown for each hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob62Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I'm amazed at all the recent good reviews of Sigiriya Village, as we found both the bar, restaurant & our room dingy and very poorly lit - so much so that we couldn't see to read & could scarcely make out what we were eating. The Sri Lankan food there was very hot & spicy without being tasty, and sometimes the salads were breakfast left-overs ( baked beans, mushrooms, fried potatoes, all cold!) Although the restaurant staff were efficient, it took a couple of reminders and a wait of several hours,after our request to Reception , before we got an adaptor for their SMALL 3-pin old British - style sockets.

The best thing about this hotel was the view of the rock!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobblenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Staff very friendly - Hotel well positioned to visit Sigirya. Food very good both Sri Lankan and Western Fare. Ver good value for money

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piffdiidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,680 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#14 of 20 in Sigiriya
270 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: $54 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing