We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel without restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sigiriya Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Hotel without restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The rooms are the best we saw on Srilanka but the restaurant was our wors experianse on this island.
The time of waiting is greate, pricese are hight and staff notice you after third time. The bill can reach after ten minutes (i wrote this review waiting for a bill)

If you have buffet it can be ok but other wariants only for very patiant people

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    469
    184
    37
    17
See reviews for
253
397
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent two nights here. Couple traveling with two kids aged 7 and 10.

Very pleasant resort style hotel. Excellent location near Lion Rock. Set on a large site with swimming pool, gardens and spacious lobby sitting area and restaurant. Easily the largest hotel we stayed at during our visit to Sri Lanka.

Rooms were tidy and clean but only ok in design. Nothing special. Could have been better. Bathrooms were fine and clean as well.

Good food. Both breakfast and dinner buffet options were tasty and varied.

Excellent pool with great views of Lion Rock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of an organised tour. Accommodation was in small bungalows set in scenic surroundings amongst trees and ponds; our twin room was very large, well furnished, clean, and suitable for our needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the buffet breakfasts and evening meals excellent. The whole experience gave us a taste of local culture, seeing numerous animals and birds, including the monkeys who live in the hotel grounds. Admittedly the lack of tea/coffee making facilities was unusual, but the bar staff were very happy to make warm drinks at any time for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandj020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is very near to significant rock and the best part is the view of the rock from the hotel..
The rooms though are ok not very good...
Food is nice.. Specially the srilankan dishes... There desserts were our favourite..
Be ware of monkeys as early morning they jump on the roof of your room and it becomes little uncomfortable..
The swimming pool is overlooking the sigiriya rock which looks amazing early morning..
Take the elephant safari near by the lane .. It is a good experience..

Room Tip: Take the room opening to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pallavikhannaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel gives a very nice ambience by having your room in a garden surrounded by lakes, with some ducks swimming in the pond. It is near to the lion rock that you can see it from the hotel's lobby.

Room is clean and cozy and a little walk to the lobby gives you nice scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorazahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in January 2013.

Sigiriya is a good base for day trips to Kandy, Dambula, Polonnaruwa.

Rooms at the Sigiriya Village Hotel are clustered in small buildings set in a lush garden environment. Rooms are quiet and well equipped with updated bathrooms.

Public area amenities are excellent with a very good buffet breakfast and reasonably priced laundry.

Pool is attractive and service is attentive. This hotel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be well-located, quiet and in lush landscaped gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darijaswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our Sri Lankan tour. When we arrived we were very tired but check in was quick and efficient. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and to be honest was a bit of a relief after not really knowing what to expect from Sri Lankan hotels. The food was very good and the staff friendly and attentive.
Great location close to Sigiriya Rock and would thoroughly recommend if you want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank molly280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
8.4 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
3.1 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing