We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLE BUT DELIGHTFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights whilst touring Sri Lanka. As everywhere the staff were charming, friendly & polite. The lodges/cottages were simple but comfortable, set in pleasant gardens where monkeys roamed in abundance. They have a nice open-sided restaurant with a good range of food available at the buffet. Wifi was only available in the bar area but, hey, we can't expect everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

The cottages are simple but clean, spacious and all the bits that matter, function well; the aircon, the bathrooms etc. There are no luxuries (which includes TV/minibar etc but we greatly enjoyed the tranquility and the surroundings. The open air restaurant was satisfactory and the service pleasant and attentive . During our stay it was fairly busy with a number of inconsiderate and noisy diners.The pool area is pleasant but allow for the monkeys who are extraordinarily adept at pinching anything that may look edible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed one night at this Eco-friendly hotel which is spread out over several acres. Room was spacious and clean. You walk from the cottage rooms to the main open air lodge bar and dining room. Despite several large tour groups staying at the hotel, it did not feel crowded. Wifi was fine in the bar and restaurant area. Beautiful landscaping and care for not harming "God's little babies", ie how they refer to such critters as ants, geckos, etc.
A definite find of a good lodging!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Rooms are lodges situated some distance from reception and the restaurant. Pathways are poorly lit making going to and from dinner at night a problem, particularly trying to avoid puddles when it's raining.

Wi-Fi was said to be available in reception but I was unable to connect on either of the days I stayed. Having to walk to and from reception for repeated attempts to connect was frustrating.

The room was a good size but basic. The aircon was very noisy.

Dinner was a buffet with a good choice of dishes and was pretty good, as was breakfast.

There was a good view of Sigiriya Rock from the pool. Overall an ok place for a brief stay while visiting the Rock.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had the pleasure to stay in "The Paddy Field". Exactly how you feel a traditinel Paddy Field with village should be included all the things you need for a beautifull vacation. Excellent Food, and try the Ayeveda Spa, very good and recent prices

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a positive but mixed review, with some suggestions on getting the most out of your visit.

Location: As other reviewers have noted, the location is great. Convenient to Sigiriya Rock with a beautiful view of the rock from the pool. Located at the end of a dirt road with assorted dusty tourist shops and mangy dogs. Not much to see in the immediate neighborhood except tourists riding rather unhappy looking elephants at a concession down the road.
Advice: The rock is the gem here. Allow plenty of time to climb Sigiriya rock and to visit the museum. Try to avoid the heat of the day. We arrived late in the day and visited the museum on the following morning.
Advice: The climb itself involves ramps and stairs, a pause at a terrace, then up through the giant lion's paws, then steep stairs to the top. This is not difficult for the moderately fit, but is not for the acrophobic who may find down harder than up. On the descent, we saw two people frozen in fear clinging to the handrail.
Advice: On the way up to the top, take the detour up the spiral stairs to the cave paintings of the temptresses. Astonishing quality, great history, and more than mildly amusing to boot.
Advice: Take time at the top to tour the ruins and savor the view......enjoy!

Rooms: The rooms are spread across a "village" like casitas in a Southwestern US resort. Our room was close to the main building, large, with comfortable bed and nice furnishings, pleasant bathroom, double door and sitting area on front porch. The room was also musty/moldy, with a dank smell. One member of our party had difficulty -- coughing as possible allergic reaction. Our power went out with a fuse/circuit breaker failure.
Advice: Bring headlamp or flashlight or cellphone to navigate at night to the room and in case of power failure.
Advice: Our room was one of the oldest in the resort. Request newer (presumably less musty) rooms that may be a bit further from the main buildings.

Service and meals: Staff were helpful and efficient and warm. From carting luggage from the unloading area to the rooms, doing laundry, changing money and fixing the blown fuse.or breaker. Complementary breakfast was good. Dinner was mixed -- buffet featured huge variety, some good and some bad.
Advice: No dining options in the area except at the resort. Noted that South Asian guests favored exotic European items and westerners favored exotic Sri Lankan fare.. We thought that the local options were better. Dinner was slightly overpriced by local standards.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms -- the older rooms were musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is in a great location close to Sigiriya Rock and there is a stunning view of it from the poolside. We loved the established gardens and the seemingly informal layout of the accommodations around the main restaurant, lounge building. The buffet was very good and the choice changed every day. Everyone is very relaxed and helpful. The hotel is only about 5 minutes from the Rock so an early start to avoid the heat is feasible. There are a couple of small shops just outside the hotel entrance for supplies. We saw monitor lizards and fireflies in the evening. We would choose a higher room grade next time as the standard room we had was in need of a refresh. It is a good base to explore from with a couple of national parks not far away.

Room Tip: Upgrade from 'standard' for a better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,648 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
578 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#9 of 20 in Sigiriya
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: $58 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing