We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We really liked this place. The rooms are spread out around the grounds and there is lots of wildlife nearby.
Food was very good. The Sri Lankan curries were excellent and the staff very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewapriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    487
    192
    39
    18
See reviews for
273
411
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This was not outstanding in any regard except very handy for visiting Sigiriya Rock which is the reason you would go there.
The room was OK, not exactly luxurious.
The food ditto - adequate but not outstanding.
The monkeys playing outside the room towards dusk were good entertainment!
And climbing up to the top of the Rock was worth every step - a real highlight of the visit!
But recommend to take one of the lurking guides up with you to get real value - his recounting the history of the place and pointing out various features was well worthwhile the extra cost.
The pool was small and rather run down, not a place to spend the day but great for a quick dip to cool down on arrival.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia_PeakDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We spent two nights here as part of an organized tour. The location is perfect for visiting the Sigiriya Rock (which can bee seen from the poolside). We also visited Polonnaruwa during our stay here.
The local wildlife is kept out by an electric fence (to keep wild elephants out!) and a snake-deterrent spray round the periphery.
The accommodation is in bungalows that are very well equipped and spacious. Each unit has a patio with chairs, sunbed etc. The dining area and bar have a roof but no walls - this makes it a pleasant place to eat and drink. Food quality and quantity were both excellent - the food includes a variety of curry dishes and international dishes.
The staff were all friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightAleCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed there for 4 nights in OCt 09 with my extended family of 7. Every bit of our stay was delighful. The rooms, tastefully appointed and clean, the beautiful surroundings, including a pool that was a pleasure for the childrenand us after a day sightseeing or climbing, plenty of wildlife around to see, a farm with pigs, chickens..., a beatiful restaurant/bar area with the best choice of food we've had while in Sri Lanka, friendly and efficient staff. There was only a few tourists while we were there, so the place was very quiet. Everyone was very friendly with our children. My sister had a great massage while there. And we were agreebly suprised by the bill: without us knowing, they had charged nothing for the evening buffet, at ~US$13 pp, for my youngest son, and half price for my 11 yo.
I strongly recommend this place. One piece of advice: book on the internet and take the half board option (rather than B&B), as there's not many other places to eat nearby (and why go elsewhere, when the food is so good there), that will be much cheaper that paying the buffet everynight.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaIsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night on the Dumbulla & Sigiriya section of our tour and it is ideally located for both sites, the fortress itself can be seen from the gardens of the hotel so your right on the door step.

This is a 3* only but we found it charming and in charactor for the surroundings, we were comfortable, with good service, peace and tranquility.

The rooms are all detached bungalows and they are all the same, double bed, aircon, ceiling fan, TV, minibar, radio, good size bathroom but pretty basic - no hair dryer.

The dining hall is nice but a little small and the selection although nice and varied is quite small so if you dont fancy the main dishes there is very little left you can have. But everything was delicious and service in this country is brilliant.

Cant quite imagine anybody staying here too long, this hotel is really only a stop over for touring as its in the middle of the country and there really is nothing else to do. But yes i would add this hotel to your itenerary if your touring for this section of your holiday as it is very nice and comfortable.

Note: just outside the gates of the hotel are shack shops - buy your water and snacks from here as 1 litre of water costs less than the little ones sold in the hotel.
It was 80 rupees and £1 = 180 rupees

So get your driver to stop outside the hotel or take a walk to stock on water and snacks from the shops, dont be intimidated they are all really nice and much cheaper than the hotels!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuietObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights here at end of Sept 2009. Rooms are very good, clean and spacious. The surrounding is very green. The have 120 odd rooms, in 7-8 clusters. Each cluster has 15 odd rooms and different landscaping at the center.
It is walkable distance (2 km) from Sigiriya Fortress, which you can see from the restaurant, swimming pool area.
I felt the dinner buffet was expensive (13 $) but I heard that there is government tax of 25%, which makes it expensive. Staff was very friendly. Swimming pool is good, overlooking the fortress. We saw some wildlife- land monitor, snakes, turtles and few birds in campus. The best part I liked was the easy chair outside the room... to good to resist a nice nap in that

  • Liked — Greenery
  • Disliked — Food a bit expensive
  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godbolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

4 of us stayed at the Sigiriya Village last week for 2 nights whilst visiting the attractions nearby. Rooms were arranged in a village setting with wooded grounds. They were clean, nicely made up each day & everything worked. My only gripe is there was no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Simple & space enough to remedy. A brew is ALWAYS the first thing I want when I open my eyes.

The buffet food was excellent. Hot & varied with chefs around the tables should you want something done to your own taste. Lovely deserts too. The pool was appreciated by my daughters after the climb to the top of Sigiriya Rock!!

Just a note of caution. I was (very cleverly) short changed 2000rps when changing money at the cashiers desk. Although I couldn't prove it (I had a wallet stuffed with loads of notes) , I politely insisting that I was NOT in the wrong. So after rechecking the till balance - that took ages - the bar manager apologised saying it was their 'mistake' & returned the money. So common sense really & goes for everywhere. Confirm & reconfirm EVERYTHING you hand over & receive when dealing with cash.

This apart, we really enjoyed this hotel & would recommend it - once they install a teasmade :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saxondean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#12 of 19 in Sigiriya
74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
549 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing