We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for visiting the Lion Rock, which you can see form the hotel. It is an average 3-star hotel. The rooms are big, but there is no TV and no wifi in the rooms. We tried the buffet and it was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLW1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    486
    192
    39
    18
See reviews for
272
411
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had lunch at this hotel. Nice pool and view. However, food was truly dreadfull. We had curry with chickens and beef. Meat was very bad quality, chewy and gristle. So much so we couldn't eat it and had to send it back. The reaction of the staff indicated that they were quite used to complaints over the quality of the food and encouraged us to complete a feedback form for management. This hotel really needs to improve its food offering. Our taxi driver told us that he regularly has passengers who complain about the bad quality of food at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matara, Polhena
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I visited this Hotel just for a night with a few of my friends while planning to climb the Lion Rock. The moment you come to the Hotel you are sold by the Magnificent View of the Majestic Sirigiya Rock, too bad the Rooms are not designed to take a peek outside.. Its just covered in a bushy like environment.. The Staff was friendly and very helpful.. Even the General Manager had a little chat with us.. Friendly Fellow.. ! must say,. Only complain about the Restaurant is that the Al a Carte orders took a little longer than we expected.. but the food was great.. Buffet was acceptable for the price we paid for the stay.,. Room and the Bathroom Were Spotlessly clean... Too bad we had a small TV with limited Channels.. Not really what i expected.. The Atmosphere Calm and Green.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IroshanKulatunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the first day we arrived in srilanka.
Graet view from the swimming pool and staff reaaly nice and polite.
The only nehative point is that there is nothing around the structure.

Nice room with ac and wifi in the lobby

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FurbyFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spend three nights and had a great time. The hotel is like a village in the middle of the jungle with lots of little bungalows. Ours had a huge and new bathroom. Within walking distance to the sigiriya rock. Very peaceful and quite. Staff is very friendly. We organised a safari with them and it was a fabulous experience; the spa is also good. But hands off the a la carte menu - the buffet is much better quality!! Bike rental prizes are ridiculous - especially considering the state of the bikes ... All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisa1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Truly great hotel: lovely, spacious and clean A/C rooms, spread out in a park area, complete with a pond, lots of trees and - of course - monkeys. The swimming pool and restaurant have a great view on the Sigiriya rock fortress. Service is impeccable - the waiters are literally waiting to assist you to get seated or to remove your empty plate. We spend a wonderful two nights here, and I would certainly recommend this hotel because of its atmosphere, location and very decent food. The only bad thing is the poor wifi signal (only in the restaurant/lobby area).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsMangoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fantastic location situated in very close proximity to the Sigiriya rock fortress. However rooms are very average and the toilets are not that great either. This is sad because there is so much potential. Food was good. As far as guest activities go there is nothing much either. Not great value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaan_colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,531 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,587 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 19 in Sigiriya
73 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
547 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing