We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sigiriya Village - Rock on!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sigiriya Village - Rock on!”
Reviewed August 16, 2008

The Sigiriya Village Hotel was our first port of call in Sri Lanka and we couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome!

The setting is beautiful, with views of the Lion Rock from the swimming pool. The bungalows are set out in a way which makes you feel you are the only person there - you can see greenery rather than straight into someone else's room.

The service was first class with every request dealt with promptly. The staff really seemed to care about each guest and you felt like royalty. The fresh lotus flower bed decoration in the room each night was sweet and we even had a farewell message scuplted out of leaves on our final night!

The rooms were adequately equipped and spacious, with rustic charm aplenty. The only gripe was the rather dark bathroom, but everything else was so good, who cares?

The food provided was a mixture of local cuisine and western style cooking and the desserts were superb. A lot of the ingredients are sourced from the local farm which adds a local flavour to everything.

In summary, we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babydrag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    487
    192
    39
    18
See reviews for
273
411
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Sigiriya Village Hotel was the most beautiful hotel we have stayed at. It is an echo friendly hotel and set in beautiful surroundings. As you drive in the monkeys are there to meet you. It is all open plan. The food was excellent, the service great, and the jewellers outstanding. They put mosquito plugs in your rooms every night and the rooms are exquisite. Flowers are laid out and little messages made in collarges are left too.

The back drop of the hotel is Sigiriya Rock which is a must to visit. Exhausting, and not for those with chest complaints! The water gardens are fascinating.

We were in a group of 6 who stayed for 2 nights. We will be returning to Sri Lanka in 2010.

Helpful?
2 Thank Saoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

This was our first hotel in a ten day tour of Sri Lanka and as an introduction, it couldn't have been more perfect. It's set amongst lush vegetation with lots of coconut trees, banana trees, birds etc. and with a wonderful view of Sigiriya Rock. The spacious rooms are in rows of bungalows and ours seemed to have a huge bed but was actually two pushed together and made up as one. Our room was equipped with both air conditioning and a ceiling fan, which was the quieter of the two to leave on during the night. A mosquito plug was also supplied. The bathroom was also spacious with a wet room type shower. Everything was kept very clean by the room boy and his flower decorations on the bed were a nice touch. The lovely pool is set in the very peaceful garden area and has attentive poolside staff. There is a large open-sided bar and dining area with extremely efficient staff and a very comprehensive buffet at breakfast and dinner. All the staff were very friendly and always stopped to say hello when we passed. The general air is of peace and tranquillity - a wonderful place in which to relax after a long day of site-seeing.

  • Liked — The peaceful setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2008

the service at this hotel was beyond excellent. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, the food was amazing and the grounds were beautiful. I highly suggest this hotel, I loved it! great value for money.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing, it was great
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rannon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

This hotel has a superb position overlooking the Sigiriya rock. The grounds and layout are lovely and it is amazing to find a family of monkeys playing on your roof. The rooms which are bungalow style and set in lovely grounds are slightly tired but clean and well maintained. The bar and restaurant area is a huge open building and has great ambiance.
The range and quality of food was fantastic and as for service well we were treated like royalty but with sincere friendliness and cheerfulness. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendliness, location and food
  • Disliked — slightly tired room
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suffolkpunch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We felt we deserved a little bit of luxury during our stay in Sri Lanka and Sigiriya Village certainly fitted the bill. Set in some stunning grounds with a view of the rock itself there was very little to fault the place. Plenty of greenery and seeing an assortment of monkeys, monitor Lizards, ducks, birds, fish and butterflies made our stay most enjoyable.

The rooms were spacious and we could treat ourselves to a bath for the first and only time on the holiday. There were nice little added touches with ‘happy journey’ spelled out in flower petals on our bed on departure. Marketing itself as an eco-centre might be pushing their luck a little bit but it was certainly a nice environment to relax in. Many of the rooms were set well away from the main hotel area which means a quiet location and a nice walk to and from reception/restaurant. Our room came complete with plastic parrot in cage and a tiny pond.

It’s a good idea to avoid the weekends as the hotel and rock were both busy with locals. The queues at the rock would have made it a very long wait to get to the top- fortunately, with both of us being dodgy with heights, this gave us an excellent excuse not to go all the way up! Other than the rock, there are Jeep safaris to see the wild elephants and plenty of nature activities at the hotel, including bird watching and a visit round their ‘organic’ farm. While it was an interesting walk around the farm there was nothing exceptional to suggest a ‘back to nature’ approach to farming with familiar chicken pens and small pigsties. Hopefully this is something they will work on in the future as they clearly want to place great emphasis on being ‘eco-friendly’.

Dinner and breakfast were both buffet style but with a fantastic range of different foods and certainly the best choice of any hotel we stayed in Sri Lanka with almost every taste being catered for. Maybe because the hotel was crowded, the seating arrangements were a bit disorganised and serving of drinks could be a bit slow (as well as expensive) but staff were pleasant and helpful. There is also a smallish swimming pool- not in a great location (next to the restaurant area) but lovely to relax on your sunbeds and see the monkeys making their way to wherever they were going.

All in all we had a lovely time and the hotel was very reasonably priced for what was a luxurious stay.

  • Liked — Luxury
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach_and_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

what can i say! we were blown away by the authenticity and charm of this delightful oasis. the natural entertainers in the shape of baby apes were better than any caberet. the staff so attentive and the cleanliness of the entire complex worthy of any resort worldwide. we had a terrific welcome and felt so safe and looked after. regretfully only 3 days but they will stay with us a lifetime. the climb up the rock truly awe inspiring followed by a dip in the pool gazing up at the 8th wonder of the world! everything low key, but nothing too much trouble. perfect for honeymooners or families. only regret that we didnt visit the hotel farm sooner. thank you for your hospitality. rose and stu

  • Liked — this hotel is so environmentally friendly
  • Disliked — finding it really hard to come up with a negative
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinclooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#12 of 19 in Sigiriya
76 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
549 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing